We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Alex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alex House
Ranked #575 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Cleanliness of hotel and attention to every detail. Also helpfulness of staff.
Located just 100 m from Uffizi Gallery with an amazing view on Signoria Square. Walking distance to main Florence attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Loved the location -Great area-within walking distance of most sights and shopping.Our room had a wonderful view. The rooftop terrace offers the most beautiful view out over Florence that You can image!!Spectacular!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Hostel Greci was an amazing find! The location is ideal for sightseeing and shopping in Florence.. everything is around a 10min walk from the hostel. My partner & I stayed 3 nights &had no problems. Staff were very friendly &helped us navigate our way around. The rooms were huge & clean! If we ever return to Florence, which I hope we do, we would definitely stay and recommend this place. One word of warning.. if you happen to get the room near where the main door opens, you will get woken in the night/early morning from people coming& going. We did& it was a bit annoying! Otherwise, lovely!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BethanyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hostel staff is awesome! They really make you feel at home, and make it easy for solo travellers like me to meet new people. The hostel is very well located, it is within a walking range of all the main turistic attractions. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

AMAZING time at Alex House. Feels like staying at a friend's house because the staff members are so young, friendly, and sociable. Small hostel with 1 main common area, where everyone pretty much has to meet each other. Rooms are spacious.Good wifi, cool people, great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location is just wonderful. close to the Uffizi and everything else in Florence. And there are a great library in the hotel.
The room was clean and comfortable relatively spacious for a Florence hotel and well equipped complete with books, a Nespresso machine and decent water pressure in the shower. The staff was helpful when engaged .
I would recommend staying at this hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the separate small apartment with adress Via Magalotti, just around the corner from the hostel itself. The standard was ok considering the price and our late booking (clean sheets, ok beds, two very cramped rooms and an interesting solution to building a bathroom in a very old house) and the location is very central. And of course you must accept some amount of night-time noise when staying in this kind of lodging. But - big but - after two nights we had itching bug bites and identified bed-bugs (vägglöss) in the bigger room. Also the hotelier did not show up to help out as promised with phoning for a cab on our departure (to be fair it was extremely early).

Room Tip: The apartment has bed bugs. Don't know about the hostel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#153 of 411 in Florence
2,086 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 333 in Florence
2,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex House

Address: Borgo dei Greci 13, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing