We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent address”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Michelangiolo
Ranked #23 of 300 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Yelapa
1 review
“An excellent address”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The over whole experience of our stay was very good with no outstanding negatives. The rooms, although quite adequate in size, could be furnished a bit more stylishly which would more appropriately commensurate with what the residence is portrayed to be. Nevertheless, our suite included a nice size eat-in kitchen with a pleasant small balcony with a table and chairs. The bathroom was up to date, large and pleasant. The suite and the reception area are kept spotlessly clean. The location is a bit away from the center of the city which gives the opportunity for a pleasant walk after dinner. Parking on the property was available and very much appreciated. No breakfast was included. I would definitely recommend the residence and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YelapaHouseRental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    72
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
283
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This residence is just wonderful.
I stayed there with my wife during the end of august in 2013.
The rooms are very nice, clean and big. You have enough space for everything.
When looking out of the large windows you the beautiful garden of this house.

The people working in this residence are so very nice and sweet.
My wife celebrated her birthday while we were staying there and when we came back to the hotel a bottel of Prosecco and chocolatte together with a birthday letter were waiting for her in the kitchen (without telling it was her birthday, they apparently checked that in the beginning).

Anyone who wants to enjoy some very nice days in Florence, this is the perfect place.

The wifi was working in our room and we got good advices for coffee places and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I guess every room is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This residence was over-rated, I was very disappointed. My husband and I have a twin bed bedroom with a connecting room which has got a small wooden table with 4 chairs next to the kitchen in a wardrobe like cabinet. Our bedroom is big, but poorly furnished, can't even find a place to put my skin care in the bathroom. I wouldn't bother to eat in the kitchen, no comfort feeling sitting in that room at all.

The other single room that our group stay is even worse, the shower is a temporary built one, it's like a shatter, I don't see this a pleasant stay for holiday.

Floor is not clean, I walked barefoot on day one, ended up black all over. Our first day was welcome with mosquitoes bites all over the feet and neck.

by the way, I don't see any service, can't complain as this is a residence, not a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotels in central Florence are cramped & noisy. The Residence Michelangiolo is only a 15-20 minute (beautiful) walk from the Uffizi and is a delight to visit. The rooms are huge and nicely decorated. Although it's not a hotel so the Reception is not staffed full-time, the manager/owner is absolutely delightful - so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had an excellent family vacation at Residence Michelangiolo. Big clean rooms, very nice garden. The location is very convenient, easy to reach the city center on foot or by bus. Very quite and calm place for family vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Residence Michelangelo is a beautiful villa converted into same nice sized accommodations with kitchens. The rooms are very spacious and over look beautiful gardens in this gated property. Very easy to get to and the onsite parking is a big plus for Florence. The only negative is that is a little bit of a walk to the major sights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at the Residence Michelangiolo for 3 nights a week ago. The residence has numerous apartments built in an old stately house. We had a 3 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The rooms are large, with 2 bathrooms. There are small (and somewhat crowded) kitchen facilities in the master bedroom. As a nice plus, the ground floor apartments have outdoor sitting areas.

Pluses: the rooms are large, and the hosts are helpful. The apartment is close to a decent supermarket, and their is a pay-to-use self service laundry about 5 minutes walk away. There is also a convenient bus stop 2 or 3 minutes away for easy access to the main tourist areas, to the train station, etc. Free Wifi was provided, with very good internet speeds.

Minuses: Unfortunately, the apartments are right off a rather noisy road, and in fact, we had trouble sleeping due to the street noise. The doors, windows, and walls are also old and not well insulated, so external noise isn't dampened at all. This may be a particular issue with the ground floor apartments, but it was a big issue for us. Also, no food was provided at all; many Italian residences of this nature provide at least cold breakfast foods in the kitchen facilities.

The local restaurants aren't that great, but there are nice restaurants within 10-15 minutes walk. Overall, reasonably convenient for Florence access, and spacious with a wonderful garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#196 of 411 in Florence
192 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#246 of 411 in Florence
418 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Hotel Villa Liberty
Hotel Villa Liberty
#217 of 411 in Florence
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#211 of 411 in Florence
311 reviews
La Farina Apartments
#28 of 300 in Florence
234 reviews
Mia Palace
#257 of 640 in Florence
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Michelangiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Michelangiolo

Property: Residence Michelangiolo
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 21, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 300 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Michelangiolo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Michelangiolo welcomes you into a Liberty style Villa dating back to 1917, totally renewed with exquisite details that define the elegance and charme of long ago. The Residence is situated in one of the most exclusive and peaceful areas in Florence, on Viale Michelangiolo, which allows you to reach the historical center of the city with a few minutes pleasant walk. The Residence has 8 Superior room furnished whit every confort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Michelangiolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Michelangiolo Florence
Residence Michelangiolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing