We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beverly Hills of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Michelangiolo
Ranked #26 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Beverly Hills of Florence”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our tour guide told us we were staying in the Beverly Hills of Florence and we are convinced she's right after our stay in this beautiful villa. Angela is the most helpful and accommodating owner we've encountered. She mapped out the neighborhood and gave suggestions for restaurants, markets, as well as directions to the heart of Florence. We had a lovely room with kitchenette, beautiful terrace, comfortable bed and huge bathroom. It was the perfect place to unwind after the cacophony that is downtown Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    72
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
283
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This residence is what I always imagined an Italian villa to be - beautiful garden and the house, highest ceilings I have ever seen, huge rooms, with old furniture. Although located on a busy street, once you close the windows and two sets of timber shutters, it is very quiet at night. Parking is excellent. It is probably the closest you can get to the old town with your own car. You can walk to the centre, or take a bus, very convenient. Shops and a market are in walking distance. We used this stay as an opportunity to cook at home, using the best produce Italia got to offer, a nice break from restaurants. Angela has been very helpful. We would definitely stay at this place again, should we visit Florence.
I noticed other guests made suggestions about re-freshing the decor. It would increase the price and take some character out of the place. I would rather stay in what it is now, a bit dated, but this is Italy for you - everything has been dating there for centuries! This is what we go to Italy for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_from_Oz_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We visited several cities in Italy and stayed in several hotels in different cities, Michelangiolo is def. one of the best hotels we visited! We stayed in the hotel for two nights, we had a extremely pleasant experience in this place, Angela is very helpful and nice, all of her recommendations are very useful and good, the room is very nice and clean, the bed is very comfortable, we are satisfied with everything there. Will stay there again if visit Florence again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ting L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelapa
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The over whole experience of our stay was very good with no outstanding negatives. The rooms, although quite adequate in size, could be furnished a bit more stylishly which would more appropriately commensurate with what the residence is portrayed to be. Nevertheless, our suite included a nice size eat-in kitchen with a pleasant small balcony with a table and chairs. The bathroom was up to date, large and pleasant. The suite and the reception area are kept spotlessly clean. The location is a bit away from the center of the city which gives the opportunity for a pleasant walk after dinner. Parking on the property was available and very much appreciated. No breakfast was included. I would definitely recommend the residence and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YelapaHouseRental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This residence is just wonderful.
I stayed there with my wife during the end of august in 2013.
The rooms are very nice, clean and big. You have enough space for everything.
When looking out of the large windows you the beautiful garden of this house.

The people working in this residence are so very nice and sweet.
My wife celebrated her birthday while we were staying there and when we came back to the hotel a bottel of Prosecco and chocolatte together with a birthday letter were waiting for her in the kitchen (without telling it was her birthday, they apparently checked that in the beginning).

Anyone who wants to enjoy some very nice days in Florence, this is the perfect place.

The wifi was working in our room and we got good advices for coffee places and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I guess every room is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This residence was over-rated, I was very disappointed. My husband and I have a twin bed bedroom with a connecting room which has got a small wooden table with 4 chairs next to the kitchen in a wardrobe like cabinet. Our bedroom is big, but poorly furnished, can't even find a place to put my skin care in the bathroom. I wouldn't bother to eat in the kitchen, no comfort feeling sitting in that room at all.

The other single room that our group stay is even worse, the shower is a temporary built one, it's like a shatter, I don't see this a pleasant stay for holiday.

Floor is not clean, I walked barefoot on day one, ended up black all over. Our first day was welcome with mosquitoes bites all over the feet and neck.

by the way, I don't see any service, can't complain as this is a residence, not a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotels in central Florence are cramped & noisy. The Residence Michelangiolo is only a 15-20 minute (beautiful) walk from the Uffizi and is a delight to visit. The rooms are huge and nicely decorated. Although it's not a hotel so the Reception is not staffed full-time, the manager/owner is absolutely delightful - so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#198 of 412 in Florence
194 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#239 of 412 in Florence
421 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#207 of 412 in Florence
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piazzale Michelangelo
Hotel Villa Liberty
Hotel Villa Liberty
#214 of 412 in Florence
166 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 412 in Florence
658 reviews
La Farina Apartments
#27 of 310 in Florence
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Michelangiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Michelangiolo

Property: Residence Michelangiolo
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 21, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Michelangiolo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Michelangiolo welcomes you into a Liberty style Villa dating back to 1917, totally renewed with exquisite details that define the elegance and charme of long ago. The Residence is situated in one of the most exclusive and peaceful areas in Florence, on Viale Michelangiolo, which allows you to reach the historical center of the city with a few minutes pleasant walk. The Residence has 8 Superior room furnished whit every confort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Michelangiolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Michelangiolo Florence
Residence Michelangiolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing