We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Michelangiolo
Ranked #28 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2007

My wife and I had a fantastic experience at the Residence Michelangiolo at the beginning of June 2007. We were on a self-guided whirlwind tour of Italy to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and used Trip Advisor as a guide to selecting all of our accommodations. Other people had a lot of positive things to say about the Residence Michelangiolo so we decided to give it a try.

I must say the experience exceeded our expectations in every way. The Residence is actually a beautiful villa built in the early 1900’s with its own private gardens. It is located in a nice and quiet part of Florence just on the other side of the Arno River from the historic part of town. It is every bit as beautiful as everybody said it would be. But the one thing that really stands out in our minds is the exceptional service provided by the owners, Angela and her husband, Cherubino. They cheerfully helped us plan our stay and made our reservations for museums and restaurants for us. They greeted us at the front gate when we arrived and were genuinely courteous, friendly, and helpful throughout our entire stay. We were sad to have to leave.

We highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Florence. You will not be disappointed. We are already talking about our next trip, and are looking forward to staying at the Residence Michelangiolo and visiting Angela and Cherubino again!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CSVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2007

Me and my wife stayed here on a long weekend in Florence and we both loved Residence Michelangiolo. The staff was very friendly and forthcoming. We had a ground floor double room with a kitchen, a large bathroom and a terrace towards the back of the building, facing the gardens. The room was immaculate and the kitchen was well equipped and even came with free breakfast basket that was replenished every day. The residence is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk along the river from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the city. I would highly recommend this residence to both adults and families with young children. The gardens are well fenced off with a gate and hence young children can run freely around.
Very good value for money!

Regards

Ragnar

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rpoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

Date: June 8, 2007 LyndaLosALtos
My husband and I were here first for 5 nights and then for our last night on our way out of Tuscany. The best place we have stayed in Italy! The rooms are beautiful and Angela is a great hostess. The bus stop is just down the street, next to the cafe where we had our morning cappuccino and rolls.
The rooms were also supplied with coffee, milk, juice and rolls too if we wanted them. But again, the rooms were very large and gorgeous. We would recommend to anyone!

Thank LyndaLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This was a welcome respite from the normal hotel experience. It was great to have a cool, spacious room, in a lovely setting, including a charming garden area. You really couldn't ask for more. Off the beaten path, but that too was a welcome relief from the crowds and bustle of downtown Florence. You get the best of both worlds. And, Angela, is the added gem!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

A delightful, quiet getaway that is a perfect complement to this beautiful city. My teenage daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in early June 2007. I debated between this hotel and another "in town," and am so glad I picked Residence Michelangiolo. Angela and Cherubino were delightful hosts (attentive but not intrusive). I had seen a couple of complaints about the pre-packaged breakfast offerings in prior reviews on this site, which I considered a minor issue in light of the fridge and kitchenette in the room and a convenient bakery/cafe 3 minutes walk at the bottom of the road. We had a few false starts on finding the right bus stop to get into town -- then a breeze. And the walk is doable, if you have the time. The room was huge, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Other tips: (1) bring packable slippers if you don't like walking on the (lovely) tile floor ; (2) consider taking a taxi from the train station, which is easier than figuring out the bus for the first time (we paid about 12 euros); (3) get a map which shows where the right buses pick up in town. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Debra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

A fantastic stay at a great Residence.
A great location on the edge of town in a quiet area , well converted from a large villa leaving character but including modern amenities.
cafes, deli, rotiserie a short stroll.
Very friendly/ helpful hosts and the free choc's and vino during our stay at Easter made it a great break.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank loversofitaly50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

We chose this hotel to stay for our honeymoon. We are really happy with our choice! It's a quiet property and makes you feel like you are a part of history because you are staying in a large, historic villa. It's close to the bus stop and a 20 minute walk to the Duomo and other sights. The owners are very pleasant and go out of their way to make reservations for you, give you train schedules, leave bottle water in the room, and make your stay comfortable--they even gave us a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon!!

There is no restaurant in the hotel so we walked to Cafe Michelangelo which was just 5 minutes away and also where the bus-stop is.

The one thing that was a bit difficult was that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom which made it difficult to take a shower without getting water everywhere. But we got used to it after a day or so. Also keep in mind that the reception desk is only open until about 6-7 pm so people cannot call you later than that.

We would definitely recommend Michelangelo!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnyc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Gamba
Palazzo Gamba
#22 of 325 in Florence
295 reviews
San Marco
Residence Hilda
Residence Hilda
#6 of 325 in Florence
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Farina Apartments
#25 of 325 in Florence
247 reviews
Pitti
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
#1 of 325 in Florence
349 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#154 of 409 in Florence
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Michelangiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Michelangiolo

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 21, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £91 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Michelangiolo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Michelangiolo welcomes you into a Liberty style Villa dating back to 1917, totally renewed with exquisite details that define the elegance and charme of long ago. The Residence is situated in one of the most exclusive and peaceful areas in Florence, on Viale Michelangiolo, which allows you to reach the historical center of the city with a few minutes pleasant walk. The Residence has 8 Superior room furnished whit every confort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Michelangiolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Michelangiolo Florence
Residence Michelangiolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing