We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're visiting Florence, stay at Franz House!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franz House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franz House
Ranked #284 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“If you're visiting Florence, stay at Franz House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This B&B is within walking distance of pretty much all of the main sites in Florence and the room was well-kept and clean, but the owner was the best part of Franz House. Giovanni was very welcoming and friendly-- he outlined a map of the city showing us exactly how to get where we wanted to go, even throwing in the best places to try to eat. His knowledge of Florence made our trip so much better.. Along with his excellent breakfasts that he personally prepares for only 3.50 euro a person. Croissants, fruit, eggs, crepes, yogurt, and more - some of the best food we have had on our trip. Giovanni's personality and hospitality skills make it very easy to recommend Franz House to anyone traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyTraveler1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    49
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
47
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Located right on the river and a close walk to everything. Good value for the price. Room wasn't the cleanest but the shared bathroom was nice and clean. Very friendly staff (Givanni) who even gave us a bottle of red wine and biscuits for our honeymoon. :)

Room Tip: We had a private room (large comfortable bed) and shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Staying at Franz House with Giovanni was a great break from hostels for my boyfriend and I. The location was great, being it was close to everything we wanted to see and explore around. It was close to the Termini (about 5-10 minute walk) and there was a bus stop right outside our door.Upon our arrival Giovanni sat with us and marked up a map he had given us with many suggestions and must sees. As we were settling in he surprised us with two delicious crepes! The rooms were spacious, clean, and quaint. The bathrooms were always very clean and we never found ourselves waiting to use it. He also treated us to an afternoon espresso after a long day of sightseeing. We only had a few minor negatives. We couldn't connect well to wifi in the rooms but he was trying to fix it while we were there. Being a bed & breakfast we thought breakfast would be included in our stay but it was not. Instant coffee and tea were provided but they weren't any mugs provided (just plastic water cups) and guests were not permitted to use the kitchen. Overall, it was a great place to stay and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here from May 14-17 and found our stay quite enjoyable. The rooms were large, clean had a table and were located near all the main attractions. The host was kind enough to print some tickets for us. Only thing is that it can get loud at night if you leave the window open from all the cars and people talking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
197 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The most important thing to note about this hotel is that you absolutely must check in either during the listed times or at the time you list on your booking. We got it for a steal because of the off-season, and the room was very nice and we could see the Arno from our window. It's not especially close to the Uffizi or Ponte Vecchio, but everything is walkable in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbinz410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Perfect location for those wanting to tour the city by foot, within walking distance from train station and a lot of good sightseeing spots. Saff was very accommodating and helpful, gave us a map and outlined what good places there were to see. I would recommend to anyone who is planing on going to Florence.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihaveaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed at the Franz House with my mother for 4 days. Our host was amazing! He was so knowledgable and very nice. He prepared breakfast each morning as well. I would recommend this B&B if you would like a quiet, nice

Room Tip: If you don't like a little street noise, ask for an interior room. All rooms are on the same fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Vanessa
Affittacamere Vanessa
#266 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Casa Corsi
Casa Corsi
#368 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence Martin B&B
Residence Martin B&B
#309 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Primavera
Soggiorno Primavera
#277 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Guesthouse Amici Miei
B&B Guesthouse Amici Miei
#350 of 653 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#209 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz House

Property: Franz House
Address: Via Dei Fossi 1 | ang. p.zza Goldoni, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Franz House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing