We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing breakfast, best value”
Review of Franz House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franz House
Ranked #346 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing breakfast, best value”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights with our family of 5. We had two rooms, one with a double bed and private ensuite and the other room with 3 single beds. This place is very clean and Maurizio and Nicoletta are wonderful hosts. The breakfast served up each morning for only 2 Euro per person is the best we've had on our trip in Italy. Breakfast consisted of fresh croissants, juice, yoghurt, coffee, toasted ham and cheese sandwiches and a wonderful omlette all prepared by Nicoletta while you wait.
The location of Franz House is great - only a few minutes walk to all the sights. Maurizio was very helpful providing us with maps of Florence together with recommendations on where to eat well and for not much money.
I would recommend Franz House to all - we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SimandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    49
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
18
48
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This is an excellent place for the budget traveller. Clean rooms, spotless bathrooms, breakfast including croissant, ham/cheese sandwich, yoghurt, fruit, coffee/tea/cocoa. The Westin is around the corner - location is safe and on the perimeter of central. 15 minutes by foot to the Ufizzi. 10 mins to the train station.
Nicoletta recommended excellent (budget) restaurants which became a highlight of our trip.
Close the shutters and windows to block out the street noise. I don't know how hot it might get in the summer or if they have a/c.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOnVacationABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. We paid a little extra for the breakfast but it was totally worth it considering the cheap rate that we were already paying for the room. On top of the that, the breakfast was delicious and freshly made. The shared washrooms are roomy and clean. Our private double room was decent, a little noisy at night, but tolerable. This place was awesome overall, but we did wake up a few times with mysterious bug bites on our bodies.......so if that's not a concern, i'd definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Location is very near train station and Ponte Santa Carraia. Just some Ambulance alarm at night. But it is ok after 10:00pm.
House owner are very nice. They show me how to go to most of the popular place. As I am the first time to Firenze. Breakfast is nice. Have both of bath or shower. There is a washing machine too. I don't know on first night. Therefore haven't tried it. Just 5euro. It is quite good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wumws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We arrived in florence at 9.30 after an hour long train trip through the very beautiful italian countryside... James and i had not a single word of italian between us which we did not even think about before we flew into rome! we decided to call franz house to make sure for a bed, we were greated by a jolly sounding fella that was adamint on meeting us at the station as we had never been to florence/ firenze before!

standing at our meeting place not knowing what to expect a very sexy, loud and new ducati road bike rides up with the rider calling richard richard. we couldnt help but laugh!! so he walks us back to this 'franz house' 5 minute walk if that from the sation right on the beautiful river in the centre of firenze.... the location was simply incredible! up a beautiful little elevator into our room! private bathroom beautiful view ! ahh we were in awe!! beds were the cleanest we stayed in... beautiful girls! great computer!!!

what imprest me the most was this owners fabulous hospitality! example he hired us vespas! they were actually hondas but awesome! invited us to his uncles restaurant, took us to get fuel for our lil scooters. drew us maps of his own or drew a path for us on a existing map, took me for a ride on his ktm to get my scooter that i left on the other side of town! his girlfriend who is a hottie cooked us a fabulous italian breakfast! he helped us out to the max during our stay! 3 nights, best 3 nights anywhere. we met his brother an uncle who was just as nice!

if my mother was to go to florence i would make her stay at this marvelous 'franz house' i simply would not have it any other way! i feel that strongly about this!

cheers mate, your the man! ill see you sometime in the future i promise! rich mcgrath

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely small B&B. Our bathroom was private but not attached to our room. All very clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good and there was a lot of it. The staff was friendly and helpfull when we needed some information. The location is simply great. Only 20 meters from the river and very close to the trainstation. The only thing that might be an annoyance for some travellers is it can be a bit noisy from traffic outside. Not a problem for me i slept like a baby but my partner decided on some earpluggs.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyfromHolland76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2009

To cut a long story short, I booked (and paid a deposit) to stay here but when I arrived I was told they were full! How can that be? The owner offered to take me to his friend's hotel across town but I declined. DO NOT BOOK TO STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#274 of 411 in Florence
444 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Casa Corsi
Casa Corsi
#380 of 640 in Florence
69 reviews
Pitti
Promenade
Promenade
#521 of 640 in Florence
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Residenza Vespucci
Residenza Vespucci
#163 of 640 in Florence
212 reviews
San Marco
B&B Lady Florence
B&B Lady Florence
#271 of 640 in Florence
124 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Primavera
Soggiorno Primavera
#328 of 640 in Florence
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz House

Property: Franz House
Address: Via Dei Fossi 1 | ang. p.zza Goldoni, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Franz House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing