We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, amazing food, wonderful hosts and new friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Giglio Bianco B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gourmet Giglio Bianco B&B
Ranked #133 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing food, wonderful hosts and new friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was my first time in Firenze and Giglio Bianco was my first hotel on the trip. It could not have been a better start to my adventure! First, Vary and Edo are like instant friends, so warm and inviting and wonderful to talk to. Vary is an amazing Tuscan chef and together, they are a dynamic duo. The B&B is also located in a wonderful part of the city, just down the street from the Pitti Palace and a short distance walk from the famed Ponte Vecchio bridge.

I would recommend this B&B over and over again not only for the location but the hospitality and food. I joined them on my last night for one of their special dinners. Wow! Multiple courses of Tuscan specialties, each better than the last. If you have the time, sign up for one of Vary's cooking classes too. She will teach you real, authentic Italian cooking, something us Americans could take some lessons on (no spaghetti and meatballs here!) Enjoy your stay! I know I will definitely be back...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BetsyinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    16
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
256
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was more like staying with friends than staying in a hotel. We were made to feel very welcome, our room was clean and comfortable and the food was memorable. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, whether it was recommending local restaurants, arranging tickets for excursions or booking a taxi to the train station. Giglio Bianco is ideally located for visiting the beautiful city of Florence and Edo and Vary will make your stay very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Giglio Bianco is an incredible find in Florence. Edo and Vary are gracious hosts who welcome you into their home and make you feel a part of their family. Their location is on the quieter Oltrarno side of the river, yet you can still walk to wherever you want to go in the city (and walking is the way to see Florence).

The dining room at Giglio Bianco is very popular as evidenced by the many people who come just to dine. Chef Vary’s culinary skills are superb. Upon arrival, she will sit with you to discuss your food preferences and plans her meals with you in mind. Breakfasts are wonderful as well. If not dining at Giglio Bianco, Edo and Vari have excellent suggestions of where to eat.

We had an amazing experience at Giglio Bianco and hope we can return soon to relive it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you want to be in a quiet part of Florence, yet within a short easy walk of all the sights, this is the place to stay! We were warmly welcomed by Edo and Vary into their home and small (2 room) b and b. Edo offered help with our suitcases (they are located on the second story of an old building) immediately. The rooms are very comfortable, meticulously clean and a good size, and so are the bathrooms. And both rooms are located at the back of the long skinny house, which means they are super quiet, something we really appreciated. Breakfast is heavenly, freshly baked pastries prepared by your chef and host Vary every day, as well as a choice of omelets and other breakfast goodies. We booked a cooking lesson and dinner as part of our 5 day stay and it was fabulous! We had great fun in Vary and Edo's kitchen and savored every bite of our lovely plated and prepared dinner in the pretty dining room, set with candlelights just for the two of us! Vary is a great chef who loves to share her knowledge of food and loves to spoil her guests. Edo and Vary are the perfect hosts who really make you feel at home in their "home". Thank you Edo and Vary, hope to see you again some time in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ineke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Giglio Bianco was our headquarters in Florence, Italy...and what a wonderful stay it was. It was only 5-7 min from the Firenze (Florence) Santa Maria Novella train station by taxi, and a lovely ride at that. You are maneuvered through the winding streets of Florence and across the Arno River you are then ushered in to a small neighborhood (across the Boboli Gardens) where Giglio Bianco is located. We were welcomed and helped with our luggage by Edouardo, who immediately showed us to our room and offered us coffee and showed us the apartment. We then met Vary, a lovely hostess and chef
of the fine cuisine we would soon be indulging in.
Both of our hosts made us feel welcomed, comfortable, and at ease. From casual conversation to advice on points of interest in Florence...from cooking tips to history of Florence and food, Vary and Edo were there to enlighten us.
The accommodations were great. Very comfortable bed, air conditioned room, private bathroom (which is not always a given in Italy), television with digital cable, plenty of electrical outlets, desk, fresh linens...i could go on.
We also had a chance to have breakfast and dinner made by our hosts. Both were amazing. Both made fresh, and simply delicious. They are very conscious of needs and wants with all, including food. They inquire about allergies, tastes, and preferences, which allowed them to get it right everytime.
In short, this is our place to stay the next time we go to Florence...without a doubt. Amazing and helpful hosts, proximity to major sites, wonderful and clean accommodations, tasty cuisines (start to finish), safe neighborhood...Giglio Bianco is the place to stay in Florence!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Staying at Vary and Edo's B&B is an absolute must if you're going to Florence! The B&B is located in a quiet area, but is just a short 5 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and only about 10 minutes to the Duomo.

The B&B itself is really cute and wonderfully decorated. The room you stay in is a nice size and very clean. Vary and Edo also live at the B&B and make you feel right at home. I highly recommend doing their dinner one of the nights...it was probably the highlight of our time in Florence. They will make you a 5-course meal, which I promise will be the best you have while in Italy (they are world-renowned chefs). There is also the option to do a cooking class with them, which I heard good things about, but unfortunately didn't get a chance to do.

Overall, staying with Vary and Edo greatly added to our time in Florence. The combination of them, their food, and their beautiful home, makes it the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurambaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights during a long trip through Europe and I personally was really looking forward to it as we are MASSIVE foodies. We were not disappointed, the cooking class with Vary was fantastic, we learnt so much about Italian cooking. She introduced us to different cheeses, cured meats and flavours we had never encountered. What we made was reproducable in our own kitchen which makes it and even better experience…one that we can take home with us. Both Vary and Edo were very welcoming and just lovely and made us feel like we were at home with family.
The B&B was easy to find from the train station and is in a great location to get to the main attractions. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and had everything you could need for a short stay. Vary was very happy to point out and recommend places to go and see and she recommended the best Enoteca as our wine tour was cancelled.

Thanks Vary and Edo….we will be back in the Spring or Autumn for that wine tour!!!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms! which makes it a very sought after place…book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryljackson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Florent
#162 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Hotel Annalena
#233 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Friends Of Florence
#104 of 295 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Soprarno Suites
Soprarno Suites
#22 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Althea Rooms
#248 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
La Terrazza Su Boboli
#89 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gourmet Giglio Bianco B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Giglio Bianco B&B

Property: Gourmet Giglio Bianco B&B
Address: Via Romana 28, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Lily Gourmt B & B is the right choice if you're foodies! Our B & B was founded in 2005 and includes a cooking school managed and directed by Varinia (Chef. Chef Vary). We offer two comfortable and romantic rooms. Antique furniture and modern art from some of our families. The rooms are equipped with private bathroom with all the amenities you desire. Additional services espresso coffee (Nespresso) and tea 24 hours, phone calls to Italy, Canada and America free, high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, maps, guides in many languages. But if you have chosen is because you foodies! Breakfast offers 25 choices freshly prepared on your order includes specialties gluten free, vegetarian and vegan! we invite you to visit our website and to Vary chef! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gourmet Giglio Bianco B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Bianco Hotel Florence
Giglio Bianco Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing