We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Rovai Guest House
Ranked #106 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay in Florence”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My dad and I stayed there 3 nights and we were very satisfied with our choice. The location is perfect, our room was great and the breakfast was very good. The owner was very friendly and helpful too. I would stay there again if I come back to Florence.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Philipp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    75
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
212
51
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great location, well appointed, great value.
Excellent choice in Florence.

Plus:
A perfect location for visitng the "must see" places in Florence.
Fast free internet (free Wi-Fi for your devices, or free PC too .)
Just few steps to local market place Piazza Lorenzo Ghilberti (a little authentic experience!).
Great breakfasts.


Minus:
Nothing.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple.
(Kellemes hely csak ajanlani tudom.)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTomi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

An absolutely delightful place to stay, and the perfect setting for the complete Florentine experience! Casa Rovai strikes the perfect balance between a Renaissance palazzo (with its centuries-old frescos) and modern comfort. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful, and make fantastic cake! The owners are the most wonderful family- uncommonly kind and remarkably knowledgeable about their city. You are welcomed to Casa Rovai like an honoured old friend.

Comfortable, cultured, quiet, historical, friendly, .....The only bad part of my trip was leaving!

Room Tip: The 'Putti' room has the most incredible cherub frescos only the ceiling... a lovely vision...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Casa Rovai for a long weekend in January. I was enchanted by the place and the people - all so lovely and welcoming. It has the perfect combination of making you feel at home and able to mingle with other guests and staff while allowing for your privacy as well. All with the bonus of blissful quiet at night, not so easy to find in Italian cities, especially in such a very convenient location! It is a just a short walk to the main centre. The owner, Ana, is utterly charming and delighted to help. Clotilde is very sweet and makes lovely cakes! The 400 year old putti on the ceiling in my room added wonderfully to the ambiance!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Lisa,
thank you so much for your review!
I hope to meet you again soon in our beautiful city!
Best,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had a (4) girls trip to Firenze in February 2014. We stayed at Casa Rovai, and even though we arrived very late at night the staff welcomed us and as we were the only guests, they offered us better rooms than we'd booked. You certainly get what you pay for since the staff is both flexible and provides excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank york p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear York,
thank you so much for your kind word, we do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and we are very happy to know you did appreciate your stay with us!!
Hope to welcome you again in the future :-)
Best,
Anna and Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a wonderful and comfortable stay at Casa Rovai. Having a double and single room linked was really great and our daughter loved the mural on the ceiling of her room.
Our bed was large and really comfortable, the breakfast was very generous with a freshly baked cake and freshly made fruit salad each day.
We walked to Casa Rovai from the train station - it's really central, and once there it's only 4 minutes walk from both the Duomo and Santa Croce as well as having several good restaurants even closer. It's also only a few minutes from the Piazza della Signoria. We had a great time, and would return like a shot.
The staff were really welcoming, spoke English really well, and could not have been nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanStinson1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The first impression when u enter the place is good. (that is after climbing the stairs with ur bags, since there is no lift). The staff is nice and gave us a warm welcome.
Location is good. about 5 mins walk from the Duomo.
The room was okay, with a rustic kind of feel to it. The room is spacious. The temperature is set to 20°C. We came here in Jan, outside temperature was 10°C. Being from India, we find this temperature cold. BUT we cannot alter the room temperature, because it is written in the 'welcome book' that 20°C is the minimum for cost saving reasons! you cannot set a higher temperature! i don't understand why the cost cutting when we pay so much to stay here!

The bathroom was clean, but could've been better. the shower holder was broken and couldn't hold the shower in place. (oh, and to change the towels before 3 days of use, it costs an extra 5€).
The wi-fi doesn't reach the room, never even once did my phone catch it. so we can say, there is no wifi available.
The bed is uncomfortable. Two separate beds joined to make a double bed. the mattresses kept slipping and the wooden bed was too noisy, creaking under us even when we shifted a little bit to adjust the duvet ! that gave us disturbed sleeps !

the breakfast was okay, not very elaborate but enough.

The place is expensive and definitely no where near to anything I expect when i pay so much! (not to forget, the price was increased after i had booked the place at a certain price initially).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vyomapathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Sognando Firenze
#40 of 640 in Florence
500 reviews
Piccolo Principe B&B
#43 of 640 in Florence
306 reviews
B&B Il Palagetto Guest House
#59 of 640 in Florence
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#411 of 640 in Florence
65 reviews
Santa Croce
Le Stanze di Santa Croce
Le Stanze di Santa Croce
#240 of 640 in Florence
133 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#80 of 640 in Florence
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rovai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rovai Guest House

Property: Casa Rovai Guest House
Address: Via Fiesolana 1, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Rovai Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Rovai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rovai Guest House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing