We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”
Review of Casa Di Barbano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Di Barbano
Ranked #190 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I've stayed in at least half a dozen different hotels in Florence. My time at Casa di Barbano was by far the most enjoyable!
As a visitor to a bi-annual trade fair ( Pitti Immagine Filati ) held at the Fortezza da Basso Convention Center, this location was incredibly convenient-- a quick 5 minute walk away. After a morning of intense meetings I could walk back "home" to the Casa for a rejuvenating nap -- the very best cure for jet lag and a major effectiveness multiplier in my afternoon meetings.
Dietary restrictions prohibit much of Florentine cuisine for me, so I was thrilled to find a restaurant just a few blocks away from the Casa - il Vegetariano -- that met my needs with style and boundless charm. One can build a custom meal-sized salad there from the freshest ingredients for 6 Euros! Tables are shared, bringing together a diverse creative neighborhood with like minds from around the world.
Casa di Barbano is family owned and operated, which provided a unique sense of welcome and support -- it was like meeting for the first time Italian relatives and being instantly absorbed into their inner circle. I have a small business and so do they, so we had excellent discussions of mutual interest. I also saw this extended family relationship working very well for parents with children, since the primary owner/manager is a working mom with young kids in local schools.
The Casa's gracious hostess, Moraq, is also an artist and native English speaker who loves music -- it was wonderful to return after a tiring day and hear the sound of opera coming from her office.
I found the Casa very quiet -- an easy place to recover from jet lag.
For anyone attending an event at the Fortezza da Basso, Casa di Barrbano should be at the top of your list of lodgings to consider. This is also true for parents of students at the University -- a very short walk away, Casa di Barbano has an air of romance -- I did see honeymooners there, who seemed quite happy!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    80
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
122
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This charming B and B with 3 rooms, bath ensuite is located within a short walk from the train station and bus stops.

We felt welcome and secure in this cozy establishment. Even though we had only 2 nights, Moraq arranged a reservation number with both Uffizi and L'Academie, so we could skip the long queue and pay and go in directly. This extra touch was so appreciated, because it both maximized our short stay, and avoided the online middle-man extra fees. THANK YOU Moraq!

Breakfast is brought to your room at the time you wish, and a mini-fridge is there as well. My old eyes could have used a brighter light in the room, but the room is spacious and the bed very comfortable.

She also gave great tips and advice. What a great location in a walkable city!

I would stay here again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THESSALONIKI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Very nice bed and breakfast place,low budget,very friendy and all attractions are very close on foot.Best suggestion for someone who prefers less money but great service and attitude.Rooms clean and tidy and owner an Italian lovely lady.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREEKSTORYTELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We chanced upon Casa Di Barbano from tripadvisor and 2 nights on, we never regretted our decision to stay with our wonderful hosts.

Coming out of Florence SMN Railway Station, Casa was about 10 minutes walk along the atmospheric Via Nationale where heaps of nice eateries, gelatos and a well-stocked supermarket were located.

Upom arrival at the B&B, we were warmly greeted by our friendly host where she proceeded to hand us a map and highlighted the many sights in Florence with great details (Very much appreciated!)

We took a triple room number 2 that was spacious enough for 3 of us. The room and the bathroom were very tastefully decorated with European furnishings. They were well-maintained and our beds very comfortable. A delicious breakfast comprised of crossiants, biscuits and aromatic coffee was served at the comfort of our own room every morning.

Our hosts were always available to meet our special needs such as requesting for salts to cure our sore throats and having more cutleries and coffee refills. They were also a good source of travel information which we appreciated while touring the city. All these were provided with plenty of smiles and a willingness to serve.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Casa Di Barbano during our brief stopover in the city. Florence was a nice city and Casa Di Barbano certainly enhanced our overall travel experience. Thanks for everything.

Roy

Room Tip: All the 3 rooms seemed good since they faced a quiet road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed four nights at Casa di Barbano in October. Moraq was very helpful. She provided a map and suggestions for restaurants and sites. It was located close to the train station, close was still a good 10 minute walk, but it was great when taking the train or bus to/from the city, which we did a bunch (including a bus day trip to Siena)
The room was a nice size and very clean. The bathroom was a little dated and dark, but fine.
Moraq brought breakfast to our room each morning, which was a very nice touch. It was a simple breakfast, but just fine to get us started for the day.
It was a great value for the city if you're willing to hoof it a bit to get to the water and other sites.

Room Tip: As others have written, the wifi in room 3 isn't the greatest. Being on the ground floor, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastvillagegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Wonderful location. Very near to the train station. Nearby there's this local market which is a must go place in Florence. We bought all our balsamic from there. Love the breakfast. Big thanks to Moraq for having us there. Too bad we only stayed for two days :(

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is an outstanding value in an expensive city. The host, Moraq, was born in the US so speaks both English and Italian. she is a warm, welcoming person who without hesitation will extend herself to assist her guests in any way possible. She and her family live on the premises, so she is around if last-minute help is needed. She is happy to arrange reservations at the Uffizi or Academy, which you should certainly take advantage of unless you enjoy standing in lines for hours. The B+B has only three rooms, so don't delay in making reservations, which can be done directly by an email to info@casadibarbano.it The location is great because it is on a quiet street that is close to everything, including one of Florence's few parks. There is not a lot of green in Florence so the park can be a welcome respite. Continental breakfast is served in your room at the time you designate. A full library about Florence is available. I saw all three rooms and they are all clean and comfortable. I spent seven nights there and there is no where else in Florence I would stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Delle Camelie
Delle Camelie
#198 of 422 in Florence
140 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#84 of 422 in Florence
882 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#87 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#88 of 422 in Florence
641 reviews
San Lorenzo
Ridolfi Guest House
Ridolfi Guest House
#105 of 675 in Florence
421 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Residenza Fiorentina
Residenza Fiorentina
#72 of 675 in Florence
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Di Barbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Di Barbano

Property: Casa Di Barbano
Address: Via di Barbano n. 1, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Di Barbano 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a warm, comfortable, and friendly Bed and Breakfast located in the historic center of Florence. We enjoy hosting travelers in an economical yet charming atmosphere. Our goal is at assist guests in enjoying their visit to the special, and beautiful city of Florence, unique in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Di Barbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Di Barbano Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing