We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homely bnb run by a lovely host”
Review of Casa Di Barbano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Di Barbano
Ranked #214 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for just over a week and thoroughly enjoyed my time spent there. Good value in a spacious room, walking distance to the station, markets and just about anything you need. Breakfast served in the room is great, nice selection of food and great coffee. Facilities are perfectly decent, quiet area, comfortable stay. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was a decent place to call home. We found the room a cramped. Not really any space to put our luggage (2 carry on roller bags) and no real desk/table space.

This was the middle of our trip so we also did laundry. There are plenty of laundry places near by. Self service or drop off/pick up services. We did the self service and it cost us approximately 15e and 2hrs of time. Dryers are weak and drying took alot longer than washing.

Room was dated but clean. The location was convenient to train station but a little far from the attractions of Uffizi and Pitti. Alot of review say Moraq is very helpful but unfortunately we never met her since she was out on vacation during our stay.

Room Tip: There is laundry and convenience stores nearby and the central market is also nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A great place to stay. Moraq was a lovely host - very warm, welcoming and helpful. Good value for money. Very comfortable. Breakfast was served in the room - croissants and tea. Five minutes walk from the train station and slightly longer to the centre of Florence but still not far.

Would definitely recommend Casa Barbano to others and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG_BG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, enjoyed it and will definitely recommend it to our friends. The price is good, the room is clean and decorated in a nice oldfashioned, stylish manner. The breakfast is served in your room and the croissants and coffee were very tasty. We did miss youghurt and some kind of cheese or ham for the bread though. The hostess is serviceminded and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Nice little place in a great location. Moraq is very pleasant and friendly. Good breakfast and coffee. The rooms are spacious enough, private bathroom, and everything you need on hand. I slept for 11 hours, so it must be quiet and comfortable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rounsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a bit of delayed review - I stayed at Casa di Barbano in December 2011. Moraq, the owner, was a great hostess, friendly but unobtrusive. The lodging is in the ground floor of a residential building. The room we stayed in had a private bathroom in the bedroom (much like a regular hotel room). Overall a great stay and would definitely stay here again. Pros and cons as follows:

Pros:
- Great location. Close to the main train station, about a 5 minute walk. Florence is a very walkable city and all the touristy sites are within a 15 minute stroll.
- Good value. Paid about 65 euro a night. Fabulous price for the location, in my opinion. Also, a lovely fresh breakfast (warm croissants from a local bakery, hot water for tea, fresh milk, etc) is included, which is brought to your room at the time you specify - very nice.
- The B&B is located on a quiet street which doesn't get a lot of traffic (car or otherwise) but I always felt safe, even when returning alone late at night.
- Sitting area with a nice collection of books for you to peruse/borrow.

Cons:
- The bathroom was a little cramped. Better organization could be had - e.g. a shelf for laying things down (there was little to no counter space) or hooks for clothing/towels.

Of note (not really pros nor cons, per se):
- Owner has a cat, which didn't bother me at all, but if you have allergies or a cat-aversion, be aware.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent two nights in Florence in early Feb. The price was a great value. The B&B is located a short walk from the train station (Santa Maria Novello) and bus depot, less than 10 min. Moraq gave us excellent directions. Moraq was there to greet us and get us settled, and gave us a map and marked out the sights we wanted to visit. We arrived early in the day, and she kept our luggage until our room was ready and then put it in there for us. The room was quite big (by European B&B standards) and comfortable. She also let us use one of her English-language guidebooks to Florence during our stay, and there are many other good books available with more info and history on the Florence area. The B&B is located within walking distance (for us) of all the major city sights, and even up to the hill overlooking the city center (which is also easily accessible by bus). City buses stop nearby. When we woke up the first morning, there had been a problem with the hot water overnight (she had just had the annual check-up on it within the past week), but Moraq was right on top of it. She brought us an electric heater and called the repairman, even though it was Sunday. By the time we did a little sightseeing, it was all fixed. Things like this happen, and the way she handled it so promptly is all anyone could do and much appreciated by us. She lives on the property with her family, which is a huge advantage when there are problems.
Moraq brings breakfast to you in your room and accommodated us with a slightly earlier time than usual when we needed to catch an early train. We sincerely enjoyed visiting with her. If you stay, make sure to visit the little shop just a block over (can't remember the name offhand) that is owned by a Sicilian man who makes the best cannoli and gelato, among other things. Moraq recommended that shop, and it was a big hit with us! We would not hesitate to stay here should we return to Florence.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Delle Camelie
Delle Camelie
#186 of 410 in Florence
146 reviews
San Lorenzo
Ridolfi Guest House
Ridolfi Guest House
#110 of 657 in Florence
426 reviews
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#123 of 657 in Florence
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#18 of 657 in Florence
562 reviews
San Lorenzo
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
#105 of 657 in Florence
366 reviews
San Lorenzo
B&B Verrocchio
B&B Verrocchio
#246 of 657 in Florence
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Di Barbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Di Barbano

Address: Via di Barbano n. 1, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Di Barbano 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a warm, comfortable, and friendly Bed and Breakfast located in the historic center of Florence. We enjoy hosting travelers in an economical yet charming atmosphere. Our goal is at assist guests in enjoying their visit to the special, and beautiful city of Florence, unique in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Di Barbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Di Barbano Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing