We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Pastella

Osteria Pastella
Reserve with
Osteria Pastella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: VARIETY - Osteria Pastella is located in the heart of Florence close by Basilica di Santa Maria Novella. The restaurant proposes typical Tuscan cuisine, as well as the most famous mediterranean recipes. Homemade bread and Pasta NOT TO MISS - Our homemade pasta it’s a MUST, especially our Tagliatelle with Black truffle or salted mullet roe both served with Pienza Pecorino flambe; another specialty of the house would be our Fiorentina steak, or fresh fish. We also suggest for dessert our homemade chocolate ravioli and our apple baked in Chianti wine. THE AMBIENCE - The style, from the first decades of the 19th century, gives our guests a relaxing feeling and along with the music accompanies them through a back in time evening.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The restaurant is in my view absolutely amazing, the service was second to none with each dish explained in full. The chef making fresh pasta invited our son to stand and watch her prepare the different kinds as orders came in.
Wild boar with pasta, risotto with truffles and chocolate ravioli -superb!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SafariRafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    188
    54
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We saw the staff making pasta at the front of the shop and decided to have dinner here after visiting the Santa Maria Novella pharmacy and perfume shop which is on the same street. The service was very good, menu varied and the room was comfortable. We enjoyed pasta, the stacked caprese salad and really good bread. We had just been in Rome and found most of the bread served to be dry but this was fresh and warm from the oven. There was a good selection of wines and live music which we enjoyed very much.

I cannot imagine why some gave it terrible reviews; we had a lovely experience over dinner and chatting with one of the managers or owner as we left.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scootoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Lorenzo
Level Contributor
191 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This small restaurant that is located very near the Hotel Cruse di Malta has only been open for about four months but already its reputation and clientele are growing. Friday night the place was full and some clients were waiting. The menu purely Italian included a wide range of pastas, seafood and meat dishes as well as salads and desserts. The quality of the meals is outstanding, the presentation and service are equally good and the prices reasonable.
Friday and Saturday there is live music. The last time we visited, a singer and guitarist were playing. Both were fine musicians individually but not good as a team with the guitarist dominating and the singer barely heard. The effect was jarring rather than soothing and is something that should be corrected.

The owner should be congratulated on a great start in this highly competitive field. If you are in the area this is an eating experience you should not miss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roamer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
285 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best Homemade Pasta in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was hands down the best pasta I had in Florence. While others say it's fresh, they don't necessarily make it in house. This place does. And the pesto pasta was fabulous. We sat outside and it was a very pleasant experience. The only reason I didn't give this restaurant a five was that the chef was unwilling to make a single change in any of his dishes. The response was "That is not possible". And they weren't that busy so this was just a pride thing. Maybe Americans are spoiled but some simple changes like leaving something out is not a big deal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krp87b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic! You must go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stumbled upon this restaurant by accident, and we are so glad we did! Dinner service begins at 7 pm and we sat in one of the 3 outdoor tables. My daughters were enchanted with the chef making fresh pasta in the window all evening!

The menu is handwritten and includes some very unusual entries like swordfish carpaccio with glaceed marrons as well as black truffles and wild boar. I ate spinach gnocchi made without potato that were as light as air. My girls ate fresh tricolore tagliatelle pasta and beef ravioli in tomato sauce. My husband had salmon ravioli and then grilled squid. The bread is fantastic too! Dessert did not disappoint with chocolate soufflé and chocolate ravioli!

The waitstaff speaks excellent English and Russian. Live music was also very charming on a Friday night. Overall fantastic!!

Helpful?
1 Thank decembergirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Pastella also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Pastella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing