We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Ranked #116 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were booked into an apartment for four nights near the duomo but the street noise was so extreme (and we are used to a fair bit of noise in Europe) and went on all night, so we bailed out (foregoing a lot of money!) and looked for a hotel to stay in for the remaining three nights to get some sleep! The Borghese Palace gave us a room, for which we were very grateful, but which turned out to be next door to some very noisy guests that night. After two nights without sleep, we appealed to Massimiliano Martini, our friendly and helpful concierge, who promised to move us to another similar room while we were out exploring for the day. We arrived back and were delighted to find he had kindly upgraded us to a junior suite, which was not only huge but at the end of a corridor and blissfully quiet! What a legend! Everything else about the hotel was wonderful; great bar area, varied breakfast fare, and fabulous artworks decorating the lobby and bar area. We didn't venture down to the spa area, but other guests told us it was excellent. The hotel is central to everything in Florence and I would highly recommend it. Thank you to the excellent staff for rescuing two weary travellers, and particularly to Massimiliano!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherpa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Sherpa200,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review – it really was a pleasure to read. We’re delighted that you had a wonderful base2stay experience and I hope that you will visit us again as this would definitely make our smiles bigger!

Best regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    248
    109
    42
    18
See reviews for
111
390
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I were in Florence in October 2012 which is a wonderful time of the year to travel there. The Borghese Palace Art Hotel was fantastic for walking everywhere. We had booked a superior room, but beause there was a problem with the TV in our room, Sasha, the hotel manager, accommodated us with an executive room which was fabulous. The breakfast, the room and staff were wonderful and so helpful. I would definite stay there again and advise friends and family also. We were so close to everything. Beautiful spa downstairs, but didn't use it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickiehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Vickiehome,

how lovely to read your review and to know that you had a wonderful stay at the Borghese Palace Art Hotel. Thank you for the great comments and we do hope you have a chance to visit Florence again.
We look forward to welcoming you back (and your family and your friends).

Best Regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

The location of this hotel can not be faulted, it is on a quiet street but you are literally a couple of minute's walk from the main squares and sights. We walked absolutely everywhere, the only time we got a taxi was from and to the airport. There is a flat fee for taxis from the airport too which means you know you won't get ripped off.

The hotel itself is well presented, although the lighting is a bit dark. Our room was clean and tidy, but a little on the small side, there was very little room between the bed and the opposite wall, meaning manoeuvring cases and getting dressed was a bit of a squeeze. Ultimately the room was only for sleeping in though, so it served its purpose well enough.

The breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold items - Bacon, eggs, toast, yoghurts, fruit, cereal and pastries etc.

Staff were very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke excellent English which made things easier, as my Italian is very limited. They recommended places to eat and arranged a taxi for the day of our departure.

Not 100% sure it is worth the higher price tag compared to other nearby hotels for what you get, but nonetheless, I would stay here again if I go back to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CreepingBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear CreepingBeauty,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Borghese Palace Art Hotel and thank you so much for the amazing comments.

We have one of the best locations in Florence, it’s wonderful to be so central to all that is great about Florence – theatre, shopping, sightseeing – and we’re so pleased that you loved the hotel and service.
We hope you will be back soon to enjoy another great experience at Borghese Palace Art Hotel.

Best regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I was really excited about splurging on a hotel in Florence - we had been staying B&B's and apartments - and this one looked perfect, a bit different and boutique and it was all those things but when we got there it was just a bit tired. Our room just felt like it needed a refurb you know how rooms get most of the furniture scuffed nothing major but it would have been nicer if it was fixed.

The lobby is really great its the only place you can get wi fi so its a good spot to sit and catch up on emails. The lobby bar looks brilliant and I dont know if we just caught it on an off night but we tried to order a wine and was told there was no wine list so we just ordered a couple of white wines to then be charged 8 euro each for them. The cheek! Also we were just generally ignored by the bar staff which was really weird for Italy. It was also a pity the rooftop bar was closed for renovations, these things need to happen but it would have been nice to know prior.

The front desk was really helpful & it a great location though right in the middle of Florence but next trip I will probably stick to apartments

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teagan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear Teagan C.,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Borghese Palace.
It is always disappointing if our guests do not enjoy the hotel,. I am sorry that your stay fell below expectations.
When working in hospitality ,we know that is a hard job to please each one of our customers. So, for us, criticism is not perceived as something negative, but as a means to learn from our guests and hopefully improve our services.
I hope you'll give us a new opportunity to welcome you and show you how much we care.

Kind regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Hotel is very well located, the staff is extremely competent and helpful, the atmosphere is nice and the look of the hotel is memorable. The SPA is just what you need after a day walking around the city: clean, functionable and pleasent! We had a superior room, which was spacious and clean. The minus points were: (1) the materasses were not of a quality one can expect in a 4* hotel, same for the bed linen, (2) no fresh products on the breakfast buffet. From an Italian hotel I would expect at least fresh bread, cheese and fruits. All in all we had a happy and pleasent stay, but we see space for improvement!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n0702653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear N0702653,
first of all, Thank you to have found the time to write a book review on tripadvisor being emphasized many positive aspects of the Borghese Palace.
It displeases that the breakfast is not appreciated, although is a our strong point. Bread and croissants come from a handicraft pastry shop every day at 6 a.m.; the eggs are fresh and without conserving and come purposely fried every morning like bacon.On the buffet there are two emplacements of red and green Italian apples.
We do hope to see you soon again between our customers and we newly thank you for the beautiful words expenses in the cares of our structure.

My best Regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed at Borghese Palace Art Hotel for three nights in November. Absolutely loved this place! Location is fantastic!! Restaurants, The Duomo & a few of the other main tourist attractions are all within walking distance. We booked a superior room very spacious, loved the decor & great bathroom also. Comfy bed overall great room! The staff were all very helpful & friendly very easy to deal with. Breakfast was nice a wide selection available.
Also make sure you visit the spa at the hotel very relaxing we used the steamroom & jacuzzi... Loved this place we will be back! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Brookey87,

Thank you, We're delighted to be your hotel of choice in Florence and we hugely appreciate your support of Borghese Palace. It’s always our ethos to welcome every guest as if into our own home and it’s lovely to know that you enjoy so many aspects of staff, design and the location.

We look forward to continuing to welcome you back and please let us know when you are next in town.
My best Regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We chose this hotel in part because of previous Trip Advisor reviews and we were delighted with our 7-night stay here. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the contrast between the modern, edgy decor and all the Renaissance art we were seeing in the city. Loved the glass sink! The staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly Giuseppe and Sasha on the front desk and the sweet breakfast ladies. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel's location is fantastic - half a block from the Bargello and a short walk to everything else we wanted to see on this side of the Arno. There were lots of good restaurants nearby. The only drawbacks were the unreliable wi-fi (which they say is being improved soon) and noise from the street two nights we were there. If we were travelling on business, these would have been a problem; we were tourists so it was just a minor nuisance. When we first looked at the website, we thought "It will be fun to stay here" and it was.

Room Tip: The restaurant across the street seems to draw a student crowd and they can be noisy late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear gkq,

Your comments mean a great deal to me and my team, thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.
I am so glad you had a wonderful experience whilst you stayed with us and I`m happy all went well.
It is our aim to provide high quality service at all times so our guest leave with good and happy memories.
I do hope you will return for future trips to Florence.
Wishing you all the best.
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#114 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#113 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borghese Palace Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borghese Palace Art Hotel

Property: Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Address: Via Ghibellina 174-R, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Florence
#73 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#105 Family Hotel in Florence
#123 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Borghese Palace Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borghese Palace Art Hotel offers a free wellness centre, and uniquely decorated rooms blending antique furniture and modern-style décor. Set in a 15th-century building, it is a 5-minute walk from Florence Cathedral.Rooms are uniquely decorated with original works of contemporary art and include an LCD TV with Sky channels. Wired internet is free in the rooms while Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and croissants.The wellness centre is set in original 13th-century cellars. Relaxation facilities include jacuzzi, a steam bath,a hot tub and a sauna. A fitness room is also available.Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery are 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borghese Palace Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borghese Palace Art Florence
Hotel Borghese Palace Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing