We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK Stay in a Lovely City” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borghese Palace Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Ranked #116 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An OK Stay in a Lovely City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our stay here was OK, but not what was expected all said and done.

The hotel website gave us the impression that it would be a boutique 'art' hotel. There were pieces around, but nothing felt 'wow', 'extraordinary' or overly cohesive. The piece over the bed was foam and plaster, not stone which felt more mass produced than anything. The seats in the lobby were plastic, which felt a little off. Art is always in the eye of the beholder though so this is really up to personal taste.

The SPA is a nice touch, with a Steam Room, Sauna and Spa Bath, though make sure to give 2 hours notice that you would like to use it for it to be set up for you.

Our room was large and quiet which was nice. Nice solid brick/stone walls meant that we didn't hear anything whilst in the room, something that can be rare in older hotels with paper-thin walls. The walls had a good share of scuff marks from other travelers and the bathroom had some build up in some of the joints, and a shower door that needed a good shove to close properly. Nothing here was the fault of the cleaners who we pasted many times and who were friendly and always busy - more just an age thing. The amenities are in satchels and not bottles - which I'd never seen before. Room had a big safe and countless TV Channels and 2 free bottles of water (which were most welcome in the heat of summer). Our Aircon was keeping up with 35 degree heat no trouble and there was a lovely view out the window.

The breakfast was lovely, with nice staff (more friendly than one the front desk people - though the other was wonderful and a great help) who greeted us each morning and kept everything clean and tidy. Full marks to them.

Overall we were OK with the stay, If we move expectations to just a hotel for the money, then it meets expectation. However from general reading and the website we had the feeling it was going to be better, so unfortunately in that regard it did not meet expectation. Perhaps this is our own fault setting expectation to high. We wouldn't stay again, but we had no major problems staying there whilst we were there - just a general sense of being underwhelmed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    240
    108
    41
    18
See reviews for
107
381
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the old Borghese Palace, which has been sectioned into three establishments. First, a parking garage, second, the Lion's or Rotary Club of Florence, and the Art Hotel. The hotel is modern and with art exhibitions on the first floor. Many complaints about the room size here - this is Italy people not LA, everything is small!!! Staff are generally friendly and the Santa Croce locale is lovely. When you walk out of the hotel into Ghibellina, walk left towards Santa Croce or Piazza Maggiore for dining and bar options. You will feel like you are taking part in Florentine life since there is a good ratio of tourist and locals in the area unlike other locales. I thought the hotel was great value considering that the major tourist attractions are within a short walking distance. Breakfast had hot options as well as croissants and if you want a cappuccino, just ask. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dento97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

stayed here with my family for two nights... the hotel's location is very good... less than 10 minutes from the Duomo and the uffizi... the hotel itself tries too hard to be artsy... the lobby/bar area is as close as it comes... although the room as large and easily accommodated us four, the room was without ac...!!! for two nights... the fans and open windows at night made it bearable... to the credit of the management, they tried very hard to fix the problem and we were given a discount for both nights...

Room Tip: ask for one with ac, especially in the hot summer months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Excellent location, very close to the main attractions of Florence it certainly offers a very unique design. I stayed in a single room, which was of a very decent size with quite a big bathroom. The staff is nice but sort of reserved, even though very helpful!
There are two minuses:
- It is clean but not spotlessly
- There is no place (shelve or something) to put your shampoo or shower gel under the shower, which I found pretty uncomfortable
Overall it was ok, again with an interesting, sort of funky design but I’d say a bit overpriced as for the above minuses.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NettyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear customer,
we are sorry to not answer to your comments,but, after a careful reading of the number and the typology of the comments received in the last 3 months,we decide that the judgments published on this portal are not representative of our job,daily made, and of the service that we offer to over 1000 different clients every month.
And I would you explain how:
Every day we do our best to offer to our clients numerous included and free of charge services:wellness area with jacuzzi, minibar with nonalcoholic drinks, more than 100 channels sky in the language of the client, high speed wifi, but there is no mention of these on the comments of the travellers (just few).
On the opposite: the comments i have answered for a period describe almost exclusively problems,errors, client's discomfort, defects etc etc.
The number of comments left here by the clients (less than 10 every month) represents less than 1% of the number of clients that we serve (more than 1100 every month) from 6 years, therefore not representativeour costumers's real satisfaction , but even the level of our services.
This,as you will understand,makes frustrating not only our daily job but also the reading of comments (sometimes also violent and offensive)considering that errors can happen managing 12.000 clients every yeat and usually we find a solution in the 99% of the cases.
We don't consider, we declare, that these published evaluations are able to represent an objective opinion about the job of our staff and the Hotel's services , but a place where dissatisfied travellers declare problems that the hotel has not able,for our responsability, to resolve ( in Our case just 1% of cases).
Whatever important for us,but still 1%.

Best Regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel, close to the Duomo and other attractions. Room was very small, room for two tiny nightstands, a small desk, one chair and a stool, no room for a suitcase stand. TV took up 1/4 of the desk. The mattresses on the king-size bed were foam, on a leather-covered frame. Air conditioning was inadequate or not permitted to cool lower than 23 C. Street noise was too loud to open the window in the evening. Soap bars were tiny and shampoo was provided in little paper packets, similar to the lower-tier motels in the US. Staff was helpful and professional, breakfast was ample. We requested extra pillows, but they could not be provided until the next day. Wi-Fi was provided gratis, but the system failed for most of the second day. Because of its limitations, I would insist on a substantial discount to stay here again. It is certainly not worth its rack rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davelf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear customer,

we are sorry to not answer to your comments,but, after a careful reading of the number and the typology of the comments received in the last 3 months,we decide that the judgments published on this portal are not representative of our job,daily made, and of the service that we offer to over 1000 different clients every month.
And I would you explain how:
Every day we do our best to offer to our clients numerous included and free of charge services:wellness area with jacuzzi, minibar with nonalcoholic drinks, more than 100 channels sky in the language of the client, high speed wifi, but there is no mention of these on the comments of the travellers (just few).
On the opposite: the comments i have answered for a period describe almost exclusively problems,errors, client's discomfort, defects etc etc.
The number of comments left here by the clients (less than 10 every month) represents less than 1% of the number of clients that we serve (more than 1100 every month) from 6 years, therefore not representativeour costumers's real satisfaction , but even the level of our services.
This,as you will understand,makes frustrating not only our daily job but also the reading of comments (sometimes also violent and offensive)considering that errors can happen managing 12.000 clients every yeat and usually we find a solution in the 99% of the cases.
We don't consider, we declare, that these published evaluations are able to represent an objective opinion about the job of our staff and the Hotel's services , but a place where dissatisfied travellers declare problems that the hotel has not able,for our responsability, to resolve ( in Our case just 1% of cases).
Whatever important for us,but still 1%.

Best Regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in Florence for two nights and this hotel was very good.

The staff was friendly and nice. The location was pretty good, though we were a little too close to the Duomo. If we were to do it again, we'd stay somewhere closer to the Piazza della Signoria or the Ponte Vecchio bridge.

Also, one of the hotel employees recommended us to take a bus tour of the city, going as far as Fiesole. While Fiesole had some fantastic views, this was a bad recommendation as there's much more to see in Florence. Instead, take a walking tour of Florence and make sure to visit the two main museums. I'm not a museum fan by any stretch but even I was amazed!

Overall, this was a very good hotel and we'd recommend it to our friends, though we'd recommend hanging out and eating on the other side of the bridge rather than by the Duomo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

a small but classy hotel. The owner works at the front desk. Very polite and helpful staff. The art was amazing. every request granted with a smile and carried out with enthusiasm. position was perfect to walk to all hi-lights.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid room 310. air ducting is noisy. we moved rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#112 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borghese Palace Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borghese Palace Art Hotel

Property: Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Address: Via Ghibellina 174-R, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Florence
#72 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#105 Family Hotel in Florence
#123 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Borghese Palace Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borghese Palace Art Hotel offers a free wellness centre, and uniquely decorated rooms blending antique furniture and modern-style décor. Set in a 15th-century building, it is a 5-minute walk from Florence Cathedral.Rooms are uniquely decorated with original works of contemporary art and include an LCD TV with Sky channels. Wired internet is free in the rooms while Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and croissants.The wellness centre is set in original 13th-century cellars. Relaxation facilities include jacuzzi, a steam bath,a hot tub and a sauna. A fitness room is also available.Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery are 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Borghese Palace Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borghese Palace Art Florence
Hotel Borghese Palace Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing