We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artsy at the expense of some basics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Ranked #122 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Artsy at the expense of some basics”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Super artsy hotel - in a great location near the Duomo and also Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Santa Croce church where Galileo and Michelangelo are buried. It has a great vibe, art in the lobby area. The rooms are nicely appointed but felt they could have put more thoughtfulness in some details - like the showers (which are tiny) have no place to put soap, shampoo. The faucets require some explanation that the bellman takes time to demonstrate. There is one handle on the sink. It goes from cold to hot, but there is no controlling the volume. We only stayed two nights, and would try a different hotel next time for a basis of comparison.

Staff was delightful - they are the A+ of the experience, as was the substantial, complimentary breakfast in the dining area.

No room service for anything but breakfast. My husband was feeling under the weather and I needed to trek to the nearby "Take out" pizzeria to get some vegetable soup and a pizza for a quick late meal after a day of walking all over Florence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    257
    110
    43
    19
See reviews for
113
402
47
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I picked the place due to the beautiful & tasteful decoration. I was very happy with the choice!
It is at a very convenient location. People are very friendly there. It is quiet and it is perfect hideout in hot summer day! The breakfast was pretty good, too.
Our room is nicely arranged and decorated. Very modern and clean.
Also, there is a spa & sauna at the basement. We really enjoyed it!!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paychi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

4* hotel with 3* facilities.

What you can expect:
Central Location
Adequate Breakfast

What not to expect:

No double beds throughout hotel (each double is 2 singles pushed together, confirmed by hotel reception, which slip apart during sleep).

A good standard of finish in the rooms (see below)
On checking in our room had a piece of metal sticking from between the floorboards which I cut my foot on. The hotel response was to offer me disinfectant spray and send the handyman to fix.

Bathrobes

In room movies

Conclusion
Not a bad hotel at all but one which could do with putting the customer first. Certainly my experience was not helped by the injury sustained within 30 mins of checking in, followed by the complete lack of compensation offered by the hotel. I am sure that there are other hotels in Florence that can offer better for less or even the same.

Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 very enjoyable nights at the end of October. When we arrived early evening the reception staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a double room which was clean and tidy. A buffet breakfast was also included in our stay which was very good (just one tip though, if you like tea - bring some tea bags from home!) The hotel also has a spa which we used after a day of walking around Florence which was a real treat, in particular the jacuzzi and steam room - very relaxing and helped those sore feet. (Another tip - take flat shoes, ladies - you may just get away with a wedge heel for the evenings - pavements are cobbled and very uneven). The bar in the hotel was great - very modern and played funky music - the bar staff were fantastic and I think I had the best lime margarita I've ever had there so definitely worth a visit! We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Florence and would definitely stay at the Borghese Palace Art Hotel again. So, if you're hesitating about booking a room there, don't! Book it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Big thumbs down! No a/c and it was 76 degrees during our stay. Mosquitos came in through the window. The second day they offered fans when we wanted to check out. Mold in the shower, dim lighting in the room. The bar and the staff at the bar were great. The breakfast was good. The bed was uncomfortable as well. Go some place else!

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Having read the more recent negative comments about this hotel, which we booked many months ago, we were a little apprehensive. However we had no problems with our room at all. It was clean, wifi access worked flawlessly, our room was on the 3rd floor on the street side and was very quiet. Breakfast was good - juice, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, eggs, ham, cheese, pastries, toast, cake (a little odd that - an Italian thing?). Received some recommendations for dinner - the restaurant we chose was very good. Check out at 12 suited us well. Location was great - all in all no complaints!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francophile635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed one night and enjoyed the central location. Staff was friendly and responsive to problem that I had with the TV not working. Room was clean and well decorated but very small. WiFi was broken which was disappointing. Breakfast was included which was slightly above average but the dining room becomes crowded and could be hard to get a table unless you wait.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#103 of 422 in Florence
1,613 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#68 of 422 in Florence
1,604 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 422 in Florence
1,341 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#99 of 422 in Florence
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borghese Palace Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borghese Palace Art Hotel

Property: Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Address: Via Ghibellina 174-R, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Florence
#74 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#105 Family Hotel in Florence
#123 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Borghese Palace Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borghese Palace Art Hotel offers a free wellness centre, and uniquely decorated rooms blending antique furniture and modern-style décor. Set in a 15th-century building, it is a 5-minute walk from Florence Cathedral.Rooms are uniquely decorated with original works of contemporary art and include an LCD TV with Sky channels. Wired internet is free in the rooms while Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and croissants.The wellness centre is set in original 13th-century cellars. Relaxation facilities include jacuzzi, a steam bath,a hot tub and a sauna. A fitness room is also available.Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery are 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Borghese Palace Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borghese Palace Art Florence
Hotel Borghese Palace Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing