We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and staff very freindly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Petrognano
Ranked #59 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and staff very freindly”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Shocked at how high class this place was for the money. Beautiful two-bedroom accomodation with loads of space and high quality decor. Very well equipped, with everything we could need.

Our hosts were very accommodating on check in and check out and couldn't do enough for us. haven't tried the olive oil they gave us (made on the farm) but I'm sure it's fab.

Swimming pool is unheated but was fine to swim in the two days we used it. Didn't play tennis or badminton or have much time to tour the grounds (lots of wildlife - we saw some very exotic bird and hares running around) - but need to spend more time there next time,

Room Tip: Bring a laptop or ipad - there's free wifi Let the train take the strain into Florence - dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I write this review AFTER we have already booked in Petrognano for our upcoming summer hollidays. Just a matter of getting "our second home" secured before you came along :-) . After staying already 2 times for 2 weeks in Petrognano, we keep going back.
We are pulled in by:
the place :tidy and clean and full of all amenities you can think off like fully equipped appartment, swimming pool, BBQ, parking space,...;
the surroundings: splendid views, total calm and relaxation, fabulous evenings/nights, the real Tuscany atmosphere;
and the people: Sylvia, Laura, Cristiano, Andrea,.... all warm, friendly, helping and caring people, which we have come to call friends over time

If you are looking for a great place on top of the hill, surrounded by nature (boars, deer, hares.... are wondering around), away from our hectic society , yet very close to a lot of beaitful cities like Firenze, Fiesole, Arezzo, Siena,.... etc.. no need to look any further.
Book your stay and you will have a great experience, full of memorable moments.

A true gem in Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Petrognano has well equiped nicely appartment. We stayed at Stalla with 2 kids, 12 and 13 yrs old. Florence is 30 minutes away from the railroad station at 10 min driving.
Pool is really nice / extensive views, BBQ for your use as well.
We will come back here! Friendly and responsive staff. Badroom of Stalla appartment is small / but all is there. No airco, but did not miss it / this is a remodelled old building with thick walls.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b_klick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed for a week. Everything was perfect: the place is quiet and the view breathtaking; we took advantage of the garden by eating outside. Rooms are big and have comfortable beds and beautiful country style furniture. Everything is very clean and tidy. You can easily spot wild boars, roe deers and hares.
Mrs. Laura, the owner of the Agriturismo, lives near there and is always available and helpful.
If you want to visit Florence you can take the train at S. Ellero, which is few minutes far by car from the Agriturismo. The train journey only takes 25 mins and you arrive directly in the centre of the city.
If you enjoy being in the real Tuscan countryside, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medeaflutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Words can't describe how we felt once we arrived in Petrognano.
After a hot, hectic and tiring week in Venice, we welcomed Petrognano with a sigh of relief.
The clean and spacious villa with the outdoor pool, practically all to ourselves, was a dream come true for our teenage sons. We stayed at "il seccatoio" apartment, on the second floor with an outdoor veranda, where we enjoyed most of our meals, while being serenated by the distant church bells. The surrounding hills, the cypress and olive trees, the vineyard, the garden, the local wildlife (including a family of swallows that had just built a nest by one of the portico's high beams) provided a feast for our senses.
We ourselves are of italian origins, living in Canada. We wanted to travel to Italy to reconnect with our roots and in Petrognano is where we were embraced by the true italian spirit, ancient culture and excellence in living.
In Pontassieve (a nearby town) there's a Coop supermarket with a great selection of food, wine, beer and liquor, for those dinners at home. For a culinary experience that features fresh fish, try "Il Cantuccio". Another nearby town, Leccio, has the Mall, a shopping centre with all the best designe stores at outlet prices. St. Ellero's train can take you to Florence in 30 minutes; but the best kept secret is the Abbey in Vallombrosa.......
From Petrognano we took daily trips by car to: Assisi, Gubbio, Siena. At our own pace we immersed ourselves in their intricate history and mingled with the fabulous and friendly people of these towns. Our italian came very handy, especially when we wanted to dig deep in some history lessons, many store keepers and restauranteurs, however, speak english as well.
The owners of Petrognano: Andrea, Silvia and Laura Benelli are also fluent in english, but we preferred to practice our italian. In every aspect of our stay, they made us feel right at home.
Their olive oil, made from the very olives growing on the property, is a must try. As a matter of fact, we brought some home in Canada and everytime we use it on our salads, we're back in Petrognano.
Leaving Petrognano, Andrea and his family, was like leaving our own. Again, words can't describe our experience there, you have to feel it, live it and taste it for yourselves.
Grazie Petrognano, dei ricordi. A presto!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdalla_via
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Our stay at Patrognano could not have been more perfect. From the views of the town below to the view of the olive gardens and vineyards, this villa was spectacular! The villa apartments were modern yet retain that Italian charm. It was close to the train(but a car is neede to get down the hill) and other conveniences. Our host, Silvia, could not have been sweeter or more accomodating. It was just how I hoped it would be. Even the tennis court and swimming pool were wonderful.
I have a new "happy place" now, unfortunately, it is not very close to Ohio! I pray we will return someday......

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanne5427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Petrognano is great. Once we first got there, the whole family was there waiting to greet us. Sylvia, Andrea, Laura and baby. Andrea gave us a free bottle of olive oil as a welcome gift. Actually, later on, we ran out and asked to buy another bottle, but Laura was so gracious, she gave us another bottle. We stayed at the "La Nicchia" apartment which was comfortable and large. The Tuscany countryside was beautiful. We heard the wild boars at night, but no one was game enough to go and have a look! The road up was unpaved for a very short part in the beginning, but no worries, it was tarred the rest of the way up. There is a small wood barbecue on which we cooked our Florence T-bone steak. We bought it at the Central Market in Florence (must go). If you go to Florence, you should take the train. There is a train station about 5 min away, called the S. Ellero station. Shopping is the best in Florence - leather goods (just make sure it is made in Italy, not China). Actually, this is the best little place to stay at because it is so close to S Ellero. Not every town has a train station. We had to pay part of the stay upfront, and when we got there, we paid the balance. The mattress was a bit saggy, but it's ok. The pool was clean and sparkling. The weather was a bit cold for us, but if we wanted to, we could have jumped in. Internet access is great from our apartment. Just pay 10 Euro for the week. Kitchen is well equipped. There is tv, but we didn't have time to watch anything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#236 of 411 in Florence
155 reviews
Fattoria Il Milione
#66 of 302 in Florence
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agriturismo Savernano
#1 of 12 in Reggello
481 reviews
Agriturismo Podere Capiteto
#9 of 23 in Impruneta
32 reviews
Villa Aruch
#26 of 302 in Florence
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Petrognano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Petrognano

Property: Agriturismo Petrognano
Address: Via petrognano 37, Localita S.Ellero, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Petrognano is immersed in the heart of the Tuscan countryside amongst vineyards, olive groves and orchards. The complex is a recently restored and comfortably furnished antique farmhouse, composed of five apartments and surrounded by a splendid garden. Guests can enjoy a striking panorama, typical of the Tuscan hills, including a view of Vallombrosa and its antique abbey. A swimming pool and tennis court are at the guests disposal. Petrognano is an ideal base for visting the Tuscan art cities: Florence (only 20 minutes away by car), Arezzo, Siena and the Chianti region... The residential area is surrounded by a splendid garden with private spaces and a barbecue at the guests’ disposal. From the cottage you can enjoy a striking panorama, typical of the Tuscany hillside. There is also a tennis court with synthetic grass and a swimming pool surrounded by ample green space, a verandah furnished with tables and chairs, a laundry area with a washing machine, and parking spots. The environment is particularly adapted to those seeking absolute relaxation, but also to those who love to visit artistic and cultural centers such as Florence (twenty minutes by car), Arezzo (30 minutes), Siena (60 minutes), and the Chianti region (30 minutes). Seasonal products such as wine, extra-vergin olive oil and various types of fruit and vegetables produced directly by the farm are available for purchase on the premises. S. Ellero is 1.5 kilometers away (grocery stores, train station) and Donnini is 3.5 kilometers away (every type of store), Pontassieve, 7 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Petrognano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Petrognano Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing