We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Petrognano
Ranked #54 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Alpharetta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 5 July 2008

I recently booked the entire property for my husband's family reunion--there were about 25 of us. The location is excellent with a small train station close by (by car) and grocery stores and restaurants within close driving distances.
We were greeted upon arrival with such warm hospitality! Rosalina is their lovely manager who spoke excellent English and was completely accessible if we had any questions.

I cannot say enough about the property--every one of the apartments was beautifully decorated and well equiped with the things we needed. We felt as if we were staying in someone's personal residence and it was evident that Andrea and Silvia take great pride in their property.

When we first arrived, it was very hot and everyone was concerned about having no air conditioning. However, most of the windows had screens and the nights were pleasant--we also had fans which made a huge difference. The mornings and evenings were pleasant, and we often ate our breakfast on the patio outside of one apartment, la chiocciola which was away from the morning sun and over-looked the pool area. One apartment downstairs was particularly cool even in the heat of the day, (la Stalla) and all the bedrooms were on the same floor. Il Seccatoio had a larger refrigerator and a dishwasher as well as a great private balcony area. Our apartment, (Il Fienile) was beautiful, although the upstairs loft bedroom (ours) retained more heat and had no window to open at night. Petrognano has a number of fans which make a big difference, so we were fine sleeping at night.

One big plus is that there is a water purification system for the entire property and you can drink the water out of the tap. Towels are provided once per week. With a family of 5 and extra towel use for the pool, we found it necessary to wash towels mid-week. There is one small washer on the property available for 5 Euro/load and drying racks in each apartment.

The largest supermarket is the COOP in Pontassieve, about 10 minutes away. The train station is a great plus being so close but you still need a car to get around.

We loved Petrognano and would definitely enjoy going back again. Having been to Italy 7 times in the past 5 years, this was the nicest agriturismo we've been to, and we have stated at some of the best. It was a perfect spot for familes to be close, yet have their own privacy. All of the apartments are located in one building with common areas to gather together.

Agriturismo Petrognano is like a home away from home nestled between olive and fruit trees, vineyards and rolling hills inhabited by wildlife with views that will take your breath away. It was an honor to be the guest of an Olympic gold medalist --Andrea was preparing for his 6th Olympic games (China)--amazing!!
Everything about Petrognano is consistent with the excellence you would expect from an Olympic champion--thank you Andrea, Silvia (and your family who we often saw helping out) and Rosalina for your warm hospitality!

  • Liked — Location, facilities and hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Every year, our friends (9 adults; 4 kids...between the ages of 1 - 3 on this trip) try to take a vacation together. Every year... some are able to make the trip... and others not ... but this trip in Italy was the first time EVERYONE was able to come so it was important that this trip was going to be unforgettable.

The first half of our trip was in Rome then the second half in Tuscany/Florence. I had the difficult task of finding the accommodations in Tuscany. We typically stay in 4 star hotels but we wanted to experience something different. I found Agriturismo Petrognano through Trip Advisor. Because none of my friends nor I have been to Italy... I was planning this trip blindly. I read the great reviews that this place was given so I put my faith in those reviews... and I was fortunate that the previous reviews was on target. The place was beautiful AND the people/staff were just so great. Rosalina, who was our main contact during our stay, was THE BEST!... She was absolutely wonderful and just sooooo kind. It seemed like every time we had a question, all we had to do was call Rosalina and she was more than happy to assist us. At the end of our trip, saying good-bye to the place and Rosalina was really a sad moment. We felt we made a friend for life with Rosalina.

We were also able to meet Andre (the owner) and his lovely wife, Silvia who is a fantastic cook. We got an opportunity to sit down and have a meal in the main house as we arranged this ahead of time... and it was worth it. Andrea and Silvia made us feel welcomed and they were one of the most down-to-earth people we got to meet on our trip. Andre even signed a poster for the group which showed him winning the Olympic Gold Metal in Athens.

I hope people get an opportunity to experience what we experienced in Agriturismo Petrognano.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Tereese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed at the Agriturismo Petrognano as part of a large group spread across three appartments and had a wonderful time. The appartments are really well furnished and the views from the appartment are spectacular. You should definitely consider renting a car if you're staying at this property however as the train station in the village is very walkable but shopping for food without a car could prove awkward.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank _JW_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2007

We loved our stay at Petrognano. We were there with some close friends in May of 2007. Rosalina met us was more than helpful. She made sure we had everything we requested and more. The apartment was perfect for our stay with two bedrooms each with king beds. The kitchen worked out well although we seemed to eat most of our evening meals out we did eat breakfasts there everyday.

The grounds were great with the perfect Tuscan landscape of olives and vineyards. We had the pool, tennis court and bikes if we desired.

The farmhouse is about a kilometer from S. Ellerro and we would leave the car at the train station and take the train to Florence. From there we could go about anywhere we desired.

One highlight was the last evening Rosalina suggested a restaurant for dinner. It was about 5K away and was spectacular. You need to get her to book you into the place.

I would recommend Petrognano to anybody and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travislds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2006

We are a Norwegian family of four that have become very found of and regular customers at Petrognano. We have stayed at Petrognano for 1 to 3 weeks every summer since 2001 and can highly recommend this lovely place. We have during these years also stayed at other similar places in Tuscany and Umbria, but Petrognano is our clear favourite as the perfect place to stay and the best place to come back to. We like Petrognano because it is properly managed, the host and management are perfect, the apartments are clean and comfortable - with good beds, it does not have the bug problem we have experienced elsewhere, the swimming pool is nice, and you can sit outside your apartment enjoying the evenings, the scenery and the wildlife. Petrognano has a nice location in the hills and we have often seen dear, hare and other wild animals on the property. You can easily reach Florence by car or train (recommended from the small train station at St. Ellero with a free, large parking area). You can take your car to Siena, San Gimignano, Poppi, Arezzo, Pisa, Carrara, Lucca, etc. A stay at Petrognano would give you both a perfect residence as well as an easy access to the marvellous Tuscany sights and cultural highlights. We highly recommend an early visit to the nearby town of Pontassieve to enjoy the best pizza in Italy with Donato at Pizzeria Centrale, Via Garibaldi 44. The restaurant is close to the Pontassieve railway station. (Say Edvard from Norvegia recommended the place.)

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank 8-Fernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We stayed in "La Nicchia" this summer and we enjoyed ourselves very much!

The furnishings inside the appartment were of the highest quality and the appartment looked brand new! The facilites were great- a colour TV just to mention one of them!

The swimming pool was fantastic as it was big enough for seceral families to swim in at the same time and the pool maintenance was briliant as it was cleaned every morning.

I would reccommmend Agriturismo Petrognano to anyone wanting to enjoy a relaxing holiday in the florentine hills, surrounded by nature and wildlife which the owner, Andrea, showed us one evening! The wildlife doesn't just include hares and rabbits,but deer, wildboar and porcupines as well!

  • Liked — The high standards of cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — In the evenings, go to the barbeque area and look at the fields to the left of the barbeque, down the hiill-you are guaranteed to see deer or hares.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gibsonjhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Since we returned to Ireland following our 10 day stay in Agriturismo Petrognano in Tuscany, not a day has passed when we do not recall the enchanting time we all had.

On arrival we were greeted like long lost family by Andrea (owner) and Rosalina (Manager) prior to being shown to our beautiful 2 bedroomed appartment. The accomadation was spotlessly clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. We had a fully kitted kitchen with access to laundry facilities.

Advise and help was only ever a phonecall away (provided free of charge) by Rosalina whose English was word perfect. Rosalina, Andrea and his family were delightful and friendly, and simply mentioning the fact that you are his guest ensures almost "VIP" like status in surrounding restaraunts.

There are only a total of 5 appartments and all are equally stunning. The views are incredible with a small pool that was meticiously cleaned on a daily basis. Facilities for eating outside are provided to alllow to to enjoy the stunning sunsets. The flora and fauna of the farm was most interesting with wildlife in abundance both day and night. Andrea provided us with a tour of the farm at night which was a highlight for the children (and the parents).

Florence is close by, take the train, its fast, reliable and cheap. Florence itself is beaufiful but expensive and busy with tourists. Next year I will not be leaving the pool. Local co-ops provide reasonably priced local/fresh produce, while u are perfectly located to explore Chianti.

In our lifetime we have never returned to the same place for a family holiday, however such was our enjoyment that we intend to return next year for 2 weeks, but sssssh lets keep it a secret.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
17.4 mi away
Fattoria Il Milione
Fattoria Il Milione
#68 of 310 in Florence
110 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
15.8 mi away
Villa Aruch
Villa Aruch
#25 of 310 in Florence
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Capiteto
Agriturismo Podere Capiteto
#9 of 23 in Impruneta
32 reviews
15.6 mi away
Borgo de' Ricci
Borgo de' Ricci
#15 of 23 in Impruneta
32 reviews
18.8 mi away
Agriturismo Conca Verde
Agriturismo Conca Verde
#5 of 14 in Scandicci
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Petrognano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Petrognano

Property: Agriturismo Petrognano
Address: Via petrognano 37, Localita S.Ellero, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Petrognano is immersed in the heart of the Tuscan countryside amongst vineyards, olive groves and orchards. The complex is a recently restored and comfortably furnished antique farmhouse, composed of five apartments and surrounded by a splendid garden. Guests can enjoy a striking panorama, typical of the Tuscan hills, including a view of Vallombrosa and its antique abbey. A swimming pool and tennis court are at the guests disposal. Petrognano is an ideal base for visting the Tuscan art cities: Florence (only 20 minutes away by car), Arezzo, Siena and the Chianti region... The residential area is surrounded by a splendid garden with private spaces and a barbecue at the guests’ disposal. From the cottage you can enjoy a striking panorama, typical of the Tuscany hillside. There is also a tennis court with synthetic grass and a swimming pool surrounded by ample green space, a verandah furnished with tables and chairs, a laundry area with a washing machine, and parking spots. The environment is particularly adapted to those seeking absolute relaxation, but also to those who love to visit artistic and cultural centers such as Florence (twenty minutes by car), Arezzo (30 minutes), Siena (60 minutes), and the Chianti region (30 minutes). Seasonal products such as wine, extra-vergin olive oil and various types of fruit and vegetables produced directly by the farm are available for purchase on the premises. S. Ellero is 1.5 kilometers away (grocery stores, train station) and Donnini is 3.5 kilometers away (every type of store), Pontassieve, 7 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Petrognano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Petrognano Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing