We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for 1 night”
Review of Soggiorno Burchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soggiorno Burchi
Ranked #598 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The other reviews are bit harsh on here, I didn't find any of the problems that others did on here. It was the cheapest place for us, especially so close to the centre. So what if they don't speak much English, it's Italy!!! On the good notes, it was a great location, fairly quiet, clean enough. On the bad points, there was a problem with the online booking which didn't come through but he accommodated us anyway, we did have a mosquito in our room, and there was no air con as advertised

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

We booked three nights here but left after one. The floors and walls of our room were very dirty when we arrived, but it didn't seem to bother the woman showing us our room at all. There were squished mosquitoes all over the walls, which is never a good sign, but we decided to give it a try. There's no AC (although they advertise that they have it), which would be ok if Florence weren't overrun with mosquitoes in the summer. If you leave the windows open, you get eaten alive at night. If you close the windows, you bake. We couldn't sleep because the mosquitoes were so bad. I ended up with other strange red bites that weren't from mosquitoes... I don't know what. We decided to leave and find another place. The woman was not happy that we left, but she did finally let us go without threatening to charge another night or anything. We were paying 50 euros a night here (booked through hostelworld), and we found something much better, cleaner, and with AC for 65, which seemed like a good deal to us.

I thought the bed was decently comfortable and the sheets were clean, so if you don't mind a place that's a little dirty, maybe this would be an ok budget option at a cooler time of year. I wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamandSarah_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Horrible hotel/hostel. The room was dirty, found hair and nails that were not mine. Very loud noise from window when the hawkers dragged the carriges infront of bedroom in the early morning. The toilet was loose, almost fell off. The door could not be closed. Find somthing better and enjoy the beautiful city.
- As mentioned before, the close proximity to train station is very good though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartacu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I was only in Florence overnight, so having a place to stay close to the train station was important to me. The room was spacious enough, and clean. Everything was pretty basic, but adequate. The stairs up to the room looked shabbier than the room that I stayed in.

The owners don't speak much English (but do speak a lot of loud Italian). Probably not ideal if you're a light sleeper, but I think it added to the overall Italian experience. If you can get a good deal on a booking site I would recomend it - but the full price is not what I would consider good value for money.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
Thank jeva042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

horrible place, very dirty, during the night i was bitten by insects...terrible experience


avoid this place!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vigj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed in Soggiorno Burchi for two nights and were supposed to pay EUR 70 per night but were able to negotiate this down to EUR 55 at the end of our stay due to the inadequate facilities and service provided.

I would not recommend anyone to stay at this B&B since there are certainly other, better places to stay in Florence in this price range. First of all, this B&B is dark and noisy and the rooms (although moderately clean) are not well maintained. Second, the bathroom where we stayed during our first night did have a shower head but no cabin or anything so I had to take a shower above the toilet. After threatening to leave, we got another room with a proper shower cabin. However, water pressure was very low so taking a shower was a real hassle.

Finally, please note that Soggiorno Burchi and Soggiorno Livi are essentially the same B&B, being located in the same building and managed by the same people.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

Probably Dante's was guest of Soggiorno Burchi when wrote Divine Comedy's Inferno....An ants army welcoming you in the bathroom and room was cleaned last time by Leonardo Da Vinci: dust is everywhere!!! The location is closest to all attractions and for 10 euros/day you can have private covered parking but it's a place to avoid like plague.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank inoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#301 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#325 of 410 in Florence
241 reviews
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Annamaria
Soggiorno Annamaria
#317 of 410 in Florence
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#137 of 410 in Florence
664 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda Daniel
Locanda Daniel
#197 of 657 in Florence
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Burchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Burchi

Address: Via Faenza 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £51 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soggiorno Burchi 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soggiorno Burchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Burchi Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing