We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Providing endless memories!”
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aldobrandini
Ranked #237 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Providing endless memories!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Sure it's quirky. That's what makes it so special! Who needs more? Clean, well managed, with a SPECTACULAR location and an AMAZING history in one of the world's most interesting cities. You need to read the history of Florence and the Aldobrandini family to know how special this hotel is. Then -- if you don't mind my being coarse -- look out the window (from my bathroom's toilet) and appreciate Giotto's bell tower and the Duomo!

Room Tip: Rooms don't need a telephone and television when you are in Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeroKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    96
    70
    19
    9
See reviews for
13
107
68
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

First, let me say that I liked this place more than my wife. I thought it was clean and safe and I loved the fact that it was in the middle of everything you want to see in Florence. Walls were thick so you did not hear your neighbors conversations. By no means is this the Ritz... Technically it is a one star hotel in the European sense of the word and the owner is proud of his rating. He works hard keeping his hotel running and making everyone happy. My only con was that often we smelled cigarette smoking even though it was a non- smoking hotel. Like everyone - do take a picture of the front door or you will miss it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluedog1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Querétaro, Queretaro de Arteaga, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Perhaps our perception was biased because of how much we loved Florence, but we liked this hotel.

ADVICE:
To get to the hotel: Get a map in advance (or at the tourist office in fron of the Santa Maria Novella train station) and mark Piazza Aldobrandini, just next to the Museum of the Medici Chapel.
The building is reviewed here: http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palazzo_Aldobrandini
In florence:
1. Always ASK the price before even touching anything, nodding or sitting in a restaurant.
2. Make reservations in advance for places such as the Gallery of the uffici.
3. Omit most museums except for the gallery of the uffici, palazzo vecchio; save your euros/energy for other places like ponte vecchio Il Duomo.

Hotel Aldobrandini provides a good, budget-friendly option to travelers planning a short stay in Florence. It is housed in the third floor of a building in front of piazza aldobrandini, which creates a great atmosphere, it is halfway between the SMN train station and Il Duomo which is very convenient. The place is somewhat old and crowded (our room evidently did not have a bathroom originally and you could notice the very small bathroom had been recently built) Staff are most of the time friendly, but look tired and unwilling to do much. You can get maps and tourist advice at the front desk.

The breakfast is made by the front desk staff and coffee is not that good.

For Florence, price-quality wise, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is truly ideally situated close to everything that you want to see in Florence, the hotels entrance is amazing loved it. We paid a bargain price for location, the hotel was clean and breakfast sufficient , slept well considering we were in the heart of it all, our host was very friendly and most accommodating so if your looking for a couple of nights this is a budget stay and great location.......this the place .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

This is NOT a three stars hotel, it's a great budget hotel with all the tiny little problems that come with it, but the difference is that the people here are incredibly kind and helpful, that's what I want when I go to budget accomodations and that makes all the difference...
The rooms are great for the price and the breakfast included is more than welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel certainly has a bargain price for downtown Florence, minutes from the SMN train station and bus station and the Duomo square. I second the reviewers who said take a print out of the door so you can recognize it. It is located in the plaza with the Medici Chapel. Currently it is near a set of recycling containers and a 1 Euro store. You press a button and the staff open the door and interior gate for you. The daytime person at the front desk was consistantly very friendly and helpful, giving excellent recommendations on restaurants and local services. Upstairs is accessed by a spiral staircase that shakes as you walk up - definitely not recommended if you have a lot of luggage.

Although I didn't expect luxury from a one-star hotel, I was disappointed with the stay. The entire hotel is very run down. The "private bathroom" had hair on the seat - either poorly cleaned or used by other guests, and the toilet was basically falling apart. None of the drains in the sinks either in the room or bathroom functioned. You'd have to pull up on the cover and hold it until the water drained. The bathroom's soap and paper towel dispensers were empty the entire stay. I did not use the closet because it absolutely reeked when open - not a normal musky odor from older furniture but almost like something died in there. Sleep quality was very poor. You could hear everything in the rest of the hotel- from a TV on at midnight, to guests slamming doors and moving about at 6:30am. The last night of my stay, I was awakened by a loud crashing sound at about 5:30am. Since I was awake now, I went to use the bathroom. I was floored when the front desk clerk knocked on the door and told me I had closed the door to my room too loudly and was disturbing the other guests. The only reason I was awake in the first place was the horrible noise in the hotel, which continued briefly afterward - no idea where it was coming from. Breakfast was the poorest I experienced at a hotel in Italy - one or two rolls with jam, one or two croissants, coffee, and a small glass of orange juice. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doubutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

After reading the other reviews I am happy to say I did not come across any sullen smoking sisters in this hotel> I had a very pleasant experience the staff were very helpful and friendly (always a plus when you are a solo traveller) Room was fine I had an ensuite shower room it wasn't enormous but for the time I spent in it was perfectably acceptable. Word of warning take note of thepicture of the front of the hotel so you know what you are looking for when you arrive.. like previous travellers I was slighly perplexed for a few minutes when I couldnt find the entrance but then felt slightly foolish when I did find it. Great 24/7 security no chance of having unwanted guests wandering around. Breakfast was a delicious continental style affair. Its a GREAT location you just come out and you are in the midst of everything. Loved it would definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#277 of 422 in Florence
53 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#270 of 422 in Florence
91 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#159 of 422 in Florence
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#246 of 422 in Florence
227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#111 of 422 in Florence
451 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#166 of 422 in Florence
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Property: Hotel Aldobrandini
Address: Piazza di Madonna Degli Aldobrandini 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aldobrandini 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing