We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SanGaggio House
Nearby Hotels
US$380
US$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,137
US$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$249
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$656
US$637
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rapallo(Florence)
US$461
US$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$334
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$590
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
US$330
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
243
66
9
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
66
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bporta romanaponte vecchiocroissantsboboli gardensbus stopother guestsfirst morningbreakfast was deliciousquiet streetagostino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We spent 3 nights in October at SanGaggio would highly recommend this B&B. The location was perfect - in a quiet location, but close enough to get to all the main sights (20 minute walk from the centre & frequent buses). The rooms are very comfortable and I think for Florence it is reasonably priced.

Flaminia (the owner) was extremely friendly and helpful. She gave us great advice on all aspects of Florence and recommended some excellent local restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank tanya_withers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Flamina is incredible! She made my honeymoon- warmer than a pumpkin spice latte. She is absolutely precious. I can't wait to come back and experience the SanGaggio with my family. The B&B was clean, complete with a fresh breakfast and as many cappuccino's as your heart desires! I would go back in a heartbeat... such a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the city!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had the great pleasure of staying at San Gaggio House in September 2011.

We arrived on a very hot and humid afternoon, after getting off at the wrong bus stop: there are a few “San Gaggio” stops, 1, 3, 5 etc, which is not shown on the bus map, so one is inclined to get off at SG 1. But then it’s a long walk up a very steep hill and bit of a bother if you have luggage and hot weather! Nevertheless, we arrived an hour earlier than check-in time, and the owner Flaminia was absolutely accommodating and welcoming! Our room was not ready, but we were served refreshing iced tea in the lovely patio! We were also given maps and information on tours, and left our luggage in the guest house whilst we ventured into the city.

Location: close to the bus stop (take number 36 or 37) [and remember to get off at the correct stop!]. However, it is also very close walking distance into the city and River Arno. The buses run until very late at night. We bought a travel pass with 10 tickets.

Room: we stayed in “Florence 1” which overlooked the main road. It was very spacious and included everything we needed, especially air conditioning. The TV screen was a bit small (for a large room), but in fact we never had time to switch it on, so it didn’t really bother us.

Breakfast: was served in the outside patio overlooking the garden (which had some tasty “strawberry” grapes on offer!). Breakfast was a generous portion of what we came to expect for Italian breakfasts: croissants, nutella, yoghurts, cheeses etc. The best part, though, was the unlimited and excellent coffee on offer. Either filter (“American”) coffee is served, or Flaminia makes individual cappuchino, espresso, latte, etc etc. I could have stayed there all day drinking coffee on demand!

Tours: On arrival, Flaminia provided us with information on various tours. We decided on two day tours (great way of experiencing the Tuscan region, especially when time is limited), and Flaminia arranged with the tour company to transport us from the guest house to the bus station. This was most helpful and worked mostly well. Except for the first day, when we were waiting inside our room and missed the transport! (thankfully the buses start very early and we were able to catch our tour bus a minute before it was due to depart). On the second day, we waited outside on the staircase for our transport, and the driver drove right past us without even slowing down to see if we were around! We decided to then wait on the road (which seemed bizarre to us), and hoped that the driver would come by again. Which he did. But he did not say a word and just opened the door and we got it. For all we know, it could have been the mafia in disguise! All the same, it was wonderful having the convenience of these arrangements. PS There is no complimentary return transport from the bus station.

For information, the tours we did were: “Tuscany in a day” [covering Pisa, Siena and San Gimignano] and the Cinque Terre. Both were long days but definitely time and energy well-spent.

In summary about the guest house, Flaminia was an absolutely wonderful host and we could not have asked for anything more in Florence. We will definitely return and stay at San Gaggio House again.

Hint: on our first day in Florence, we overheard some tourists mention that the Accademia Gallery was having a late, special opening that evening, which was also free. And so we got to spend a LOT of time at the Accademia, without the queues and crowds and of course we saved a lot of money which was better spent on gelati. Not sure if there is a proper way of knowing when these special openings are, but definitely worth finding out before joining the queues in your quest to see the David.

Room Tip: Worth asking if there is a room with a view of the city. Would be awesome if this was possible, as the guest house is on the hilltop.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We really enjoyed this place.

We stayed for 1 night and the owner was very nice and handy with us, she showed us what to see in Florence and made us feel very confortable.

The bedrooms are clean and very confortable. It's the typical place for couples who want to enjoy the pleasure of being in Italy.

The breakfast was good,however, I would suggest another type of bread (not the plain and simple white bread from the supermarket) and more supplies. I think the price that we pay can give us a better breakfast, since Italy is a place known for its wonderful cuisine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangaggio, Proprietario at SanGaggio House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Guest thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you have spent a good time at our B & B. Give me the opportunity to underline once again that our breakfast is extremely rich of supplies and of great quality and daily appreciated by guests who pay rates a little bit higher than what you have paid for (infact you got one of our best room with a special last minute rates). I emphasize that our breakfast consists of milk, yogurt, cereal, toasted bread, butter, pastries, fruit, orange juice, water, jelly, honey, nutella, hot chocolate, chees, coffee, cappuccino, espresso, american coffee, tea, and those are all things of excellent quality. The bread used is of the highest quality and of course for sandwiches or toast (the Tuscan law doesn't allow us to do differently).
Also I am sure that you have appreciated the fact to accommodate you in everything you needed, as it was when at 1.00 am (at night) you called the owner to have access to Internet WI-FI and the day after you said you have not used it.
Finally I can assure you that the quality of our breakfast, our services and the availability of the owner are worth much more than the price you have paid for.
Glad to have you back in our B&B, and thank you again for your review.
Flaminia Fiorucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

If you haven't heard enough praise about Flemina, Im here to offer more. What an amazing hostess! My husband and I were greeted and taken to the beautiful patio with some tea and sat with Flemina as she gave us so much helpful information about Florence. We had booked a Cinque Terre hike tour the following day and she put together a bag with breakfast goodies. She called a cab for us on one of the days we went to venture through tuscany. My only regret is that we didn't spend enough time resting in and enjoying it as we had planned. With all the tours we had planned and the hours we were out, we spent more money than we should have for just a bed. Next time, we'll definitely stay in and enjoy a peaceful stay that this B&B offers so easily!!

Room Tip: The bottom floor (with stone wall) is adorable but the door faces the patio and we had someone in the middle of the night trying to enter in our room mistakenly thinking it was the entrance. Just a heads up!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews