We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alan & saleen”
Review of SanGaggio House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SanGaggio House
Ranked #118 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“alan & saleen”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Our stay at the SanGaggio House was wonderful nothing was to much trouble to Flaminia.
she was a very helpful hostess. we will definitly return. The breakfast was a lovely start to each day, although on the down side we only had a few days stay, week would have been better but i think the children would have complained when we got home

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    61
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
215
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August for a few nights, and I feel compelled to let Americans know about our stay. So many people have rated this B&B 5 stars, and I think that is overly generous. Granted Faminia was nowhere to be found and we were hosted by Lawrence, which may have attributed to the different experience. Lawrence was very nice and helpful providing directions and getting reservations, and his English sufficed although it was limited. The breakfast was very mediocre compared to what we are used to at other B&Bs. Although we were the only guests, Lawrence never asked what we preferred, so we ate very little. He provided a large buffet of the same items each day, so the pastries were more stale each day and there were fewer yogurt flavors to choose fromaccompanied by bad coffee and cheap packaged cold cuts. Part of the reason we stayed here was to enjoy the nice breakfast we'd read about in earlier reviews, so this was a big disappointment.
One of the most unexpected things about this inn was the distance to town. We had been told it was an easy 10-min. walk. We are healthy hikers, and we found that it took us 20 mins. to the edge of downtown and 30 mins. to the museums. The route from town to the B&B is completely uphill and includes one very steep hill upon which the inn sits. You can catch a taxi or bus, but it is not easy to take a break and go back to the B&B to rest or refresh. Also buying bus tickets and navigating the bus routes is an experience of its own. Lawrence told us we could buy bus tickets on the bus, but when we asked about this, other people looked at us like we were crazy. You actually need to buy tickets at a tabacco shop. Noone actually checks for your tickets on the bus, but we were told that police radomly board the buses to check. We did see a part of Florence that many people overlook since were so far out of town. We did not have a car, so one day - being tired of the bustling city - we set out through the countryside on foot and discovered Galileo's home, the observatory, and a couple of charming tiny roads and towns.
The B&B is very charming and our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was plain and simple, good size with a shower. We had a view from the bedroom of the hillside towards town and some of the neighboring houses. Our first night was absolutely miserable. We never could get the AC to work well, so it was stifflingly hot (August) the first night, and bearable the next two nights. In addition, someone had opened the windows prior to our arrival and let in dozens of big mosquitos. We finally killed all of them by the second night. My husband is allergic to mosquitos and had big welts on his body. The room had a little refrigerator that was cold enough to cool down our drinks and was stocked with some beverages and snacks. There was also a bottle of red wine available for purchase for a reasonable amount and some delicious tea (bags) available downstairs. The day we left Lawrence helped us with a cab and was kind enough to give us a bottle of red wine to take with us. I think others who are used to finer accommodations will be disappointed with the features I've mentioned above. Next time we definitely opt to stay closer to or in the center of town.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the hillside; the main floor rooms are nice if you have a lot of luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed a few nights here to start our trip in September, and had such a nice stay. The place is clean, the room is nice, but far and away the best part was Flaminia, who prepared an amazing breakfast every day and was such a great hostess all around. Very friendly, and helpful. She pointed out all the best places to eat, to visit, etc, she was awesome!! It was a liiiiiiiiiiiittle expensive, but you aren't going to find a place for much cheaper, especially not as nice as this. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSA314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September and we really enjoyed it. Faminia is an excellent hostess and served us fresh home-made croissants in the morning on the cozy terrace. Our room was on the first main floor and was roomy and well appointed, just like the pictures. The air conditioning was nice on the one day it was rather warm. Beautiful view from the room.
The location is great, a nice quiet neihborhood with a bus route to the city at the end of the street. We also enjoyed the walk to the Pitti Palace and Ponte Vecchio, it was a beautiful fall day and gave us a chance to see the area. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor, to the right from the vestibule and in the back and it was just like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed 6 nights here. The room is pretty and very clean, has its own bath/shower. Breakfast is fantastic! Amazing homemade pastries, juice, milk or cereal. Kept us full until lunch! Within 10 minutes walk to downtown, bus stop nearby. I highly recommend this B&B, it is outside of the hustle and bustle of the city but close enough to walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in Oct and we had a great time. The house is in a very elegant neighborhood and took us 10 min by taxi fom the train station which wasn't bad at all.
We were given the basement room and were a bit apprehensive at first given the review we'd seen about that room on tripadvisor. But we were thrilled to have this room..it's beautifully appointed, very clean and had a little alcove wardrobe for storage. It also has huge French doors that open on to a beautiful veranda and garden which is great to chill out in when the weather is good.

Flaminia was just an outstanding hostess..she helped secure tickets for Uffizi and the Academia for us as we'd left this too late and were in a bit of a mess. She makes amazing breakfast and we had fresh croissants and fresh pastries on both days which was just brilliant! She is also extremely helpful and suggested some brilliant restaurants for us to try (highly recommend Trattoria Ruggero!).

The only thing I will say is that the B&B is a bit of a walk from the city centre (about 25-30 min walk) especially on the way back after a long day but the taxis are a good option and not too expensive (10-15 Euros).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivaldoisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackney, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and it was a throughly enjoyable experience.
Faminia frequently asked if she could aid us in any way.
She secured reservations at Galleria degli Uffizi and Galleria dell' Accademia, which saved us alot of time.
Faminia also made suggestions and secured reservations at 2 wonderful 'non-tourist' restaurants. Just tell her what kind of food you enjoy.
Breakfast was a treat with fresh pastry and a nice selection of fruit etc. Very relaxing on the backyard terrace.
Faminia was very engaging with all her guests. We were impress with her command of both english and french.
Location is convenient to mass transit ans parking was readily available.

Room Tip: From what we could see any room would be a good choice. Ours was on the street side but it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#184 of 422 in Florence
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Betania
Hotel Villa Betania
#79 of 422 in Florence
520 reviews
1.7 mi away
I Parigi
I Parigi
#93 of 675 in Florence
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villino il Leone
Villino il Leone
#216 of 675 in Florence
146 reviews
2.1 mi away
Leone X Guest House
Leone X Guest House
#23 of 675 in Florence
225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Grillo di Firenze
Il Grillo di Firenze
#21 of 675 in Florence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SanGaggio House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SanGaggio House

Property: SanGaggio House
Address: Viale Cardinal Leopoldo 62, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SanGaggio House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SanGaggio House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangaggio House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing