We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and relaxed stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Accademia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Accademia House
Ranked #272 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and relaxed stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Accademia House 4 yrs ago and liked it so much we decided to return with our kids (ages 15, 13, 10). The rooms are very spacious, especially for the 3 kids. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and quiet and AC is good. Location is great, close to the market, in a safe and quiet area. Marco is a great host. He speaks fluent English and is very helpful with directions, bookings and recommendations. He is very relaxed and was great with our kids. It felt like we were visiting an old friend. For breakfast, Marco gives you vouchers for the cafe across the street. A basic breakfast - coffee/tea, croissants or sandwich. Overall great value - I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardycarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    52
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
125
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Marco was great! He gave us some great recommendations on restaurants and things to do. We really liked having breakfast available at the cafe across the street- it was fast and very convenient and offered a true Italian feel because most people going there were Italian, not tourists. The A/C worked well and is definitely much appreciated in June!
The one thing I would mention is that we didn't get new towels on a daily basis. This isn't a big deal for me, but my mom always like to have new towels every day which is the only reason I mention it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My 23 year old daughter and I stayed with Marco at the Accademia house May 2-5 and we could not be happier with our accommodations. It bears repeating how helpful Marco is with making museum reservations and recommendations . His suggestions were spot on in terms of what to expect at a museum (Uffizz- rooms upon rooms of Madonna and Baby paintings), we couldn’t help but chuckle every time we saw a rendition of the painting in another city. He had suggestions for us on where to wander and what to see, where to eat, our favorites- Piazzale Michelangelo, the walk up the hill is not to be forgotten and the sunset is worth the effort , Gusta Pizza is amazing, you can feel the passion that the owner has for good food. We watched as the pizza makers furiously made pie after pie and still took the time to slip a local boy an olive as a special treat while he watched them work, delightful.
The hotel is in a extremely safe neighborhood a quick walk from the train station and to the center of town. The breakfasts across the street at the café were tasty and just enough to start the day. You eat among the neighborhood professionals who pop in for a morning espresso or pastry, it was great to feel like you were part of the morning routine. There was also a friendly little bar down the corner. We made that our last stop nightly we sat among the locals and planned the next day’s adventure. We stayed in the Modern room, it was set up to our specifications, it was clean, the shower had wonderfully hot water and great pressure, the beds were comfortable and we slept soundly, being safe and secure, knowing Marco was close by. When we had a question, he was always close by with an answer. Florence was the first stop of our Italian adventure because of the hospitality of Marco at Accademia House and the friendly atmosphere we will return and we will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoutnBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This place is fantastic! The owner, Marco, takes a personal interest in you having a good time and makes sure you know all the good spots to eat and drink. It is beautifully renovated, clean and the room we stayed in was big enough to really spread out. It is located really close to all the good bits of Florence, and even though it looks a bit far away, remember that Florence is really small. Accademia house is close enough to pop bvack to for the forgotten camera...Will definitely be going back there at some point.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at the Accademia House for 3 nights in the Modern Room. Very spacious, very clean. Comfortable queen size bed. Nice Linens and extra pillows and blankets. Nice hot shower with great water pressure. Lots of closet and storage space. Extremely secure...we are talking locked front gate, locked lobby entrance and locked door to our room + hidden safe. There are no worries here with safety.

Marco met us as promised on arrival. Room delivered in perfect condition. Sat down with us, made personal recommendations for dinner places, gave us advice, drew all over the map to help us out. Marco is a good and honest person. Great personality and sharp sense of humor. He trusted us and we trusted him...as it should be. Bravo Marco. I hope you continue to do well. You deserve it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler00156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

I would recommend Accademia House to anyone who wishes to visit Florence. The room we stayed in (the Modern Room) was great, very clean and quiet. But the best part of the experience is Marco, the manager of the hotel. He is very friendly, speaks perfect english, and is helpful with suggestions on where to go and what to eat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagebaggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Big cozy clean room with beautiful decoration, well looked after and a vaulted brick ceiling creating the perfect florentine atmoshere. Location is a great advantage as it is few minutes walking distance from the historic centre and on the same time remains quiet. Having breakfast in local cafes is also great, much better than being in large halls eating standardised things. Last but not least, Marco the host is so helpful, so nice and cool person. He gave us a lot of good tips, pointing out what to do, see, eat. He was always willing to help and answer to all of our questions. We will definately visit again Accademia House. One of best places we stayed being abroad.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neria30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Accademia
Hotel Accademia
#232 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sampaoli
Hotel Sampaoli
#313 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Sangallo
Residenza Sangallo
#348 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia House

Property: Accademia House
Address: Via San Gallo 61, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Accademia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing