We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accommodation and fantastic host!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Accademia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Accademia House
Ranked #241 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation and fantastic host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Florence on the train from
Rome, in the middle of a warm day. From SMN station, it was roughly a 15 min walk to Accademia House. This proved to be a slight challenge, as we wheeled our suitcases through the narrow footpaths of Florence under the midday sun! Marco was kind enough to help us carry our suitcases up the stairs and gave us a few minutes to get settled in our rooms and freshen up before the formal check in. He then proceeded to provide us with a map of the city and a very comprehensive list of recommended places to visit, things to do and good local restaurants.
We were in the classic room, which was neat, clean and comfortable, as was the en suite bathroom. We had a key to our room as well as to the front door, so we were free to come and go as we pleased.
The house is centrally located, with most of Florence's main tourist attractions within easy walking distance. The neighbourhood was quiet and we felt safe walking around, even at night.
Breakfast from the cafe across the road was nice, if slightly on the 'light' side, but we found that a pastry and coffee was the typical Italian breakfast and the same thing was offered at all of our other Italian accommodations. In any case, we were more than happy to leave room for the substantial and delicious lunch offerings that are available around town!!
We loved Florence and we loved Accademia House, and would be happy to recommend it. Marco does a wonderful job!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    52
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
123
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We felt very welcome on arrival at Accademia House - Marco was a terrific host with a great sense of humour and a willingness to help in any way possible. We were very grateful that he made some phone calls on our behalf to confirm some tours that we'd booked. Our room was very spacious with view to the street below... The bed was comfortable and the room was neat and tidy. Accademia House proved to be a welcome change from the sterility of international hotels that we're used to. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Marco was quick to reply to all of my email queries. Unlike some previous posts before about not being able to check in, Marco was flexible to my requests despite having changed our arrival time several times. We stayed at the Antiq room, which was able to accomodate the 3 of us. The shower was spacious, rooms were good. Although we were disturbed the first night by the street noise. Marco's very enterprising - didn't have in-house facilities for breakfast, but gave us coupons for a generous breakfast at the cafe opposite the b&b instead. Marco was very entertaining, informative and helpful - he gave us a map of florence and answered all our questions on where to go, what to do, etc. Many good recommendations from him on trattorias too, especially Trattoria La Burrasca. Free wifi available. Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: if you want a quieter room, ask for the ones facing the courtyard. Will be less bright, but definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Accademia House is a great place to stay. We were there for a week in October of 2011 and then returned for another night later in our trip. Our room (the Studio) was large and the bathroom is new. We found the location to be excellent for our needs. The internet worked perfectly and we enjoyed having a kitchenette although we basically used it to keep cold drinks and fresh fruit. We loved the little balcony where we could watch the neighborhood activity. Marco provided excellent dinner recommendations throughout our stay.

Now a bit about Marco Viti. My hero! We arrived in Florence 6 hours late as our flight was diverted to Genoa due to bad weather. With no access to a phone we were unable to call Marco for a couple of hours to let him know our status. When we finally spoke to him he had figured it all out and assured us he would be available whenever we arrived.

After first fearing for our lives on a roller coaster plane ride, a long wait at the Genoa airport in an area without phone access, and a very long bus ride from Genoa to Florence we finally arrived jet lagged, exhausted and hungry. No problem! Marco was there to greet us, set us up in our room, and found us a nearby late night restaurant. Ahhhhhh. Then I realized – I had left my carry on in the dark cab. I didn’t even have a toothbrush. I always count our bags but this time had forgotten. Being so exhausted, I was almost in tears.

Here is the bit where you learn why Marco is my hero. Allora! No problem! Marco immediately got on the phone and the bag was delivered by the driver within 20 minutes. I am quite impressed with the calm and easy way he handled my little crisis. Marco is a very warm, open, big hearted man. He will tell you some great stories. He will make you laugh, and most of all – he will make sure you are comfortable. Marco Viti will see us again at Accademia House.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christe_A_DeLandFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassville, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Best place ever! The people are super nice, the room was large, fresh and clean, it is in the best part of Florence, great breakfast, did I mention I loved this place? Oh, and it was very reasonable! And there is a great gelato place across the street. Stay here!!

Room Tip: We had the room in the very front. Private but could be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauri5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Accademia House was a find. Great location, excellent host, and wonderful rooms. This is a place to stay if you are not comfortable in big hotels. Great personalized service, good rooms, and on a quiet street that is so close to everything.

Marco Viti is big bonus. He was friendly, helpful and knowledgable. It was like staying with a family friend in Florence.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldMillSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

First off - Marco was a great host, he gave us a detailed map when we arrived and marked down places and restaurants that were a must see during our visit to Florence. The place was clean, and we felt we were in a safe neighbourhood.
We stayed in the Studio on the top floor which was apparently a newer addition to the rental choices. The Studio had a kitchenette, which Marco asked us not to use ( however, we did use the fridge) I think he was trying to cut down on the cleaning that would be required if we used the kitchen, but our price for the studio was more expensive than the other units - and it was mainly because it did include the option of a kitchen!
The whole unit was very, very basic and plain. I say this because the photos on the site are for his other units which look more colorful and more decorated.
There were some photos that hadn't been hung up on the wall, they were just leaning against the wall and the bedroom was very sparse.
The bathroom was larger than some of the place we stayed at in Italy, but just had the shower. The shower unit was so small that turning around in it was a pain.
The wireless internet had a hard time reaching the 2nd floor and we only could pick up the internet when we were leaning up against the wall, right by the entrance. Not the most convenient location.
We stayed here for our honeymoon and found it less than what was advertised on their website. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PureLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#123 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Accademia
Hotel Accademia
#242 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
San Marco
Relais Dante e Beatrice
Relais Dante e Beatrice
#201 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia House

Property: Accademia House
Address: Via San Gallo 61, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Accademia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing