We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the Best Experience”
Review of Villa Baldasseroni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Baldasseroni
Ranked #164 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My family of nine (including two small children) enjoyed wonderful hospitality by Michael and Alessandra Griffiths in their remarkable 14th century luxury villa. If you're looking for "authentic Tuscany" this is it....A bit isolated (40 minutes from Florence) a car would be nice. However, Michael arranged taxis and private limos for us to local restaurants (SUPERB) and to Florence. The villa has beautiful grounds, a pool, and many bedrooms and bathrooms that easily accommodated our family. Both hosts speak English fluently so it's a bonus. We will definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kesslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I wanted to "live" in Tuscany to enjoy the Italian life style. We were fortunate to have excellent weather in May and found our perfect home, the charming Villa Alzato Baldasseroni, located in Lucignano, near San Casciano di Pesa. The villa is a charming, comfortable, and interesting place with much history.

We visited the local outdoor markets and shops daily to buy our food and wine so we that we could prepare our own food at our own apartment at the Villa. The local Italians were friendly and helpful, making our stay most enjoyable. Every morning we threw open the shutters, and the tuscan sun streamed into the Villa and its’ gardens. And it was a glorious start to the day.

Our hosts, Michael and Alessandra were gracious and helpful providing daily suggestions on places to visit and what to see once there. They even made arrangements for a visit to a local vineyard , suggested restaurants, and invited us to a Baroque Concert in the Castle, making this night a highlight of our visit.

The Villa's location made day trips to Florence, Volterra, Sienna, Lucca and many other small towns very easy and allowed us to enjoy a casual restful pace.

During our two weeks stay, we met many of the residents and quickly felt at home, part of beautiful Tuscany, among warm welcoming friends. We hope to return, and can highly recommend a stay in Villa Alzato Baldasseroni

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This was our second trip to Villa Balbasseroni with family and was a wonderful week in Tuscany. This time we stayed in the Main Apartment, the additional space with 6 adults was welcome. The Villa is shabby chic - at times more shabby than chic - but it is a beautiful property perfectly situated within a short drive of most places of interest in the area. The pool is also a welcome addition when the temprature soars! Alessadra and Michael are great hosts and it is truly wonderful staying somewhere with so much history. The addition of free wi-fi was a hit amongst the techie people in our crowd. This place is good value for money and offers an opportunity to really "live" in Tuscany - having a full kitchen in which to cook all the wonderful produce from the area is also great.

Our only bug bear was having to fork out 90 euro for the cleaning service at the end of out stay when it was clear that the apartment hadn't been given a serious clean in quite some time. They would do better to simply include this amount in the initial quote. Otherwise, a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We (I and 4 other women) have just returned from 2 weeks in Tuscany. It was the trip of a life time, but what made it even more enjoyable was our choice of accommodation. We stayedat the Villa Baldasseroni, a magnificent place wih beautiful grounds, you could spend an entire day just wandering through the acres of beautiful gardens,however, it was the host and hostess, Michael & Alessandra that made it truly memorable. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating. From directions on how to get places to cooking lessons with Alessandra or for wonderful stories of the old villa and delightful stories of how they met, they entertained us many evenngs over a glass of wine. We had originally booked accommodation nearer to Florence but when we arrived found it wasn't suitable. We contacted Michael and explained the situation; they were all set to close for the season and go into Florence, but very kindly offered us to stay. They saw to it our "Granary" was clean and ready for us on very short notice, supplied us with clean towels and beddng more often than necessary and even provided us with soup and delicious chocolate cake all home made by Alessandra. I can't say enough about these wonderful people or the beautiful Villa and would recommend to anyone visitng Tuscany to stay at the Villa Baldasseroni.
Catherine Soglo, Vancouver, BC Canada

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassie075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Our family of myself,husband, two children aged 11 and 8 and Grandma are just returned from a magical week at Villa Baldasseroni.
We stayed in the less formal though still lovely Granary apartment. The villa is evocative of EM Forster's "A Room with a View" and if you are searching for a taste of not only authentic Tuscany but also real style and character then this may be the place for you. The Granary has a beautiful main bedroom overlooking the rose gardens and the rolling Tuscan countryside beyond and really exceeded expectations.
The owners, Michael and Alessandra live in another part of the villa and are always on hand to help. On arrival Alessandra welcomed us with refreshing lemon tea made with lemons from the garden and Michael took us himself to the local shop (also quintessentially Italian) where we bought fresh pesto, olives and bread.
The children loved the pool which we had pretty much to ourselves as well as searching for tortoises in the garden.
This is not a "boutique" villa in that the bathroom and kitchen are not brand new however they are clean and practical and there is endless and copious hot water for shower and bath.
In summary the villa (as are it's owners) welcoming, lovely, full of character, beauty and true style.
Florence is only 40 minutes away, Michael will help with directions if you ask and gave us a great route straight to Piazza Michaelangelo offering a fabulous vista over Florence as you drive in. San Gimigano is about 30 minutes away and we drove over one evening, lovely sunsets and cooler and quieter than during the day. Italian market with fresh fruit, vegetables et al 10 is minutes drive away as is a very nice supermarket.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KirstineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Four of us stayed in the Granary Apartment for two weeks in May. The villa was the perfect place for us and made us feel that it was our home away from home. We enjoyed having a full kitchen so that we were able to try our hand at preparing Tuscan meals in the evenings when we did not go out to one of the restaurants in the nearby villagge of San Pancrazio. It was a perfect central location in Tuscany from which we easily traveled by car to Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Greve in Chianti, as well as many other locations. We did not travel to Pisa or Lucca, but it would have been an easy drive from the villa. As many others have said, Michael and Alessandra were great hosts. The grounds are lovely, the view spectacular, and you can easily walk to local market and deli/restaurant in nearby San Pancrazio.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotraveldontyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Wow - what a fabulous experience, one that we'll never forget. If you're looking for the quintessential "Tuscan villa", then this is it. The accomodation, setting, host and facilities were all first class. We spent 2 weeks in the main apartment which had plenty of room for our 2 children (both under 5), Mum, Dad, Grandma and our small dog. Alessandra was very helpful, providing a "welcome meal" on our first night and Michael provided some excellent recommendations for ceramics & things to see in the local area and he made for a delightful host. The villa is extremely well located, being close enough to Florence and within an easy drive to Sienna and other locations in between. Would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandy6005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#156 of 409 in Florence
2,040 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,557 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
55 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,865 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Baldasseroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Baldasseroni

Address: 56 via Lucignano | Montespertoli, 50025, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Baldasseroni, a historical Tuscan Villa, situated midway between Florence and Siena, offers unique opportunities for exploring Tuscany from the comfort of a quiet country villa with its garden park and swimming pool. We are able to arrange special tours and visits to some of Tuscany's best known wineries, and history of art courses at the British Institute of Florence. Preferential rates exist for stays of up to a month or more, and the Villa is also available for longer term lets for people on assignment to Universities, like the European University Institute in Florence, or foreign companies with operations in Tuscany. The Villa is managed and run by Alessandra Baldasseroni, the owner of the property, her husband, Michael Griffiths, a British national, and their daughter Tessa, who works for the International School of Florence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing