We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect place in beautiful Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Baldasseroni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Baldasseroni
Ranked #150 of 298 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a perfect place in beautiful Tuscany”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to have just had 10 perfect days at villa baldasseroni in Tuscany. Michael and alessandra were perfect hosts, the villa is old and lots of character and history, the surrounding villages are beautiful. We loved every minute of it, especially the open log fire at night and the amazing views from every window. We hope we will be back. Westerberg family. Perth. West Australia ..jan. Rita. Sue. And dulcie

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jan008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We just came home from our second visit to the Villa Baldasseroni! Both visits were undescribable! Michael and Alessandra are really wonderful people and they make you feel at home. The house is so beautiful, with the swimming pool and the garden and the cute turtles walking around the patio. The house is everything you could expect from a luxury Tuscan villa, it's like staying in a home, not a hotel. We were six people, three generations of family, travelling together and everyone of us enjoyed our stay just as much. The location is great! A quiet and relaxing atmosphere and only a five minute walk away from a cute little shop where you can buy the most essentual, but a supermarcado is only a short drive away. The local area and village have some great resturants and a nice bar. The nice town of San Casciano is only a 10 minute drive away (with a wonderful street-market every monday). Only a half-an-hour drive to Firenze (Florence). All in all this villa is a perfect place to stay in Tuscany, and you also get to meet two of the cutest people you will ever meet. Michael and Alessandra are perfect hosts who really care about their visitors! I would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelFirenze g, Proprietario at Villa Baldasseroni, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you very much for your report and kind words about Villa Baldasseroni and for the photo album you sent us which will be enjoyed by other visitors to the Villa, we are very pleased you want to return next year! Warmest wishes Michael and Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently stayed in beautiful Villa Baldasseroni - we had an amazing time!!. We already loved "the look" of the villa when we found and studied :) the website, but we were very impressed with the actual spaciousness and "the feel" of the place when we arrived!

It was very nice to meet Michael and Alessandra who were very helpful and made us al feel welcome! It was lovely to check out all the rooms and to learn about the history of the house! It is an incredible place with so much history!

We stayed here with 8 adults and 6 children (kids ranging in age from 2 to 12) and.we all had plenty of space. Space to relax, space to enjoy each others company, having fun and enjoy the fantastic swimming pool and beautiful gardens (loved the turtles too!). The villa is in an ideal location for fantastic day trips - Sienna, Pisa, San Gimignano (my favourite), Lucca (riding bikes on the city wall!), Florence (very busy) and plenty more...

Thanks for making our holiday extra special!
Sylvia en Tijn Agerbeek

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syl_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from a fantastic week at villa baldasseroni. We stayed in the main apartment and took our two kids with us - aged 2ys and 8 months. We also went with some friends that have a 2 year old and 3 month old.

The villa is brilliant and is just as it appears on the website. It's well laid out and has enough private space for both families staying in 4 rooms with separate bathrooms. Its a lovely mixture of family home and luxury Tuscan villa. The villa is surprisingly child, and importantly toddler friendly. Also, the walled garden is lovely and enclosed so the kids could run around safely. There are also about 30 tortoises in the garden which the kids (and my wife,)loved! The pool is also nice and enclosed for the kids (if a bit cold in may!)

The local area is perfect - the village has a bar, shop and some great restaurants. Michael and Alessandra suggested some places to go on the first day and they were all excellent. They also arranged a private tour of the cellars and wine tasting for us at Tenuta Il Corno and lunch after at Corno Di Vino just outside the village which was brilliant and in walking distance. The restaurant is again very child friendly as the owner has two toddlers, and the food and wine are fantastic. The other restaurant in the village is exceptional (Casalta). The fresh pasta with truffle was my favourite and my wife liked the crayfish tagliatelle.

There is a local market town with playground, shops, supermarket etc and the villa is very close to florence and has easy access to sienna and the other sights of Tuscany. We didn't make it to those places as our son was I'll, but our friends managed day trips easily to most places.

Michael and Alessandra were perfect hosts and were always hand to help or to give advice where needed. Their suggestions of where to go and what to do were brilliant. They kindly arranged some food shopping for us on the day of arrival as we got in late as well as a lovely evening meal. Later in the week Alessandra also cooked us a pizza! We also thoroughly enjoyed chatting to them about the house, it's history, and them. Most importantly our 8 month old had tonsillitis and Alessandra was fantastic in taking us to a local doctor and getting him seen to straight away, Including translating for us.

There is an additional lovely apartment upstairs which sleeps 4 plus so there's flexibility if you have a larger party and need more room.

All in all the perfect holiday for a family with kids - something for everyone. We've been back for 3 days and we are already organising our return in 4 months time!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin_Heaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Michael and Alessandra are wonderful, and they really went out of their way to make us feel at home - driving us to the store for groceries our first night so we'd know where the grocery store is, making dinner reservations, and inviting us into their home for pre-dinner drinks and conversation. They are absolutely wonderful, the villa is historic and has everything you need - wifi, kitchen, washing machine, and even a pool. The grounds are beautiful, and it's a great place to use as a base for exploring Tuscany. Thank you Alessandra and Michael for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our family (6 people, 2 kids and grandparents) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Baldasseroni. The accomodations were a perfect fit. We had lots of space to either sit quietly and read or be all together enjoying a meal. The grounds were spectacular and after a hot day touring the countryside the pool was an extra special feature that we all enjoyed. The girls enjoyed the tortoises and the pet cats who were great company.

Our rooms were perfect and we loved the ceiling in the master bedroom. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make meals. It was nice to be able to wash our clothes in the machine. There is free WiFi and satellite TV if you so desire. The decor was lovely. We enjoyed sitting in the garden in the evening and could see stars for miles.

We felt welcomed by our hosts Michael and Alessandra from the beginning with a wonderful homemade pizza. They made sure to help us with any directions or tips on sites to visit whenever we needed. And they entertained us with many stories of their life at the Villa.

It was an easy drive to Pisa, Lucca, San Giamigano, Sienna, and Volterra from the villa. Great location to tour the Tuscan area. Also enjoyed the little village San Pancrazio which had a small corner store and the close town San Cassiano had everything else we needed with a market and grocery store. There are many choices for eating out in and around the area. Food was always wonderful.

Everywhere we turned was a beautiful picture and our stay was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpeedKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
495 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My family of nine (including two small children) enjoyed wonderful hospitality by Michael and Alessandra Griffiths in their remarkable 14th century luxury villa. If you're looking for "authentic Tuscany" this is it....A bit isolated (40 minutes from Florence) a car would be nice. However, Michael arranged taxis and private limos for us to local restaurants (SUPERB) and to Florence. The villa has beautiful grounds, a pool, and many bedrooms and bathrooms that easily accommodated our family. Both hosts speak English fluently so it's a bonus. We will definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kesslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
390 reviews
Villa Jacopone
#8 of 298 in Florence
178 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Aruch
#24 of 298 in Florence
173 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
2,663 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Baldasseroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Baldasseroni

Property: Villa Baldasseroni
Address: 56 via Lucignano | Montespertoli, 50025, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 298 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Baldasseroni, a historical Tuscan Villa, situated midway between Florence and Siena, offers unique opportunities for exploring Tuscany from the comfort of a quiet country villa with its garden park and swimming pool. We are able to arrange special tours and visits to some of Tuscany's best known wineries, and history of art courses at the British Institute of Florence. Preferential rates exist for stays of up to a month or more, and the Villa is also available for longer term lets for people on assignment to Universities, like the European University Institute in Florence, or foreign companies with operations in Tuscany. The Villa is managed and run by Alessandra Baldasseroni, the owner of the property, her husband, Michael Griffiths, a British national, and their daughter Tessa, who works for the International School of Florence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing