We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality, modern design, convenient location”
Review of AC Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
AC Hotel Firenze
Ranked #168 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top quality, modern design, convenient location”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

very nice new modern hotel in a near central location. Rooms are sufficiently spacious and very well designed, comfy bed that provides for a very comfortable sleep. Minibar was included in the room rate and was restocked every day. Breakfast was also free and absolutely appropriate - good selection of cold meats (good quality proschutto and not some budget supermarket pressed ham like in many other places) variety of cheeses, scrambled eggs and ham, juices, fruits, youghurts etc. Cannot really understand other reviewers criticising breakfast... what do you guys expect from a 4-star hotel complimentary buffet breakfast - lobster, caviar and Krug champagne?
Location near central - meaning you can still walk to all major attractions (10-15 mins), train station is also within walking distance or you can take a tram - one stop to the station. Surrounding area is clean and you can see the old town from the room window if located on a high floor. Didn't experience any service problem, check-out two hours later than normal (2pm) was granted without hesitation. Only drawbacks - aircon doesn't go below 20C, hotel bar wasn't stuffed at 2pm when I was checking out and thats when I could have needed it. Overall very statisfactory experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    501
    227
    61
    33
See reviews for
203
521
40
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

On arrival at 01:30 in the morning no room, staff extremely disinterested and frankly rude. Hotel was clean with basic amenities but no kettle in room so shouldn't have its 4 stars. Nice building completely let down by the staff, would never stay there again and tainted tyhe AC brand. Charged 5 days for 4 despite booking 4!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

we stayed at this hotel in september 2010 and although the hotel is extremely clean and modern we would not stay here again. They say it is extremely close to Santa Maria train station but not really a good 15 min walk and about 25 min walk to the city centre. The style of the rooms is nice on the surface but poorly constructed. The shower has no door so every night there would be a flood in the room. The wifi is very expensive and not included and the front desk was not very pleasant. Also if you wanted eggs prepared in a style other than extremely runny you would have to pay for it. The price was good but other than that I would stay closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The room was different than what we had reserved and you confirmed. We have wanted twin bed but got matrimonial. There was no possibility to change the room. We have asked for non smoking room but was offered as exchange a smoking room. Afterwards we were told that this is it, take it or leave it. The bathroom is totally non-functional. The toilet is too high, the sink is too low. That glass sink may look well when you enter the room but after one washes his hands it looks like after a war. The staff is totally unfriendly. Breakfast was fair. The parking space was OK. Position very far from the city centre. The internet is NOT FREE!!! There is a leflet in the room saying that you have to pay Swisscom for the connection. The minibar was really free. Sorry, we will look for another hotel next time in Firenze.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at AC Firenze last month. I had previously stayed in a couple of AC hotels for business trips and we thought why not, since you know what you are going to get (the same design, pretty much copycat hotels) and the price is pretty affordable. We regretted it though.
The hotel is walking distance (about 15 mins) from the historical centre, on a site next to a train station and next to a building site. From the moment my husband went to park the car and I was left in reception with no help with my luggage (they told me where the lift was and did not offer any help despite the fact that they saw me carrying to trolleys and 3 pieces of hand luggage) I knew we had gone wrong.
The next day after a long day of sightseeing we arrived to the room to find that the bed had not been made, well, worse actually as the maid had been in but obviously just slightly straightened the cover,( pictures attached) there was even tissue inside the bed! After I went to reception and told the only smiling member of staff what happened the cleaner knock on our door and I swear I thought she was going to punch me or kill me for having complained! basically she looked far from happy and questioned me again despite of the fact that I had already explained in reception.
That night we were recommended a restaurant by one of the very uninterested, can't be bothered receptionists which was the icing on the cake! the food was AWFUL by any standards, to the point where even the waiter was clearly embarrassed about it, and apologized for something that seemed just the norm. I can only assume that the recommendation was made because a) the restaurant belongs to somebody in the family or b) she gets a little bit of pocket money from them for recommending it!
What can I say, if you don't mind bad customer service, slightly out of the way location, being woken up by building work, and just want something clean, new and affordable then, AC Firenze might just be right for you, otherwise, don't bother.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenamandarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

As other people have said in their reviews you do need to walk into the main centre of Florence (about 15 minutes). We really didn't find this a problem and the walk itself is down streets with shops and restaurants.
We definitely thought the walk was worth it to find a modern, clean hotel of a high standard at a reasonable price.
The hotel rooms were big and clean, and the bathroom in particular was spotless.
Breakfast was good. Staff helpful.
Only downside is that the Wi-fi wasn't free. (And that's really not a big downside!!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityLoverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Its a relatively cheap, well outfitted hotel. Bonus point for the free mini-bar (only soft-drinks and water, but very welcome nonetheless). The bathroom had a cool, see-through basin, although the shower water pressure on our floor (the 4th floor) left something to be desired. Our friends staying on the 3rd floor had no issues, however. The bed was pretty comfortable by hotel standards. The staff were very friendly, ordering us taxis without difficulty, and even letting us have a late, 1pm check-out. Free snacks at the bar, if you order a drink. Free buffet breakfast is included, which had a lot of options but was of hotel (ie middling) quality.
Now the bad. Internet was not free, and available in two tiers, business and private, with business being the more expensive and quicker. I had to send some emails for work, and, once I'd paid the €22 for 24 hours, the speed was fine. Still, an additional cost if you need internet. The second, and more important problem is the location. I'd estimate its about a 20-30 minute walk into the center of Florence. Its in quite a quite street, and there aren't many public transport options. With the humidity high and the temperature pushing 30 celcius during our time there, and with only limited time to see the city, we ended up taking taxis both to and from our hotel everyday. The prices ranged from €8-€12 per trip. Factoring in this extra cost, it may be worthwhile paying a little bit more for a hotel closer to the centre. However, if the weather was cooler, the walk into town might have been quite pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieinDeutschland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#145 of 422 in Florence
1,896 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 422 in Florence
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Tuscany
#102 of 422 in Florence
724 reviews
UNA Hotel Vittoria
#133 of 422 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#124 of 422 in Florence
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Firenze

Property: AC Hotel Firenze
Address: Via Luciano Bausi, 5, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#101 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotel Firenze is located near Porta al Prato Station and Leopolda Station Exhibition Centre. Just 10 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by tram from Santa Maria Novella Station and historic centre of Florence allows you to live the art experience of a lifetime. Michelangelo's David, Giotto's Tower, Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Neptune Fountain, Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace are just minutes away. This modern Firenze hotel offers an array of services that provide you comfort and relaxation beyond expectations: in-room safety-box, mini bar, 24h room service, WiFi Internet, and restaurant. After a stop in the fitness centre, sample a selection of international dishes in the contemporary setting of the restaurant, where Chef Vincenzo Crapa will delight your senses. AC Hotel Firenze is also a fantastic choice for holding seminars, business meetings, conventions, and any other type of event. Right Next to the Opera di Firenze Theater and Maggio Fiorentino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Firenze Florence
Ac Firenze Hotel Florence
Ac Hotel Florence
Ac Hotels Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing