We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a surprise !”
Review of Hotel Angelica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Angelica
Ranked #190 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
American Fork, UT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a surprise !”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked Hotel Angelica online, with no idea of what we were looking at. To say we were surprised that it was simply a few rooms on the 3rd floor of a building, is an understatement. BUT (and big BUT here), we were treated so kindly, and felt totally at home and well cared for. Getting big luggage in and out of the lift was a bit of an issue, and climbing the many stairs was out of the question - but even with that, we loved the place and would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    100
    33
    17
    12
See reviews for
79
98
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Location just around the corner from the station is great for anyone arriving by train or taking a bus tour.

Rooms are clean, but if you don't like the sound of street cleaners or tourists arguing in the street at 1am take a room without a balcony. The balconies are unusable anyway.

Probably unique to our stay, the air conditioning didn't work (I think This affected a number of rooms) but the manager loaned us a fan which was helpful.

The shower didn't drain, so quickly became a bath, but it didn't seem a surprise to the manager. No fix for it as they had no drain-o.

Service was friendly and helpful with good English, but lack of working aircon and faulty shower let the experience down. If all was working fine the room would have rated a 3.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I spent one perfect day in Florence and this Hotel fit the bill. Close to everything and the right price for clean accommodation. third floor location but there is a small lift so you don't have to hike your luggage up flights of stairs. It rained the other night and I was tired so I ran down the street to a Deli type shop and had a very nice take out meal. Everything you need is close. Rooms have AC so you can close the window and shut out the sounds of the city. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibumFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Location is great - train station is round the corner, Cathedral, all the main sights are at the walking distance, friendly talkative and kind staff.
There is a luggage room, where you can leave your staff and have a walk in the city, if you depart late.

There were no fridge, tea/coffee facilities

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PilgrimTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Wonderful, clean, modern, Air condition is great. The owner Angelica and her family are lovely. Please tell her I sent you. Location is excellent. 1 block from train station. I will return to this hotel. Very good value for the money and my breakfast was included.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susiebbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agelicafi, Manager at Hotel Angelica, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. Hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Best Regards
Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We chose this hotel because of its reasonable price and its location and disregarded the negative comments of some of your reviewers.We were right to do so:there are some things that could be criticised,but we felt that these were minor when weighed against the positives.The room,though small,was clean,the bed comfortable,the shower room clean and in good working order.Angelica is pleasant and helpful and the location as good for transport,restaurants and easy access to the centre as others have said.

We would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

To start with positive things - location is just a few steps from the train station and not far to the city center.
We had an unusual room in the attic, it was worse than standard rooms, but we had a private terrace on the top floor only at our disposal.
As for the negative sides - here they are.
You always feel yourself under the control of an elderly lady in charge of hotel, you can't carry your key with you, you have to ring the door bell every time you come to the hotel.
Breakfast is very modest, coffee is bad, limited choice of food. If you come at the end of breakfast, dirty dishes are washed by the lady under the water tap without any detergents and dried with kitchen towel which seems not very hygienic, it's much better to use the dish-washer.
Only one chair in the room and no bed-side table on one side of the bed, so you have to put your stuff (a book or glasses) on the floor.
If you want to stay a bit later after check-out time you have to pay, but the lady first says it's free of charge to stay one hour after check-out time as it is usually done in normal hotels. She says it's free and asks for tips for the cleaning lady. We left tips in the room for the cleaning lady, gave tips to the lady-owner and after she asked to pay 12 euro more for one hour. This is incredible taking into consideration the price of hotel per night.
All in all it was ok to stay at Angelica hotel, but I'd choose another one next time.

Room Tip: Attic room is strange, with one not very big bed for 2 people but you have a private terrace with ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irinat729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#208 of 422 in Florence
268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#283 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#286 of 422 in Florence
196 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#152 of 422 in Florence
479 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#173 of 422 in Florence
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angelica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angelica

Property: Hotel Angelica
Address: Via Fiume 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Angelica 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angelica is a small hotel directed by Fernando Siringo in a small cosy e professional atmosphere. The hotel is situated in a magnificent old classic Florentine style building in the historical center, very close to the central train station of Firenze S. Maria Novella (100 mt, only 3 minutes walk) nearby the Exhibition Center of Fortezza da Basso, and in forn of the Congress Center. The Hotel is very near the wonderful Church of S. Maria Novella, the Medice Chapels, the traditional Market of San Lorenzo (which is next to the marvellous Church of San Lorenzo) and the most important museums and monuments (for example Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, Accademia Gallery, Duomo and Cupola of Brunelleschi, Giotto's Tower, Baptistery, S. Croce Church, Bargello museum, Dante Alighieri's house). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Angelica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelica Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing