We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Heart of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Salotto di Firenze
Ranked #70 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Heart of Florence”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This was a wonderful small hotel to stay in Florence. We had a great room with a small balcony over looking the street. Alessandro had lots of into and great restaurants to recommend. Only one flight up but did have a small lift. We were steps away from Duomo, This was a perfect place in a romantic city.

Room Tip: front room facing the street with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    65
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
207
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Il Salotto di Firenze is a wonderful B&B. The location is perfect! Right next to the dome. Alessandro and Andrea are excellent hosts and did everything they could to make sure we were able to check-in safely after our very late arrival at the airport. The room was big, clean and with wonderful view of the busy Florence streets outside. I truly recommend this B&B to everyone who wants to enjoy a trip to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have recently stayed at this cozy b&b and have had the most pleasant experience of all my vacation. Alessandro is an absolute gentleman, will greet you promptly and treat you like you are the most important guest. The room was spotless, the bathroom pristine, the location couldn't be better, within walking distance from the train station, lots of shopping and just around the corner from the Duomo! You will have a wonderful experience, guaranteed and will surely want to come back for more!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henckahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was one of the better stays of our trip in Italy. This place had the BEST location out of anywhere we stayed. It was right next to the Duomo and Tower. The staff here was very friendly and every morning they gave us a nice cappuccino and advice about the city. They even made our reservations for the Uffizi. The only thing about our stay that was bad, was the air conditioner was a little on the fritz. Not really there fault, and on the first night it was fine. I would definitely recommend. oh and they had free wifi, nice bonus.

Room Tip: reserve early, this place is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choctaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed here because it was recommended by another B&B where we had stayed previously but was booked. Very pleased, the location was excellent very close to the Duomo and we had a very nice room with a balcony. The bathroom was larger than other B&B's we had stayed in. The rooms was spotless and breakfast was simple but adequate for us. Our host was very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely go back, we were surprised at how quiet it was even though it faced a busy street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntigonishNCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We spent three nights at Il Salotto di Firenze in early May and had a fanatstic stay.

The location of the accommodation is its real selling point - literally in the middle of Florence, right by the Duomo. Our room had a balcony that fronted onto Via Roma with a view across into Piazza del Duomo. We had some pre-stay concerns about street noise but these were ill-founded as the room was extremely well sound-proofed.

The room we had was very clean, really comfortable and had a good quality feel. The buffet breakfast was good with the owner on hand to provide recommendations, answer questions, etc. The level of service provided by Alessandro before and during the stay was excellent.

Overall we were really, really happy with our choice. Being so central in the city centre was fantastic for breaking each day up into smaller chunks and taking time to relax in the room / on the balcony.

The rate was paid was the highest during our two weeks in Italy but we felt that it represented very good value given the location, service and higher rates at comparable B&Bs.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I cancelled a reservation at another B&B when I found out the Giovanni Fattori room was available during the dates we needed. We booked the honeymoon package from Oct 20-23. We were late into Pisa and still had to catch the train. I sent them a quick e-mail and they responded right away saying they would be there waiting for us. Alessandro also texted me to say they would be there. Guido was there and he was a huge help to us since this was our first time in Florence. He gave us a map and pointed out all of the places he likes to eat around the hotel...including the best gelato place we found...across the river - Gelateria la Carraia. His advice was invaluable. The room was clean, the bathroom was huge (compared to all of the other places we stayed) and the balcony was amazing...we would definitely stay in that room again. Everything was very modern and it was only one floor up - with a lift!!! It was like heaven! You are right by the Duomo so the bells will likely wake you up...but we didn't have to set an alarm! Breakfast each morning was lovely, the standard for Italy with meats, cheeses, breads...but they also had bread and a toaster plus some pastries and fresh juices. Guido rushed into the kitchen to make us cappuccinos which were delicious and we had a nice chat about what we had done and where we were going. It was a very friendly and welcoming environment and someday when we go back to Florence we will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#48 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#181 of 411 in Florence
388 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 640 in Florence
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#47 of 640 in Florence
229 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#17 of 640 in Florence
981 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#138 of 640 in Florence
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salotto di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salotto di Firenze

Property: Il Salotto di Firenze
Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Salotto di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salotto Di Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing