We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Love With This!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Salotto di Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Salotto di Firenze
Ranked #66 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In Love With This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our only problem was leaving after only three nights. Wish I'd had three more. Thank you Alessandro for your hospitality and generosity. Such a lovely apartment on the first floor, with gorgeous furnishings, so clean, plenty of space and the location - next to Gucci, 12 paces from the Duomo corner and we could see the Duomo tower from our window (just)!!! There was a bit of chat in the laneway behind (ambulance/fire employees) but closing the windows and shutters cut it out. The breakfast room is excellent, also with great coffee and cakes and sweets available 24/7 if you get back from sightseeing and need an afternoon pick-me-up. I don't want Alessandro running around after all his visitors, but if you just mention something about a venue or a bus he's offering to help find out or print something for you. Such a very courteous and cheerful guy. You won't regret staying here but I'm already regretting such a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui_h_0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    62
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
202
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The room in which we stayed was wonderful. It was very large and well-furnished. The bathroom was modern and worked well. We had a room that overlooked the street, which was wonderful. The streets were very crowded with pedestrians, but the windows blocked the street noise very well. The location is excellent, literally right around the corner from the Duomo and very close to all other tourist sites.

Guests have access to the kitchen at all hours, and light snacks, drinks, and coffee are available there at all times. The breakfast was essentially a continental breakfast but was nice enough.

The hosts that we met there were very friendly. We were also given a complementary Eyewitness Travel Guide guidebook for Florence on arrival, which was great, as it has many pictures as well as explanatory text.

The reception desk is only staffed during limited hours. On the day we arrived, the B&B had emailed us in advance to let us know that the reception desk would only be available until 3:30pm. We missed our earlier train and arrived at the Florence train station at 3pm, so we were rather stressed that we would miss the reception time. (I assume if we had missed it, then we might have had to stay elsewhere, but fortunately we made it there before 3:30pm.) So arriving late at the hotel does not seem to be an option. The staff provided us with keys to the hotel, so we were able to get in and out readily after we checked in.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Il Salotto di Firenze for 3 nights last month and were completely in love with this B&B. We were greeted by an energetic employee, Guido, who checked us in quickly and made arrangements for our room to be cleaned next so we could get settled. While we waited for our room to be finished, Guido showed us around the kitchen, taught us how to use the espresso machine and made each of us an espresso. Such a welcoming atmosphere!

Once we were allowed into our room, Guido showed us the book that is in each room for guests; the book lists restaurant recommendations, local supermarkets, different bars and an assortment of things to do. This was such a huge help for us during our stay! We would come back to the room just to check out restaurant recommendations provided in the book. The room was huge and the bathroom was updated with modern fixtures. The breakfast provided every morning was fairly standard except for the pasqualini; these flaky pastries were filled with cheese or meat and were delicious when put in the toaster oven. Alessandro would greet his guests every morning and make an espresso or cappuccino, per their request. He was such a friendly, gracious and helpful host. His English is perfect, so there were never any communication barriers when conversing. Il Salotto di Firenze was our favorite place we stayed in Italy. Without a doubt, we will stay here again during our next trip to Firenze! Thanks to Alessandro and Guido for a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscodivaAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Everything about this place is absolutely perfect.

Its location can't be any better, less than a minute from the Duomo and within comfortable walking distance to other attractions like Piazza della Signoria, the Academia & the Uffizi Gallery.

Alessandro is warm, charming & extremely helpful host with recommendations for places to visit/ eat at as well as reservations for tours & galleries. It is evident that he has set up his B&B service with a lot of thought for his guests. There is a folder in each room containing answers to all kinds of questions one could have. We were also given a complementary guidebook for Florence on arrival.

The B&B itself is beautiful with very comfortable rooms and a 24h pantry stocked with crackers, juices, cheese, yoghurts, tea & coffee. Breakfast is plentiful as well.

I would pick this place again in a heartbeat. Thank you Alessandro for making our stay so fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

In many trips I did around the world in more than 15 years, this is the best accomodation I experienced ever. Everything is perfectly clean, the staff is infinitely kind and available to respond to any need, a fully furnitured kitchen open 24h allows guests to have free coffee, tea, snack whenever they want. Right in the very heart of Florence, this B&B is the best example of an excellent, outstanding acomodation without the need of going to a 5 stars or luxury hotel. VERY compfortable room, big bathroom, excellent breakfast....what else should I say? Yes: do NOT miss a visit to this B&B!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was travelling alone, so I wanted a hotel with a good location to optimize my trip. This B&B is just a 10 minutes walking from train station and beside the Duomo. Good restaurants and many important touristic attractions are also very easy to get to. Paolo and Alessandro were amazing hosts, always helpful and ready to clear any doubt of mine. My room ( named Diego Martelli or something like that) had a single bed, a minibar (which was really nice in this hot summer) and enough space in the wardrobe. Everything new and clean. Really a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athena29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I was visiting Florence for a few days before meeting my mom in Padova. She had never visited Florence so I wanted to take her and show her one of my favorite places. I found this little gem through hotels.com and booked it, unsure of what I was getting. We showed up to check in and Alessandro was welcoming and charming!! Little did we know this was just the beginning of our charming little B&B. Our room was not ready just yet, but Alessandro kept our luggage for us and had it in our room when we returned. The view was amazing, the accommodations were more than adequate and the breakfast and refreshments throughout the day were great. We checked out at the checkout time, but our train wasn't until later in the afternoon so Alessandro stored our luggage for us and provided us a key to the building to use in order to have access to the restroom and refreshments if we needed it. We did not notice any noise over night, however we were there on a Tuesday night so I don't know if this had an impact on noise. I will certainly be recommending my friends and family to stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#20 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#152 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#91 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salotto di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salotto di Firenze

Property: Il Salotto di Firenze
Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Il Salotto di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salotto Di Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing