We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay in Florence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Salotto di Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Salotto di Firenze
Ranked #66 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My mother and I stayed here for just two nights, but would have been happy to stay a month! Alessandro was the perfect host, friendly and knowledgeable. We very much enjoyed the little balcony over the street, watching life go by and interacting with the street musicians. Access to the kitchen (to make tea etc and help yourself to snacks) at any time was greatly appreciated. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    62
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
202
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great location in Florence right by the duomo!! Will definitely stay here again! Room was spacious and clean. Diego was a great host as well and informed you of where to go in Florence considering I had a short amount of time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for the second time. Again, we stayed in the Fattori room, which has the small terrace. It is our favourite, and the primary reason we returned to this B&B.

The B&B is in a wonderful location, hard to beat, but this time I found the room to be a little tired. I was surprised to see that not much had changed in two years. They still had the same throw pillows, and fake flowers that were in the room in 2011. The pillows particularly were pretty dirty. It would not cost very much to spruce up the room a bit with new decor, and I think that would really make a difference.

The WiFi was unpredictable/not working, and when it was the signal was very weak in our room.

The breakfast is not very memorable.

Room Tip: Fattori is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEMcJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We chose this B&B mainly because of its location just in the City centre next to Duomo and Baptisterium. We spent 4 nights there. As we arrived in the evening we got instructions in advance by e-mail how to get inside B&B including PIN code to get access into main entrance of the building and B&B itself and it worked perfectly. Allessandro was very helpful and friendly during our stay. Breakfasts were quite basic with limited choice in comparison with other B&B we have experienced in this price level but satisfactory. The room as well as bathroom were clean and nicely furnished, aircondition and WiFi connection worked pretty well. The only problem was noice from the street during the whole night. It might be wise to chose one of the rooms which do not face to Via Roma street. We can overall recommend this facility to visitors of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VasekH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived at this b&b, right next to the Duomo and within a few minutes walk of most of the main attractions in Florence. We arrived after check-in times but Alessandro gave us easy instructions on how to let ourselves in and our key and room instructions were waiting for us when we got in. Alessandro could not have been a better host, nothing was too much trouble, whether it be recommendations, looking after our bags after we checked out (even giving us a key to come back much later after we checked out to help ourselves to the kitchen!) The room was gorgeous, huge bathroom which was very clean. You have free reign of the kitchen and breakfast area all day - great for grabbing a can of coke, water, cappuccino, biscuits, little chocolates, it was great!! Basically, an amazing stay made even better by its location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbeeb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Reliable, easy booking online through their easy to use website.

Pictures online seem to be quite representative of the rooms. In fact the rooms seem much larger and grander in real life!

Marco and Allessandro are genuine and warm people who communicated reliably and promptly via email and were lovely in person. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy and comfortable. We unfortunately left our keys to the main doors to our room in the room (but had the room swipe card) and texted Allessandro who texted right back to help us in using a code.

We booked the Odoardo Borrani room as we didn't need a nice view (looks over a small alley). It was very clean and tastefully decorated. Very high ceilings and lots of space in both the room and bathroom. The managers also have a compilation of food recommendations in the room for you.

The bathroom is very large and overall very clean. Lots of cute fittings.

Il sallotto has a 24 hour tea room, kind of like a living room in the house where all residents can have a cup of tea, a cold drink, biscuits or lollies. My husband loved the coffee machine where he could have a cappuccino any time! Breakfast is included and had a fairly large selection compared to other B&Bs.

It's a very secure apartment with 4 locks to get through. Great location. In Florence everything is so close it almost doesn't matter where you stay. Il sallotto is pretty much right in the middle of it all though. It's right around the corner from the Duomo, 10 minutes walk from SMN station, 5-10 mins walk from Uffizi, Accademia and the leather market, Ponte Vecchio and Santa Croce.
Wifi was fast and there was a safe in the room. Airconditioning was available.

Overall we loved Il Salotto di Firenze and would definitely stay here again if we came back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Marco was exceptional! Perfect location in Florence on Via Roma for walking to the sights and just beside the Duomo. The ambience was very warm and friendly. breakfast was fine. I will for sure go back to this b&b for my future stays in Florence since I never expected a b&b to be so good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeps_nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#20 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#152 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#91 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salotto di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salotto di Firenze

Property: Il Salotto di Firenze
Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Salotto di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salotto Di Firenze Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing