We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing people, great value for money”
Review of Hostel Gallo d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Ranked #20 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, amazing people, great value for money”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay at Ostello Gallo D'Oro was great.
We booked 3 nights at the hostel and everything was as described. The room we stayed in was clean and the facilities of the hostel in general were great, free Wi-Fi, breakfasts were delicious and the staff were extremely friendly. Talking about staff, special shoutout to Matteo who was our host and who prepared breakfasts every morning. He was very helpful and responsive to all our questions.
Great value for money, staff and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    54
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
33
74
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The service here is great - everyone is so friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but clean. Breakfast is great with loads of choice. The location ia really good and you will find it easy to walk to most places of interest from the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Strategically located in the heart of Florence, walking distance from everywhere, Ostello Gallo D'Oro is a very convenient place to stay. The rooms are very big and therefore, fantastic value for money. The staff helps with sight seeing, bookings, even restaurant recommendations and gave great tips on shopping. The hostel has all kinds of rooms to suit everyone's needs and the crowd is young and good. No noise and very calm. The breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: the ones facing Cavour are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenewyorker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I spent one night at the Ostello Gallo d'Oro while visiting Florence, and staying in a private single en-suite -- it was excellent in all respects, I wouldn't change anything. I could not recommend it enough.

PROS:
- Helpful staff who were super friendly, and offered all kinds of tips of where to go, when to go, how to get places.
- Nice, spacious and clean room with wifi.
- Quiet, so got a good night's sleep.
- Solid breakfast.

The location isn't great, as it's a bit of a walk from some of the main sights in Florence, but the city is pretty small, and it won't take you more than 15-20 minutes to walk to the Dome. Plus, walking in Florence is great, so it's actually pretty nice.

All in all, Ostello Gallo d'Oro was fantastic (especially the great staff) -- I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigintangibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent hostel in all kinds of view. Special greate thnx to staff! After the second our visit I feel friendly relationships with them. They will help you in every your question in any time of the day.
I'll be back again and again!
Stay here definitely!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorynych9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It's a must stay. The staff is warm, welcoming, and inviting. They are so helpful. They've made our stay here just wonderful. They made us feel at home. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The hotel is a short walk from shopping and restaurants. The staff would even highlight on a map on how to get where we wanted and even make reservations for us. Marcos was the first staff member we meet and because of him the ruff start of our vacation we had in Rome was made right. Our thanks to the entire staff for making our stay in Florence so amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My friend and I enjoyed our short stint in Florence. This hostel was wonderful. My only complaint is the location. It's advertised as being near things, but it's not. It's a pretty decent walk to the main cathedral as well as the train station. Our room had airconditioning. Also while you're in Florence do yourself a favor and go eat at All'Antico Vinaio http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g187895-d1102253-r142089446-All_Antico_Vinaio-Florence_Tuscany.html I still crave a sandwiche like that over 2 months later.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingOSUCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#17 of 305 in Florence
2,423 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#10 of 305 in Florence
353 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#26 of 305 in Florence
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#11 of 305 in Florence
839 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#41 of 305 in Florence
473 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Ciao Hostel
Ciao Hostel
#79 of 305 in Florence
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Gallo d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Gallo d'Oro

Property: Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 104, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What you see is what you get! There's no extra charge for breakfast, Internet/wi-fi or towels: they are all included!! 'Your day will start with our amazing breakfast!! Fresh squized orange juice, fruit salad, sandwiches, homemade cakes daily made by our chef and much much more....' At the reception you'll find Max & Silvia and the rest of our cool crew, who will assist you with a big smile and a city map, ready to suggest the best (and cheapest) restaurants, cool places to hang out, and events around Florence. Tours travel desk available with the best tours of the beautiful country-side, Chianti area and wine tasting, Siena and Pisa, walking tours, pub crawl, Museum reservations and more.... 'Don't miss our FREE buffet!! Twice a week, our staff will wait for you after your long day in Florence, to get together: Wednesday - Tex/Mex and beer Buffet Saturday - Organic Italian and wine Buffet' Our place is located in the city centre of Florence, only 5 min walk from The Accademia Galley, 10 min from the Duomo and 20 min from the train station. What are you waiting for....??? It's Gallo time!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Gallo d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Gallo d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing