We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and good host!”
Review of A Firenze da Paolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Firenze da Paolo
Ranked #362 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I traveled to Firenze because I found this B/B quite cheap. If it wasn't for that, I wouldn't have gone.
This unique place is what it is because Paolo. If a fantastic guy, that help us in everything and make us feel like at home.
It's not very close to the city center and a bus needs to be taken, but is not difficult to move arround and reach the place. Once you know where is it, is easy. Many buses passes by and there are also some restaurants arround very cheap.
The rooms where really nice, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was nice also.
Paolo also helps in anithing you need.
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtGio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights & it was one of the most comfortable stays we have had in Italy to date, at comparable prices. We Googled bus information and were able to find the apartment without too much trouble (although we did have to ask directions from people on the street). Note that this is a big residential apartment complex, and might not look like a typical "hotel" accommodation (because it is not). Try to arrive in the daytime.

When we arrived, we had to SMS Paolo so he could come & let us in. He doesn't speak much English (but more than we could of Italian!), however Paolo was very welcoming & helpful, & language was not a barrier.

As we arrived & to our delight, a brand-new mattress was also delivered to our room. The room was spacious & immaculate (Paolo did some last-minute tidying on our arrival), as were the kitchen, foyer & bathroom. The bathroom was shared between 3 rooms, but there was always hot water, it was always clean & we never had to wait. The apartment was quite nicely soundproofed, with roller shutters to enable a nice sleep-in for those who want it. The photos I've seen are perfectly representative.

Ample amounts of self-serve continental breakfast was provided, with separate, labelled areas for each room's allotment. Guests are allowed to use the decently-equipped kitchen at other times. The nearby Co-op supermarket has everything you need: prepared meals, small cafe areas, extensive groceries & liquor, and there is also a cinema & electronics store in the complex. The area itself is nothing special for visitors - just a normal residential neighbourhood, but within easy transit access to all of Florence's sightseeing.

All in all, a very comfortable stay, & we would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Proprietaire helpful and sympatique price(prize) tres correct appropriate(clean) apartment and regles are indeed etablieProprietaire helpful and sympatique price(prize) tres correct appropriate(clean) apartment and regles are indeed etablie

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here in June this year. We booked through venereal.com, who did not give us any details about check in time. We called Paolo who sent Lorenzo up the apartment ASAP. Lorenzo kept our bags in the cleaning cupboard and gave us a map of Florence to go and explore. It was a great start. On our return, the room was clean and ready for us to move in. The stay was OK. Breakfast was not particularly interesting and we questioned the freshness of the pastries.

Unfortunately, in our panic to leave the room and make it to our train, we left a parcel in the room. We completely understand that this was our fault, but we were more than happy to pay Paolo for the hassle of posting the parcel to us in Australia. Paolo and Lorenzo refused to send us their email address (which I did eventually track down myself) and also did not return text messages or phone calls from us. In the end, we recieved a message from Paolo saying that he had sent the parcel, but that he was not happy having to do something that he was not going to get 'anything out of it', so charged us. €10 euro 'service fee'. We were more than happy to pay the asked amount, but we're disappointed to see the price of postage to Australia was only €45 and Paolo had asked for €79 Euro - if my maths is correct, that is more that €10 for a service fee.

So, would I recommend you stay here... Well, it was very reasonably priced for Florence and it was clean, but MAKE SURE YOU TAKE EVERYTHING WITH YOU as it will be a lot of stress trying to get it returned.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Di V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed with my friend at this Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights. We booked it because I read the reviews and thought it was ok. In fact it is OK. But nothing more. Our room was big and bathroom was clean. No air conditioner (40 degrees temperature). Kitchen appeared to be clean but breakfast was terrible. We had two little nutella packages with a croissant and toast. Some jelly and butter. THAT'S IT. Milk and coffee and a orange juice pack. Frankly that was the worst breakfast I had during my whole trip. I don't eat jelly or nutella so I was left with toast and butter. The B&B is very far from the tourists attractions. It's a 30 minutes walk at least and I did not feel safe at night. You can go to Florence's main station with the bus but it only drives until 24:00. Then you have to pay for a taxi (~12-15 euros). We met Paolo for 5 mins and he seemed to be very friendly but he did not speak english very well. To be honest no one in the city spoke english very well. I would not come back. There are certainly thousands of B&B's within the city for the same price. Driving with the bus every day was really exhaustive and two girls alone walking through Florence's suburbs is not a good idea... It has the potential but it still needs a lot of improvements.

Room Tip: Get the room with private bathroom or you'll have to share it with 2 other people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
B&B A Casa di Virgilio
#197 of 657 in Florence
200 reviews
MEL Affittacamere
#504 of 657 in Florence
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A Beautiful Florence
#489 of 657 in Florence
105 reviews
B&B I Chivi
#284 of 657 in Florence
12 reviews
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#421 of 657 in Florence
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Firenze da Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Firenze da Paolo

Address: Via Maria Malibran 63, 50127, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £31 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Firenze da Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing