We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of A Firenze da Paolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Firenze da Paolo
Ranked #347 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had never stayed in a home stay before so were a bit hesitant to book this one. However, since the budgets were a little tight, we opted for this stay in Florence. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012. I must say, this was one of our best stays in our overall Italy tour. We had opted for a shared toilette and bath room. The room was quite big and tastefully planned. The shared bathroom cum toilette was also quite big and very clean. Since most of the residents were out touring most of the time, there was almost never a rush or a queue to the bath room. There was a completely equipped kitchen, washing machine and fridge that stored the breakfast for each of the rooms. The breakfast was modest consisting of some breakfast cereals, milk, coffee, breads jam/spreads etc but filling enough. The house owners do not stay in the same apartment, so it's advisable to check with them and inform them prior to your arrival about your expected check in time. You would otherwise not be able to enter the complex! The place is a bit far from the station but can be reached easily through the frequent bus services that operate from the station. The owner will direct you about the bus number and the bus stop. The best part of the place is that there is a super market just across the road. So you can buy stuff of your daily needs and also cook your meals in the kitchen.
The owners can barely speak English and if you are not too familiar with the Italian or French accent, communication may become a nightmare! You would however probably not meet the owner or the caretaker post you have checked in, so communicating would not be a problem, the owner would hand you over with the map and try his level best to explain you the routes and the best of the things to see around Florence when you check in. If your check out time does not coincides with the apartments check out timings, you will be asked by the owner to leave the cash and keys back in the room.
For the price, I would rate this place fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prachi_Verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very comfortable stay. It was quiet and personal. Paolo made us feel at home. The place is away from the city centre but very accessible by bus. I recommend this place to avoid the hustle and bustle of busy hostels.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Artichokejelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I traveled to Firenze because I found this B/B quite cheap. If it wasn't for that, I wouldn't have gone.
This unique place is what it is because Paolo. If a fantastic guy, that help us in everything and make us feel like at home.
It's not very close to the city center and a bus needs to be taken, but is not difficult to move arround and reach the place. Once you know where is it, is easy. Many buses passes by and there are also some restaurants arround very cheap.
The rooms where really nice, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was nice also.
Paolo also helps in anithing you need.
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtGio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights & it was one of the most comfortable stays we have had in Italy to date, at comparable prices. We Googled bus information and were able to find the apartment without too much trouble (although we did have to ask directions from people on the street). Note that this is a big residential apartment complex, and might not look like a typical "hotel" accommodation (because it is not). Try to arrive in the daytime.

When we arrived, we had to SMS Paolo so he could come & let us in. He doesn't speak much English (but more than we could of Italian!), however Paolo was very welcoming & helpful, & language was not a barrier.

As we arrived & to our delight, a brand-new mattress was also delivered to our room. The room was spacious & immaculate (Paolo did some last-minute tidying on our arrival), as were the kitchen, foyer & bathroom. The bathroom was shared between 3 rooms, but there was always hot water, it was always clean & we never had to wait. The apartment was quite nicely soundproofed, with roller shutters to enable a nice sleep-in for those who want it. The photos I've seen are perfectly representative.

Ample amounts of self-serve continental breakfast was provided, with separate, labelled areas for each room's allotment. Guests are allowed to use the decently-equipped kitchen at other times. The nearby Co-op supermarket has everything you need: prepared meals, small cafe areas, extensive groceries & liquor, and there is also a cinema & electronics store in the complex. The area itself is nothing special for visitors - just a normal residential neighbourhood, but within easy transit access to all of Florence's sightseeing.

All in all, a very comfortable stay, & we would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Proprietaire helpful and sympatique price(prize) tres correct appropriate(clean) apartment and regles are indeed etablieProprietaire helpful and sympatique price(prize) tres correct appropriate(clean) apartment and regles are indeed etablie

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#185 of 410 in Florence
502 reviews
A Beautiful Florence
#502 of 661 in Florence
105 reviews
B&B Il Tabernacolo
#325 of 661 in Florence
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Novella Italy
Novella Italy
#577 of 661 in Florence
51 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Campanella
La Campanella
#382 of 661 in Florence
32 reviews
Bed & Bed Cassia
#554 of 661 in Florence
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Firenze da Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Firenze da Paolo

Address: Via Maria Malibran 63, 50127, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £34 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Firenze da Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing