We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #77 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It'S very comfortable and beautyful hotel. Сonvenient location, homely atmosphere, friendly staff. I would like to come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed one night at the Hotel Cosimo de' Medici in Florence. If arriving by train it is literally around the corner, a 2 minute walk. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was comfortable and as shown on the internet. The bathroom was small but clean and perfectly functional. Breakfast was more than adequate. I would highly recommend this hotel. It was fantastic value, the location was perfect for access to the train station and all that Florence has to offer. The area seemed perfectly safe at night. All reception staff were extremely helpful. Our room and the hotel generally were spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawthorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

You should choose this Hotel if you like it easy! Travelling by train in italy is cheap and easy. So i really dont like to carry my luggage too far. This Hotel is located very close to Firenze SMN. You find a supermarket and restaurants in very close range. The roomprices, even during summer season are reasonable if you book in advance. The welcome is very friendly and you can ask all questions you need answers for. You get free wireless access in your room. Breakfast is ok. Air conditioning is working, which is quite important during the summer in Firenze.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FlorianHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean, the air conditioner worked well as it was quite hot and despite being in a busy area it was very quiet. Our room had a window you could open with a small balcony. The breakfasts were ok and the staff were marvellous and I don't recall a hotel where I have come across friendlier and more helpful staff. The hotel is an ideal base as it is across the road from the main train station and it is a 5 minute walk to all the main attractions. The hop on hop bus is located just around the corner and there are outdoor restaurants everywhere nearby. This is a really good quality three star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB00763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Florence at the end of June, 2011 for 3 nights. The location is good in that it is a very short walk to the train station. It is one of 3 hotels inside the building. The rooms are a nice size and each one has its own small balcony. The beds were comfortable enough. When we were there it was extremely hot (temps in the high 90s) and the air conditioning was not functioning well at all, at least in the room where my husband and I stayed. I complained to the hotel management who told me that it was just fine, even though I knew otherwise. Each room had its own unit and when I looked at the unit on the balcony it looked like it needed a good cleaning. I also mentioned this to the management but they didn’t seem too interested. The toilet in our bathroom worked but not as well as it should have. The breakfast room was small and was not air conditioned and very stuffy. The food choices were very nice and the service was good as well. They had an outdoor courtyard room too.

They had a computer in the lobby area for guests which came in very handy instead of having to go to an Internet café. I will also say that the lobby was extremely well air conditioned.

This hotel is rated as a 3-Star hotel but I really think it should be downgraded to a 2-Star hotel. While the hotel is in good proximity to the train station, the area seemed a bit seedy. I would not stay here again if in Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chacha7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is located near the train station and is close to everywhere in Florence.
The garage is a perfect solution for those who come by car.
The renewed rooms were spacious clean.
Breakfast was ok, and in total all hotel servces were good return for my money.
I would like to specialy thank the staff (don't remember her name) who guided us perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabi_asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Negative: horrible room - decrepit, the opposite of the photographs, damaged , basic breakfast and after some complaining they gave (probably an illegal room) a little bit better.
Positive: Good staff

Room Tip: do not stay at #118
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2011

Dear Customers,

We are very sorry to read that your stay was not responsive to the expectations. All our staff is always very careful to always seek the accommodations that are most of satisfaction for our guests. Our hotel is equipped with different types of rooms, some modern other more classics that are chosen depending on the tastes and needs. We try as much as possible and consistent with the willingness to assign the types you prefer and this seems to have happened with your booking more than the maximum view of the subjective preferences.

We are always very attentive to all suggestions, we are facing as we constantly strive to consistently improve our chances, our services ... but I honestly do not understand neither the tone nor the adjectives so heavily negative, nor have we addressed the allegations.

We are also very well aware that most compliments to us, to confirm that the efforts made by all staff to ensure a peaceful and sustainable living in the center of Florence are appreciated.

Hoping to succeed at an early opportunity to offer you the most pleasant accommodation we take this opportunity to extend our warmest greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#63 of 411 in Florence
824 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,307 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,248 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 411 in Florence
849 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Florence
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £62 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing