We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #78 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed there for a week at the end of August 2011. Rooms are smallish but pretty nice. Breakfast was beyond my expectations (yoghurt, different buns, cheeses, salami, etc). Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    416
    90
    25
    15
See reviews for
222
478
62
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is located a few minutes away from Duomo Square, has comfortable and well cleaned installations. People are gentle and helpful. I would recommend this choice.

Room Tip: Even rooms street oriented are noiseless. Try to avoid the 2nd floor rooms which are serviced by sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Bella Vista tours booked this hotel for us, but recommended a cab to get to the hotel from the train station-YOU DO NOT NEED A CAB-its only 2 blocks from the train station if that! So close to everything, short walk to Duomo, Piazza della Signoria & Piazza Vecchio, Galleria Uffizi, shopping, the tour bus & the city bus stops. The area was safe, we walked around the neighborhood every night into the early morning hours.

Rooms are very comfortable, wireless internet was fast & reliable. The rooms have a energy saving feature that require you to insert your room key in the wall to access electricity, so plan on that when trying to charge your cameras/laptops/other travel necessities.

Showers had hot water very quickly, and linens were well stocked.

The front desk staff was amazing-everyone spoke at least 4 languages, they helped me with my Italian & assisted with booking tours, would not even accept a tip for their additional services! Ask them any question you have about the city, they will know the answer & give you tips on the best way to enjoy that thing you want to do.

I would definitely stay here again when I return to Florence. We loved the town so much, we paid for extra nights (and on very high occupancy nights, the hotel still accommodated us) and stayed here rather than go on to our next Italian city destination. Thank you, Cosimo de Medici staff! We love you!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

It'S very comfortable and beautyful hotel. Сonvenient location, homely atmosphere, friendly staff. I would like to come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed one night at the Hotel Cosimo de' Medici in Florence. If arriving by train it is literally around the corner, a 2 minute walk. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was comfortable and as shown on the internet. The bathroom was small but clean and perfectly functional. Breakfast was more than adequate. I would highly recommend this hotel. It was fantastic value, the location was perfect for access to the train station and all that Florence has to offer. The area seemed perfectly safe at night. All reception staff were extremely helpful. Our room and the hotel generally were spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawthorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

You should choose this Hotel if you like it easy! Travelling by train in italy is cheap and easy. So i really dont like to carry my luggage too far. This Hotel is located very close to Firenze SMN. You find a supermarket and restaurants in very close range. The roomprices, even during summer season are reasonable if you book in advance. The welcome is very friendly and you can ask all questions you need answers for. You get free wireless access in your room. Breakfast is ok. Air conditioning is working, which is quite important during the summer in Firenze.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorianHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean, the air conditioner worked well as it was quite hot and despite being in a busy area it was very quiet. Our room had a window you could open with a small balcony. The breakfasts were ok and the staff were marvellous and I don't recall a hotel where I have come across friendlier and more helpful staff. The hotel is an ideal base as it is across the road from the main train station and it is a 5 minute walk to all the main attractions. The hop on hop bus is located just around the corner and there are outdoor restaurants everywhere nearby. This is a really good quality three star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB00763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#63 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing