We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel service is very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #83 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hotel service is very poor”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Because we are 3 adults with three children, we booked Quadruple rooms in the hotel's official website. Hotel website don't have anything about additional fees for children, and do not have any information on the resveration mail, result in checkout, but charge us an additional 150 euros.That's ridiculous!
And hotel facilities, twin bed is too small. Totally not worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qntiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    442
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
229
503
64
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I traveled across Europe for 18 days with my parents, my brother and his girlfriend. We booked this hotel based on the recommendations from Trip Advisor. I cannot believe what a horrible experience we had. If I could give this hotel a zero as a score I would. I have never been so disappointed with a hotel before. The hotel itself is mediocre. The second night we stayed there we were walking back and the hotel sign out front was on fire and fire was dripping on to a canvas tarp below it. My dad ran into the hotel and the man at the front desk had panicked and was locking the front door. My dad yelled at him to give him a fire extinguisher. My dad and my brother grabbed fire extinguishers and put the fire out. It was 15 minutes until the fire department arrived. (I included pictures of them putting out the fire and of the burnt sign). No fire alarm was ever hit in the building and most guests were unaware there was a fire outside of their window. The man at the front desk had inhaled some of the fire extinguisher powder and was having trouble breathing. Both my mother and I are nurses. We helped him to flush out his eyes and sit down and then we helped him to mop up the powder on the floors. While we were cleaning we saw a few guests leaving after the fire. The sign was next to the breakfast dining room and everything in the breakfast room was covered. The next morning the staff at the front desk were very appreciative and told my dad their colleague had told them what happened and they thanked us for putting out the fire and for cleaning when he wasn’t feeling well. We attempted to eat breakfast in the dining room, however there was fire extinguisher powder still on top of the food packages. Since fire extinguisher powder smothers oxygen, this is really unsafe to eat. Therefore we could not eat the “included breakfast” which we had paid for. The next night we came back and the front desk worker had locked himself out of the hotel. After waiting for 10 minutes to see if another worker would come down to the desk, he physically had to remove the door to let us in to the hotel (It was only about 8pm). When we got up to the rooms (we had booked 3) there were hundreds of small aunts in one of our rooms. We were up three separate flights of stairs and they were all coming from the closet and had gotten into the suitcase that was in that closet. We informed the front desk. A separate man at the desk was very nice and he helped us to sleep four people in one of our rooms and informed us the third room would be free for that night. When we went to check out in the morning, the woman at the front desk was the rudest individual I have ever encountered. She told us that she would make the third room free but she would charge us double for the room that had to sleep four people. She told my dad “you are a bad man for wanting that room for free”. You have got to be kidding me. Without my dad that hotel would not still be standing. Their employee had panicked and the fire department took too long. My dad informed her that he would just refuse part of the charge on his credit card once he got home. She started screaming so loud we could hear her from upstairs and saying that she was going to call the police on us. She actually had the nerve to tell us “there were not ants here when you got here”. What a joke. The staircases at this hotel are not even attached. How in the world would we get hundreds of small ants up three separate flights of stairs? When my dad asked her if she was accusing us of bringing the ants in, she retracted her statement and said “no”. When we were leaving I took pictures of the hotel for the credit card company. She came running out of the hotel and was physically holding on to my arm telling me that she “didn’t want to be bad on the website”. I cannot believe she physically put her hands on me. She kept telling me “you’ll be back”. Absolutely wrong. We won’t be back EVER. She also yelled “whatever you post on the website we will see”. I hope someone from Cosimo de Medici reads this. I would highly suggest finding another hotel to stay at in Florence. Every other hotel we stayed at in Italy and Switzerland were perfect. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone. Period. Our credit card company will take care of it from here. We have plenty of pictures as proof.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Nicole,
we are disconcerted how an objective fact could be so twisted. The outside hotel sign burned probably because of an electrical fault and - according to the law - our fire emergency alarm is stated up only by smoke detectors inside the hotel (seen that the fire was on the facade – not inside the building – the detector didn’t recognized it, so the alarm did not ring). Luckily your family and you advised us and we could ward off the spreading of fire. We thank you for that many times when you where here, also for your help given to our porter.
Then our porter put the fire out using the powder extinguisher which is not dangerous. All the staff here to Hotel Cosimo de’ Medici frequently attends training courses to manage a fire emergency and our colleague did his best without panic: when the firemen came the fire was already put out. The intervention time by the fire department is not under our control.
About the aunts “infestation”, we daily clean rooms and a periodical bug control is done in every room, and any bugs has never been fount in your room before or after your stay.
All other criticisms have been totally misrepresented and reported the intention to cause damage to our image; honestly do not understand that since all our staff has always been friendly and grateful to you and your family.
Therefore we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very handy to most things especially the train station. The staff were so friendly and always happy to help which made my stay much more enjoyable!! The room was very clean and the bed very comfy. Would highly recommend for a hotel thats not cheap cheap but not too expensive either.

Helpful?
Thank Maia J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Maia, thank you very very much for your nice review on trip advisor..it's really important for us..!!!
We do just our best to make your staying here one of the best in italia...:-) Hope to see you soon maybe next time we could do a little discount for you..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our trip...a little difficult to find when we got off the train. The room was okay, a bit dark but comfortable enough. Outside the window was a courtyard with some bricks in buckets (this should've been the first sign of possible trouble..). In the morning, the construction workers in the courtyard were quite loud and woke us up quite early. The maids were also quite loud talking in the hallways and being noisy while going about their work. For the cost of the night, I expected to at least be able to sleep well and comfortably. When we complained about the noise, we were told the construction workers were beyond the control of the staff (it was a Monday night- could we not have been in a room not adjacent to the courtyard when there would be construction the next morning? Or at least been warned about the possible noise the following morning) although the courtyard is accessible from the hotel.

Not impressed, and I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
dear Ms Whitney0150
Thank you for your review and we are sorry for the inconvenience that the work of building may have caused. Unfortunately we could not avoid these jobs because action was required for water tubes. However, we have asked the workers to respect the rest of our guests, as they did every day. Our hotel is situated only 100 meters from the railway station and is easily accessible on foot. We always recommend our guests to contact us in case you can not reach the front desk. Since our hotel is located in the historical building of the photographic archives of the Alinari brothers, we can not accommodate bigger sign outside. At your disposal for every need, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights. Adventage of this hotel is location, everithing was clean, nice personal. Weakness of our room pretty small, noisy from outside (good to have ear plug) really week and unstabile internet access. Dont forget do reservation of parking place in advence directly to hotel. Reservatino system didnt precesed it.

Helpful?
Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stefanorosselli, Proprietario at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Mr Michal,
Thank you for your review and we take note of the report fabout the wi-fi. We recommend to all our guests to book your parking space in advance, as suggested in our website. We are sorry that your room was noisy: Our rooms are all equipped with two double glazed windows but if required, we would have gladly done so to put it in an inside room. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Staying in this hotel was such a pleasure. The staff were uber friendly and asked how long I was staying and what the best attractions were to make the most of my time. Breakfast was a good selection, the coffee freshly made. The bathroom was small, but very clean and Eco friendly products.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you very much to give your opinion in tripadvisor...it's important for us..
We're really happy to hear from you that you enjoy your staying in our hotel..!!
We hope to see you soon...:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

The room appearance looks clean and modern, however, it's very noisy and poor constructed. You can hear the other person talking in the other room at night and woken up during early morning as people start leaving their room (Theres no lift to upper level, so all guess will walk pass other peoples room). Bathroom show sign of damage and lack of maintenance. We tired to request room change, but was turned down. However, the one positive thing is the location. This hotel is well located near train station. My recommendation is this hotel is a hit or miss, if you lucky, you may get a room at upper level and enjoy some quiet. If you don't want to take the chance, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an17d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Gentile Sig. AN17d,
Thank you for your review and for your time. We are sorry that the rooms have not fulfilled your expectations, but our staff is always available to our guests for each request, and if you wanted to, we would have gladly changed your accommodation. The comment is very useful to improve our performance. Sincerely

la direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#97 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#61 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#93 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#62 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing