We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #83 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food location”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed At this charming hotel with my Family. Staff is very helpful and polite, rooms are spacious clean and cozy.if you need information ask the night receptionist he is a very god source of advise on restaurant and things to do

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silistri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hello, thank you very much for your beautiful review on tripadvisor..it's really helpful for us..
We normally ask to him too where to go to eat is an excellent source..!!!
Arrivederci..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    462
    99
    26
    16
See reviews for
239
532
67
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The main advantage of this hotel is its location. It is just across the street from the Santa Maria Novella train station and is very central for exploring Florence on foot. The girl at reception was very friendly and provided us with maps and recommendations of what to see and do while visiting Florence. The bedroom was a little disappointing, it was just off the breakfast room so it was quite noisy from 6am in the morning. Also construction work was ongoing during our stay which added to the noise in the mornings. It didn't really bother us too much as we were up early in the mornings anyway, but it might be a big issue for other guests. The bedroom was very old traditional decor but was a decent size. However, the bathroom is tiny! On our last night, we arrived back at the hotel around 1am and the night porter had locked the front door. We pressed the buzzer several times, we could see him watching tv inside. We were standing outside approx 5 minutes before he eventually opened the door! I would recommend this hotel for its great location and the helpful receptionists.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Jane,thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor...
We apologize for the problem of the construction workers...and if you'll come back we'll give you a better room far away from breakfast room...we promise you..!! kisses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Overall, this hotel was just perfect for what my husband and I were seeking during our stay in Florence! The hotel was so close to the train station (about a 5 minute walk – if that). And while the street it is located on was not as appealing as the rest of the city streets (I believe there was some construction going on), it was still so close to the city center that it didn’t even matter, and we didn’t even notice because it really wasn’t even that bad. One walk to the nearest block and a turn or two and you were in front of all that Florence has to offer.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! I felt very safe here. The rooms were very nice, although our room didn’t look like any of the pictures people have posted on TripAdvisor. I think we may have gotten an older room maybe? Also, our room was very dark. There was not much natural light, which I realize when you are in a city, it won’t always be possible, so this was not a deal breaker, only an observation. My only complaint might be that the showers were so small. My husband and I are both tall, so we noticed this right away. But other than that, bathrooms were modern and clean. A great stay at Hotel Cosimo de Medici!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaaatie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hi katie, thank you really so much for your great review and for your helpful observation...
It's always a pleasure to meet people like you and we hope to see you again in the future...!!
Arrivederci..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A clean & comfortable hotel only 10 mins walk to the Duomo & less than 5 mins walk to the main train station.
Some rooms are small & look out onto the central courtyard where building work is ongoing. It will be much better when it is finished & you can sit out in this courtyard.
Breakfast is quite basic but tasty.
Staff are all helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandMichele007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hi Michele, thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor...!!!
We will wait for you next summer so you could enjoy our breakfast in the courtyard...!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in Hotel Cosimo de' Medici for two days. The good thing about the hotel was the great location. It was very close to the train station, and not to far away from the Duomo. We also loved the breakfast, which was fresh. One negative about the hotel, was the how old everything in the hotel was. There was also a lot of dust in the hotel, which caused a lot of sneezing in our family. Although the hotels location and service was great, the room itself wasn't that nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meme j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review on trip advisor.
Our hotel is dated back to the 18th century and we try to give it a typicall old tuscan style and we're sorry to read that you don't appreciated that. Sorry also for the dust we'll improve our service.
Thank you for give us your interesting opinion..!!
We hope to see you soon..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel was really nice and clean! The breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful! We ate at La Gratella which was delicious. The front desk clerk suggested it. We walked everywhere and this hotel was in a great location for that. We also did a day tour and we met at the train station which was really convenient based on our location. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hi Jennifer, thyank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor...!!!
We're really happy that you like everythi8ng we do for you..The trattoria we suffest you is one of the best nearby...even if in italy we almost eat well...:-) Come back to visit us...!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Because we are 3 adults with three children, we booked Quadruple rooms in the hotel's official website. Hotel website don't have anything about additional fees for children, and do not have any information on the resveration mail, result in checkout, but charge us an additional 150 euros.That's ridiculous!
And hotel facilities, twin bed is too small. Totally not worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qntiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#99 of 411 in Florence
658 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,217 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#101 of 411 in Florence
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing