We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #79 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
802 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Central Charm”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Florence. This charming hotel was well appointed and centrally located to the main attractions, shops, markets and restaurants. Exploring the city on foot was a great way to see Florence and its offerings. The staff were cheerful, attentive and knowledgeable. A good sized room, which was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for such a beautiful review on tripadvisor.
We're really happy that you enjoy the way to exploring Florence on foot...as you undestand is the best way to see the city and feel like a florentine...We hope to see you soon..
Arrivederci..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    469
    99
    27
    16
See reviews for
246
543
69
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I arrived for my first visit to Firenze, and Italy via train to spectate at the Road Cycling Championships. Cosimo de'Medici is a short 1 block walk from the Santa Maria Novella station. The staff speak multiple languages well and are extremely helpful and accommodating. In my case, they stored my luggage when I arrived early and later after I checked out and didn't catch my train until later in the evening. The streets surrounding the area are busy with people walking, eating out and enjoying the sights of Florence. As a solo woman I felt very safe regardless of time of day. The room was a good size for Europe and also nicely cleaned. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small - and the shower into its corner, but this is no problem. Large people would not fit easily, but large people generally are not going to fit into Italy's scale of accommodation. There is a small fridge and the air conditioner worked well. I opted to open the window and did have a couple of mosquitoes in my room. Breakfast is buffet style in a lovely room overlooking the street. A wonderful lady is there to serve you the beverage of your choice and that was a cappuccino for me. There are a variety of food options that should satisfy any taste. Juice, fruit (canned + apples), yoghurts, pastries, croissants, toast & nutella and jam, hardboiled eggs, cereals, as well as a couple of hot items. The best part of this hotel is the staff. They go out of the way to be helpful and interested and I felt like I was staying at a friends. I would absolutely stay here next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetravelovehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you a lot for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.
We are really happy to have made an unforgettable stay in Florence, it's just the way we work.
We hope to see you again in your next travel on italy...
Arrivederci..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the historic Hotel Cosimo de' Medici in Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence for 3 nights last week. What a wonderful retreat! It is situated one small block up from the main station. Hence the close proximity of the Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideal if taking the train into Florence. We had trained into Florence from Rome. We effectively walked around the corner from the train station to the hotel and having done 3 train journeys in 36 hours, one from Rome to Sulmona L'Aquila in Abruzzo, then back to Rome to connect with the train to Florence hence, it was paramount the hotel was nearby as one would imagine my husband and I were quite tired upon arrival in Florence. We found also the train station very well ordered and easy to get around.
We found the staff at the hotel welcoming and we're able to give any information we required for directions to a good eatery nearby, any major tourist sites and were able to give even background to various attractions. We found our room exceeding quiet and very well appointed with the suite being spacious. We slept well in the suite unlike in Venice where it was difficult to sleep due internal noise in the hotel and external noise outside the hotel. The morning breakfast which was included in our hotel package offered an extensive range of buffet items to cater for all food tastes. The staff in the breakfast buffet area were warm, friendly and Rita one of the morning buffet staff excelled in her delivery of obliging us with whatever we requested. However, I must comment on all hotel staff, reception and housekeeping staff were very efficient and nothing was too much bother for them. The hotel was within walking distance to all the major historic attractions, all eating establishments and nearby to shopping whether one was a backpacker on a limited budget or preferred high end designer items and fashion.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor corner suite just up the corridor from the breakfast buffet room near s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review on tripadvisor. We're really happy that you find our hotel a ''wonderful retreat'' and you enjoy your staying here with us..
We hope to see you again maybe in summer...!!!
Arrivederci...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel its very well located, 2 blocks from the train station. Its very well decorated, feels everything is new and clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It has smokers patio, coffee room available all day and the breakfast is fantastic. The room is spacious and the bed is big and comfortable. There is AC and good wifi connection. The whole experience in the hotel was great, we were very satisfied and happy. Would definitely stay here again if we come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuateRider_650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente, muchisima gracias por su comentario en tripadvisor. Estamos muy contentos que su estancia en nuestro hotel fue agradable.
Si volveras a Florencia esperamos verlos de nuevo en nuestro hotel.
Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Blocks away from the Duomo, San Lorenzo Market and Piazza de Santa Maria. We are from Chicago, USA and went to Florence on our honeymoon. Out of three other cities we visited in Europe, this hotel blows all others out of the water. The moment you walk in to the hotel, you smell this fresh, great smell from clean, just mopped floors. When we walked into our room, we had the floor-to-ceiling balcony door open to a nice breeze coming into our room. Beautiful, and clean rooms with unique antique looking furniture. Beds are comfy and you are simply just happy to be back to your hotel after having an amazing day walking the streets of Florence.

Breakfast is included each day, which was a very nice display of many options. All were delicious.

Above all, the best thing about this hotel was the staff. No matter who was at the front desk, they greeted you with a smile and cheerful "Ciao!" Extremely helpful, informative and just happy to do their job. We will without hestitation book with them again when we return for our 5 year anniversary.

Special thank you to Bea, one of the staff, who even assisted us 5 days AFTER we had stayed with them. We had 3 hours to spare on our way coming from Rome to catch a Florence train (which by the way the train is literally a block away). She remembered us immediately, let us leave our luggage there for 2 hours, so we could enjoy one more dinner in Florence before catching our train.

My husband and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in Florence.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor up and loved our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Megan thank you very much for your wonderful review, we just do our best to make every guest feel at home.
We are very happy to have contributed to an unforgettable Italian honeymoon..!!!
We hope to see you soon maybe for one of your anniversary...!!!
Arrivederci...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I had a European honeymoon that started in London and we traveled all the way to Rome and back. Florence was by far the highlight of the trip and this hotel is a big reason why. I only know a little bit of Italian, but it did not matter because everyone at the desk spoke English and very well. We were greeted with smiles and just an overall warmness that made you feel like family right away. We were really early for check-in but they were able to get us a freshly mopped, extremely clean and wonderful smelling room right away. It was a good sized room (bigger than the London and Rome rooms) The location is great. just a couple minutes to the Duomo and San Lorenzo market. and Florence in general is a really walk-able city. There is a grocery store across the street which came in handy for bottles of water and snacks.
The staff is out of this world and really does go above and beyond. They made reservations to restaurants and museums for us and every morning and evening they were very welcoming and knew each of the guests. We would leave our key at the desk and we wouldn't even have to tell them which number we were, they knew, especially Bea. She was always smiling and always willing to do whatever she could to make our stay better.
On our way back up to London from Rome we stopped back in Florence for a few hours with no place to put our bags so we took a chance and asked her and she was more than helpful even let us freshen up in the bathroom.
We will be going back to Europe and more specifically Florence and when we do, we will be sure to stay here in fact i would live here if it was possible.I do not understand the negative reviews, but to each their own i guess. Take it from me, you would be doing yourself a disservice if you booked a stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear guest, we do not know how to thank you for the beautiful words used to describe us and our hotel. We are very happy to have contributed to an unforgettable honeymoon in Italy, we just do our best to make every guest feel like at home.
We really hope to see you soon..
Ciao..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby Ont.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here mid Sept 2013, loved it for several reasons. We had a nice room with Balcony onto street for people watching, double thermo windows closed out street noise when we needed them. Desk staff very friendly and helpful at booking museums hints etc. It was a great location for us as we took a train into Florence from Pisa and another out to Rome. SMN train station is literally 4 minutes away Breakfast was excellent, with eggs bacon and pastries and excellent coffee. Afternoon self serve coffee was a nice touch, same area Supermarket Soporini's across the street had great pizza sandwiches and lazagna etc for take out. we often ate in the terrace garden area, several tables . Downside: no elevator to second floor where we stayed, but if you can walk 6 hours a day to see this beautiful city you'll probably live with the extra flight of stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59DenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Den, there are not enough words to thank you infinitely for your review.
We were really pleased to have contributed to make your stay in Florence memorable and we hope to see you again..
Arrivederci..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 412 in Florence
497 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#66 of 412 in Florence
542 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#96 of 412 in Florence
675 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#58 of 412 in Florence
1,232 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing