We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderfull” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cosimo de'Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Ranked #80 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Czech Republic
1 review
“wonderfull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

On our recent trip to Italy, Florence, we were staying in COSIMO DE MEDICI a wonderful hotel in the centre of Florence. The location of the hotel is great, we were in the centre of everything.
As well the accomodation and cuisine were very good with friendly and helpful employees.
We wanted to share our excellent experience with others who may be visiting Florence in the future.
K.D. Macan

  • Liked — friendly and helpful staff,location
  • Disliked — ----------
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tukaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    400
    86
    24
    16
See reviews for
203
459
59
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

This hotel is located in the most convenient location in Florence. It is right across the street from the train station (Santa Maria Nouvella) and it is steps away from the great sites situated in Florence. It is definitely a comfortable hotel, as we stayed in a quad. If you are looking for a quaint place to stay right in the heart of Florence this is the place for you. And be sure to visit the restaurant a few doors down from the hotel for some of the best pizza. Although from the outside it may look a little unsafe, this hotel is truly a safe place to stay because they locked the gate at night and you had to be buzzed into the hotel after a certain hour. Safety at its prime.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank divaheart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

The hotel is located near the station which was only a short walk away. Set back from the road, it took two attempts to find it. The room was clean, the bed comfortable but the shower room was tiny, but adequate. The room had air conditioning and also had additional glazing to keep the noise out from the street.

The staff were helpful and friendly and a good breakfast was provided. The hotel was very convenient, San Lorenzo Market and Mercato Centrale were just around the corner. Il Duomo was a 10 minute walk and the Palazzo Vecchio a 15 minute walk.

I thought the hotel was reasonable value and perfect for our two night stay. I would definitely use the hotel again for a short stay.

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paddington58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

well, the pictures dont tell the whole story. the rooms are small...but ok. The bathroom is miniscule. there is nowhere even to put a brush, let alone cosmetics. the shower is narrow and tiny and you are lucky if you fit into it. in our room, the tv barely worked and we could not access cnn or any other english network. as for that apartment that some people write about, the mattress is actually a boxspring, and the loft sleeping area is at the top of steep stairs. the bathroom, of course, is downstairs. For $165 a night, it is ok. you might be able to do better, but the only reviews i can agree with are those that say the staff is helpful and friendly. And, that an added perk is that internet is free and it is very close to the train station.

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — the bathroom and the small rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PEZMOM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

This hotel was excellently located within walking distrance to the train station. The staff were very helpful, happy and could easily communicate in English. Our breakfasts in the morning were good, there was excellent choice and the dining room it was served in was nicely set up but a little cramped. The rooms were back from the street making them very quiet in such a noisy city.

Unfortunately the saying - you get what you pay for, really showed in this hotel. I did request mid range priced accommodation in Florence as it was very expensive to stay there. I found the room very dark and old but adequate. The lighting needed brighter globes, the window opened up into a small central area that people above strung their laundry across and the air conditioning units worked from. The bathroom had a little mildew on the wall and was very small but clean. The cords near the television had some exposed wiring so we had to be careful when using the outlet to recharge our phones etc. I found it a little depressing whenever we came back to our room but we spent most of our days out and about anyway.

As I commented earlier you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark, old rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank funnycarsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

Hotel Cosimo de'Medici is a wonderful quant/warm hotel. The decor is beautifully done, rooms are clean, computer friendly, parking if necessary, close to the train station (no cab needed), close to the duomo, uffizi, the market, not too far a walk to ponte vecchio (the old bridge), or even Piazza Independenza and Piazzia Signoria. The staff are wonderful, friendly and VERY knowledgable about every detail of Florence, surrounding cities, wonderful restaurants (that are not so tourist filled but the best of the locals) and speak several languages! You are in good hands during your stay there. I have stayed there many times over the years and it only gets better! You cannot go wrong to plan any time with Hotel Cosimo de'Medici, family, business they meet all your needs!

  • Liked — I felt comfortable their, beds were pretty good.
  • Disliked — never enough time there, no fault of the hotel :)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lisavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

We stayed here twice during out trip to Italy. The staff was super friendly. I cannot say enough about how helpful they were during our stay. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable enough (for a european hotel). Each room had a small flat screen TV with CNN (for the non-Italian speakers, like me) and free wireless internet access. The hotel was affordable and centrally located. Even though it was close to the train station and on a pretty busy street, the rooms on the street had double windows that really helped deaden the sound.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shelingas_sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#167 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de'Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de'Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de'Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. Nevertheless, it is locates out of the restricted area and can be reached by cars. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. In addition to this, a small parking area can be booked for only 15 euro per day. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de'Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing