We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #83 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good location and staff.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I'm keeping this review brief as normally I go on a bit. The hotel was booked with a good discount as Florence isn't a cheap destination.
We had room 118, which seemed to be a family room. It wasn't the nicest I've stayed in; a bit dark as the view was only of a small yard with pipes and air-con units opposite, and washing lines further up the building. You only knew if the sun was out by craning your neck up to look out of the window in the mornings The décor was quite "1970s", nothing like the photos I've seen on TA.
Anyway,the room was adequate with 2 single beds (pushed together) and a single bed by the windows. There was also a foldaway bed by the wardrobe; but I think the room would be too crowded for 4.
The very small breakfast area was just outside, but as others have said, you need to be up early to get the best of the food. First 2 days there was bacon, but none after that. But there was always something to fill up on.
All the staff were absolutely lovely though; I cannot find fault with any of them, the cleaning staff always made sure the hotel smelt fresh and were always busy. Well done to you all.
There is a small area with 2 armchairs and 2 small patio tables for the smokers, with a (past its best) gazebo over it. It doesn't get any sun and I think it is only rarely used. Again, nothing like the photo on TA.
So I don't sound too miserable, the hotel itself is ideally placed for walking to all the sights and the station, is clean and the staff are fabulous.

Room Tip: Avoid room 118. Ask for a modern updated room. The coffee supplied near the breakfast room on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMeSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
we all thank you very much for taking your time to write such a detailed review about your stay in our Hotel. Of course the opinion of the customers who have stayed with us is fundamental for our work, and we would certainly prefer to receive a review free of negative parts. We are desolated that the room assigned to you is not to your liking, and above all we're sorry to hear all this from a review, rather than directly from you. Surely we could have done much more during your stay if we had known of your problems.
As you wrote, our staff is always available to guests, with all the kindness and professionalism of which we are capable, and always trying to do our best to make you feel comfortable and pampered.
Hope to have you back as our guest to make you change your mind on the issues that you have considered negative.
We remain at your disposal.
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    462
    99
    26
    16
See reviews for
239
532
67
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Florence is a bustling tourist attraction, so space for a hotel is at a premium. The Hotel Cosimo De Medici is right in the heart of the old city, near the train station, thus offers the perfect location for excursions into all the most important attractions. The price to be paid is a very small and unattractive hotel entrance, and very small room. The hotel sign is small and hard to pick out, and there is no real lobby, just a drab little hole in the wall. The room itself is very small, and somewhat drab, but very high ceilings ease the sense of claustrophobia. There is a tiny bathroom with tiny shower, and a small, very high, writing desk. The bed was hard and not conducive to good sleep, but the room was very quiet. There were no tissues, a surprising omission for a three star hotel. The breakfast room was pleasant and the food excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr Hikermeis,
thank you for your review . We are sorry that you have difficulty to find the street of the hotel, but , as it is specified in our website, our accomodation is located in the Ancient Palace of Alinari photographers. For this reason the local administration does not allow us to have a bigger sign on the facade of the building. Anyway our staff is always available by phone to clarify the directions to reach our hotel. The Palace was built in XVI century , so the hotel was arranged in a prehexisting building . Our rooms have different size but all of them respect the dimensions according to theitalian law. Anyway in case of special needs, at the time of reservation it is possible to request a larger room for three or four persons. In any case as you have written in your review, they have a high roof. Moreover all our bathrooms are recently restored and they are really comfortable. As you wrote, the position of the hotel is perfect to visit the city centre. The rooms are so quiet and our buffet breakfast is good and various. Finally we hope that your stay was pleasent.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Florence. A short walk from the train station and a few minutes walk to Florence's main tourist site, the Duomo! The room was spacious and clean with air con. The breakfast was continental with a lot of choices, cereals, croissants, eggs etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Angela,
we all thank you so much for the wonderful description of our hotel that you left here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your stay was really good and that you appreciated the hotel location and its services. The opinion of all our customers is very important to us and your judgment makes us extremely proud of our work.
Hoping to see you again here soon.
Arrivederci!!!
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is very simple but it is well located in Florença , near the train station and the main streets of the city center. Ask for a room far from the restaurant . They begin to work very early and if you have a light sleep it will be a problem. A honest breakfast and very nice treatment from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the restaurant . They begin to work very early and if you have a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for the time you spent in writing this good review about your stay in our Hotel. You opinion is very important for us, and it helps us to improve every day our standard.
We are happy to know that in general your stay here has been positive and pleasant.
Hoping to see you again here as our kind guest. Arrivederci...!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was my first time in Florence and I was hoping for a central location so that I could easily get around the city and see and do as much as possible. Overall, I would say the location was perfect, a short walk to the Duomo, near the train station and plenty of choices around the hotel for eating, shopping etc. The rooms themselves were updated and modern, but did not lose the old world charm that I was hoping for. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast pastries were great! I hope to be back in Florence before too long, and if so, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 370tonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Tony,
we all thank you so much for such a beautiful review, for spending your time in writing it and for using such a wonderful description to show our hotel to other people.
We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here and all the services we offered you.
We really hope to see you again here for your next trip to Italy.
Staying at your disposal.
Best regards,
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It in good location for transport and fair breakfast. Staff is helpful. The only problem was insect bite on bed for my daughter and my wife. We noticed this only when they spread out a bit. Pest control certainly needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dan Tak Kee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr. Dan Tak K,
we made a staff verification and we did not notice any guest complain here to us. We kindly ask you to be sure that your travel experience refers to our hotel as in Florence and in many other places in Italy there are hotels with similar name.
We emphasize that our hotel applies regular hygiene & cleanliness monitoring with an out-house specialized company and we never had problems like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights here and wished we had booked longer. The place has been recently renovated and they have done an excellent job. Our room was tastefully decorated and a good size. The proximity to the rail station was perfect as we arrived from Venice. Being near to the centre and all the attractions of Florence was another bonus. Breakfasts offered varied and tastful choices.The highlight we felt, was the incredibly informative girl on the front desk. She was, in short, fabulous. A hive of information, recommendations and directions, she added to what was a wonderful stay. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Chris,
there are no enough words to thank you for such a wonderful review. We are really pleased to have contributed to a great stay here in Florence, and we really hope to have you here again as our guests for a longer period.
See you for your next trip to Italy...
Arrivederci..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#99 of 411 in Florence
658 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,219 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#101 of 411 in Florence
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing