We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #82 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here towards the end of June 2013 and would absolutely stay there again.

There is just a five minute walk to the station and probably no more than 15 minutes to the square where the majority of landmarks are. The staff also made this trip great because they were so helpful and explained where best to eat etc.

Room was great, clean and couldn't fault it. We were out exploring most of the time, so I would recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamoM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Proprietario at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mr. Damian
thank you so much for your pleasant review
All our staff is happy about it and we are satisfied to read that you had a good time in our hotel. Hope to see you again in Florence
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    455
    97
    25
    16
See reviews for
234
522
67
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from 10/6 to 12/6. We were satisfied when we stayed at here. Unfortunately, it was a nightmare after our check-out. I used my credit card for the reservation before we arrived the hotel. We asked the staff if we could use another credit card's for the payment when we checked-out. They said yes and my husband's card was finally used.

However, when we checked with our bank after went back to our country, I was told that my card (supposed to be used for reservation, but NOT for payment) was charged!! And they also hold the authorization of my husband's card!! The most weird thing is that my card was charged on 13/6 which was the day after we checked-out!?

I was very disappointed about their poor arrangement and the communication among the staff. I think this kind of issue was unacceptable as it makes me very confused. The most importantly, the issue has not been settled even today is already 27/6!! Which is two weeks after our check-out!!!

If you will stay at this hotel, remember not to give them two credit cards for reservation and payment because all of your credit cards may also be charged!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yan20150000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Proprietario at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sirs
thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to read that you had a nice time in our hotel during your stay.
We are sorry to read about the inconveniences you had with the preauthorization. We did not get any information by your side before reading this review, so we could not help you faster.
When we receive a new reservation we always ask for a preauthorization before the guest arrival, and seen that you used a different credit card at the check out time, you got 1 charge on the second card given, and 1 preauthorization on the card communicated at the reservation time. If we kwen that the preauthorization unblock (that should be done quite soon after check our time by the credit card company) was been so slow, we could call the credit card operator to ask to do it immediately. Thank you for your comprehension,
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were very happy with our stay. The hotel is minutes away from Florence Santa Maria Novella rail station by foot and an easy walk to Duomo, Acadameia, and Uffizi...it's a great location. While building was older, Room #240 was very nice, clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished/decorated, and was quite quiet notwithstanding overlooking a very busy street. Rates are very reasonable. There are a lot of Laundromats in immediate vicinity (few hundred feet) and would definitely recommend setting aside some time to use them rather than have hotel send out laundry which was quite expensive (but badly needed). Would have appreciated some written instructions on how to operate a/c but ultimately figured out and it did a great job of cooling room. Nice eating area with good breakfasts with lots of choices. All personnel were unfailing cordial, personable, and friendly but we did have to ask three different people on separate occasions before inoperative exhaust fan in bath was replaced. Definitely would recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithbob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Proprietario at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear M. Travelswi,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to read that you have a good time in Florence and in our hotel. We hope to see you next time in Toscana,
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Excellent location - just 5-minute walk from Santa Maria Novella train station. A good choice for those people who don't like walk too much with their luggage. But may not be ideal for those people who want to stay in the old town since it take around 15 minutes to walk to Duomo. But the buildling where the hotel is a bit old. The entrance is inside the building and you may almost miss the entrance if you don't pay attention. Furnishing & facilities in the room are a bit old. But the hotel price is reasonable considering hotel in Florence is normally rather expensive and you may not demand more. Need to give a special thank you note to the staff in reception. I met 3 different receptionists and all of them are friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazysoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,
the all staff thank you so much for such a good description of our Hotel, and of your experience in Florence. We thank you so much for the time you spent in writing this review on Tripadvisor. . We are happy to know the your stay here was positive and pleasant and that our staff was kind and helpful.
For all these reasons we hope to see you again here as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I'm keeping this review brief as normally I go on a bit. The hotel was booked with a good discount as Florence isn't a cheap destination.
We had room 118, which seemed to be a family room. It wasn't the nicest I've stayed in; a bit dark as the view was only of a small yard with pipes and air-con units opposite, and washing lines further up the building. You only knew if the sun was out by craning your neck up to look out of the window in the mornings The décor was quite "1970s", nothing like the photos I've seen on TA.
Anyway,the room was adequate with 2 single beds (pushed together) and a single bed by the windows. There was also a foldaway bed by the wardrobe; but I think the room would be too crowded for 4.
The very small breakfast area was just outside, but as others have said, you need to be up early to get the best of the food. First 2 days there was bacon, but none after that. But there was always something to fill up on.
All the staff were absolutely lovely though; I cannot find fault with any of them, the cleaning staff always made sure the hotel smelt fresh and were always busy. Well done to you all.
There is a small area with 2 armchairs and 2 small patio tables for the smokers, with a (past its best) gazebo over it. It doesn't get any sun and I think it is only rarely used. Again, nothing like the photo on TA.
So I don't sound too miserable, the hotel itself is ideally placed for walking to all the sights and the station, is clean and the staff are fabulous.

Room Tip: Avoid room 118. Ask for a modern updated room. The coffee supplied near the breakfast room on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMeSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
we all thank you very much for taking your time to write such a detailed review about your stay in our Hotel. Of course the opinion of the customers who have stayed with us is fundamental for our work, and we would certainly prefer to receive a review free of negative parts. We are desolated that the room assigned to you is not to your liking, and above all we're sorry to hear all this from a review, rather than directly from you. Surely we could have done much more during your stay if we had known of your problems.
As you wrote, our staff is always available to guests, with all the kindness and professionalism of which we are capable, and always trying to do our best to make you feel comfortable and pampered.
Hope to have you back as our guest to make you change your mind on the issues that you have considered negative.
We remain at your disposal.
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Florence is a bustling tourist attraction, so space for a hotel is at a premium. The Hotel Cosimo De Medici is right in the heart of the old city, near the train station, thus offers the perfect location for excursions into all the most important attractions. The price to be paid is a very small and unattractive hotel entrance, and very small room. The hotel sign is small and hard to pick out, and there is no real lobby, just a drab little hole in the wall. The room itself is very small, and somewhat drab, but very high ceilings ease the sense of claustrophobia. There is a tiny bathroom with tiny shower, and a small, very high, writing desk. The bed was hard and not conducive to good sleep, but the room was very quiet. There were no tissues, a surprising omission for a three star hotel. The breakfast room was pleasant and the food excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr Hikermeis,
thank you for your review . We are sorry that you have difficulty to find the street of the hotel, but , as it is specified in our website, our accomodation is located in the Ancient Palace of Alinari photographers. For this reason the local administration does not allow us to have a bigger sign on the facade of the building. Anyway our staff is always available by phone to clarify the directions to reach our hotel. The Palace was built in XVI century , so the hotel was arranged in a prehexisting building . Our rooms have different size but all of them respect the dimensions according to theitalian law. Anyway in case of special needs, at the time of reservation it is possible to request a larger room for three or four persons. In any case as you have written in your review, they have a high roof. Moreover all our bathrooms are recently restored and they are really comfortable. As you wrote, the position of the hotel is perfect to visit the city centre. The rooms are so quiet and our buffet breakfast is good and various. Finally we hope that your stay was pleasent.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Florence. A short walk from the train station and a few minutes walk to Florence's main tourist site, the Duomo! The room was spacious and clean with air con. The breakfast was continental with a lot of choices, cereals, croissants, eggs etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Angela,
we all thank you so much for the wonderful description of our hotel that you left here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your stay was really good and that you appreciated the hotel location and its services. The opinion of all our customers is very important to us and your judgment makes us extremely proud of our work.
Hoping to see you again here soon.
Arrivederci!!!
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#98 of 422 in Florence
639 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 422 in Florence
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
788 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
486 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#99 of 422 in Florence
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing