We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Ranked #84 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

My wife and i spent three nights in the Cosimo de Medici. We really enjoyed Florence and couldn't have asked for a better located hotel. It is a few minutes walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station (where we arrived on the train from Rome) absolutely everything you could hope to see in Florence is within about 15 minutes walk from this hotel. This is a very good hotel which i would have no problem recomending to a friend- the only reason it doesn't get four stars is because the bathroom in our room was really, really small. Other than that the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and quiet, breakfast was good, free internet access. Great value and service all round!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    453
    96
    25
    16
See reviews for
234
516
65
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I must say that the service from the staff at this hotel was wonderful. Front desk staff spoke English, thankfully. Communication via e-mail was very helpful.The precious young lady made reservatons for museums and a tour to a winery in Chianti, saving us hours of waiting. Our quad room for four ladies was spacious and clean. Could use some higher wattage light bulbs, but that is the case in many places. An adequate
breakfast was included. Two blocks from the train station. A good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPJShreveport_LA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seoul
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

very convenient location,
very kind staffs,
clean & pretty room,
very good breakfast,
but.. cold room & floor, you need warm clothes.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddubori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The hotel is located perfectly on walking distance from the Santa Maria Novella railwaystation as well as all the sights in the old part of Florence. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is fairly good, the only thing I missed was a selection of fresh fruit. The personal is extraordinary friendly and helpful, quite in their own class.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carobello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The members of the hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Cleanliness and central location of the hotel are worth mentioning, too. Moreover, the sound-proof windows ensure an undisturbed sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamburgMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The hotel is very convenient and just 5 mins walk from SMN station. However, it took us quite awhile to locate the hotel as the sign was not obvious while walking down the street. We were really grateful that we bumped into a nice local lady who helped us locate the hotel and brought us to the entrance as we were walking up and down the street a few times.
We stayed in their Modern room and it is clean and neat and the staff were very efficient and friendly. We have free WIFI access in the room but required to enter the login name and password every now and then.
Their breakfast is the best among the rest of the hotels we stayed in other parts of Italy.
It is also near to most of the attractions and located on a busy but safe street.
Generally, quite satisfied with this hotel and can't find any complaints.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessyslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We loved the modern, spacious, and clean quadruple room and bathroom with our two "tween" children. It was very close to the train station and an easy walk to historic Florence. However close, it was tucked in a quiet courtyard. Service was also great--staff handled unforeseen problems (power outage in the area, crowded parking lot) and regular issues (directions, internet connectivity) with friendliness and courtesy.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#97 of 422 in Florence
636 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#65 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 422 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
787 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
484 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#74 of 422 in Florence
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Property: Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#141 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of the historic center of Florence, in front of the Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes' walk from the Duomo and from all the most important museums and churches of the city, and from the most famous boutique and fashion stores. The Cosimo de' Medici offers 26 rooms decorated with tastefull furnitures, all recently restaured, that will accommodate our guest in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Each room has a private, internal bathroom, and is equipped with: frigobar, safety box, air conditioning, telephone, TV with satellite and free Wifi access. The Hotel is located inside the restricted area to traffic (ZTL), thus, we shall communicate Your plate number to the police in order to let You have a free access by car. Besides this, we are pleased to offer parking spots for € 16 per day, on request, inside out courtyard. Our Reception, open 24 h a day, is at Your full assistance before, during and after Your stay for any need You may have. In particular, we will be pleased to arrange for You tours, to book museums and restaurants, to provide a babysitter for Your kids, and to store Your luggage (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing