We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and well decorated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000
Ranked #223 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Spacious and well decorated rooms”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

As per title, nothing more the say, just perfect! Nice Inn keeper who is very keen to tell u all about florence, recommending good restaurants at the same time. At this very moment im looking at my room in this extra
large bed, it just gives me a big smile, no regrets! I would definitely recommend my frds to stay here, and would devo stay here if I ever visit florence again!

One down side to my room though, is that the hot water tank has a capacity of pretty muchone girl's worth of shower time. This renders you having to take the shower with your partner together before the hot water runs out.

Helpful?
Thank Kelf C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    41
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
64
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place couldn't be in a better location literally within 5 minutes of the main attractions in Florence and in an area packed with good restaurants and bars.Sergio (the owner) was very friendly and really helpful.The room was huge and very clean,personally i think it could do with a bit of updating but this could have been just our room.The bathroom was an ok size,it looked like two rooms could be connected together as there was a corridor from our room to the bathroom and the actual bathroom was behind a shower curtain between our room's access and another door.The room was quite dimly lit. There was loads of info in the room on the things to do in Florence and books on the Duomo etc. The bed was comfy but the room was quite noisy at night and on my husbands side of the bed it sounded like there was a boiler or water pipe directly behind him which was quite loud.Overall a really good choice for central Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Not only was the location great, the owner and manager, Sergio was very helpful with all our needs - booking us a private tour for Tuscan sites, helping us with our transportation requirements to the airport, printing out our boarding passes, etc.

The rooms were very Florentine but had all the modern amenities you need when you travel. It even has a communal kitchen where residents can cook plus a common dining area or if you prefer, you can dine in the "garden" in the airwell area.

Overall, a great place to stay in when you are in Firenze - everything is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We pride ourselves in finding our way around and walking or using public transportation but, since it was at night and we were unsure of the bus routes, we took a taxi to the Galileo 2000. Thank goodness we did and thank goodness we had a great taxi driver. Our driver took us through the maze of tiny streets as only an one knowledgeable about the city could. As we walked away from his car, we considered which lane to walk down to find the Galileo. He called us back and pointed to one of the large doors in a building the size of a city block - we didn't see a sign and were confused. He kindly got out of his car and walked over to point at the small list of name plates to the right of a big door (we don't speak Italian and he didn't speak English). The Galileo is listed but we would have SO missed it! Since the door is kept locked, you then press the buzzer next to its name and the owner remotely unlocks the door. The B&B is on the second floor - you can take the stairs or ride the tiny elevator. After check-in, you get a key so you can come and go as you like. We took a walk around the Duomo that night which is a great idea as there are no crowds to wade through. I can't imagine a better location. The bed was comfortable enough. The room was spotless. We only met one owner - he was very nice and speaks English. We bought coupons for a breakfast in the bar downstairs (I don't know if this is what is common for this B&B or if it was because only one owner was there). The breakfast was nothing special but okay. The common area was very nice and if the owner is at his desk, he will happily tell you where to go - he is very knowledgable. We will make sure to stay at the Galileo again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baker375f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My sons and I have just returned from our stay with Sergio at BandB Galileo...The most perfect location with all the amenities one could ask for...not pretentious, but comfortable and very clean. One can access every sight and shop from piazza Firenze and relax in the square with food and drink! The bathrooms are modern and the furnishings comfortable. The jewel, however, is Sergio! He is charming , knowledgeable and efficient...who could ask for more?! Sara Lee

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saralee925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in this wonderful B&B, with a spacious room in May 2013. This is a 15th century feel of the room while still having a modern room mantaining the romantic feel of the old palace it is situated. The rooms are beautifully decorated and were very clean. This beautiful B&B is perfectly located almost opposite to the Bargello Museum, and just a few steps away from Piazza della Signora!! Sergio was a wonderful host who helped us in just about anything as well as Victoria who made wonderful capucchinos. The perfect place to stay in Florence. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence.

Room Tip: Perfect stay, couple steps from Bargello Museum and Piazza della Signora
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Galileo in Florence was fantastic! Great location walking distance toost areas..like uffizi gallery duomo squadre... clean and very beautiful room.
Best breakfast in italy....
Needless to stay, we highly recommend Galileo 2000 B&B for your stay in Florence. ..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#81 of 675 in Florence
297 reviews
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#127 of 675 in Florence
208 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#43 of 305 in Florence
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Casa del Garbo
La Casa del Garbo
#46 of 675 in Florence
504 reviews
Duomo
Residence La Repubblica
Residence La Repubblica
#46 of 305 in Florence
184 reviews
Uffizi
Soggiorno Antica Torre
Soggiorno Antica Torre
#204 of 675 in Florence
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000

Property: Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000
Address: Piazza di San Firenze 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000 is located in the heart of historic Florence, in a picturesque XIV century palace, totally renovated with fascinating views to the Piazza di San Firenze, and the Palazzo del Bargello (National Museum) and the Church of St. Filippo Neri.This unique and strategic location allows visits to all the museums and monuments on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing