We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, not too clean”
Review of Hotel Axial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Axial
Ranked #178 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Location is great, it is a few minutes walk to Palazzo Vecchio and Academia.

The room was quite large but bathroom was quite cramped. The room wasn't too clean and I am sure the sheets were not change for our entire stay (3 nights).

They have free Wifi, but it's really slow and unstable. I can barely use it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dorami-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Axial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed 4 days and very happy we did. Location is absolutely the best. One block from the Duomo, 5 minutes from the Piazza Signorino, less than 10 minutes from the Accademia and Uffizi museums as well as the Ponte Vecchio. Restaurants, Gelateria, Bancomats and sites abound. About 15 minutes to the train station. Rooms were average but comfortable and breakfast was good. The service was absolutely wonderful. Talked to 4 different front desk staff and each was as helpful as possible. If I ever return to Florence will stay here again without doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 that was set up for handicapped in that it had a bathroom with a seat and suppo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Axial for five nights. The location is excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange several side tours which allowed us to experience Florence and the surrounding area. It was within easy walking distance to most of the sights in Florence, and to the train and bus station. We also felt is was a a very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The Axial is a boutique hotel in an older style building and this is a large part of its appeal. Entry is by double wooden doors with a very discrete sign above and around some internal corridors.
It is fun as it is nothing like the generic hotels most of us stay in most of the time. The location is terrific, as others have noted. It was about a fifteen minute very easy walk to Florence Train Station, even dragging luggage.
The staff was terrific: all were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room was very clean. Included continental breakfast was a bonus.
Issues: the internet was frustratingly slow and intermittently stopped working at all- I assume when too many guests logged on.
It can get very noisy outside because of its central location and sometimes even the double glazing and the internal shutters are not enough to shut out the noise. Also, noisy guests in the corridor are very clearly heard inside the rooms.
Note: Hotel reviewed as a three star hotel.
Despite the issues, we were very happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel Axial for a week at Easter. What a lovely little establishment! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was neatly appointed and clean, the breakfast was good and the location was excellent!! This hotel is a gem in the middle of a pedestrian area just steps from The Duomo, and a few minutes walk from the train station, museums and Ponte Vecchio. I recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I were to return to Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ymarec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed eight days at the Axial so I really got to know it. The hotel is fine if you aren't going to be in the room much. Location is good -- near the Duomo -- but Florence is a compact city and many hotels offer fine locations. The staff varies from friendly to indifferent. Breakfasts are adequate with some choice of cereals, yogurt, cheese and pastries. Coffee from machine is terrible. Rooms are clean and functional. Mine opened onto a very small patio where twice someone smoked a cigar. There was kitchen noise in the early a.m. I booked the Axial partly because I needed high speed internet service to conduct an hour or two of work each day. This was a disaster. It was off some days, very slow others. Even worse, the management offered a slew of varying explanations, some of which blamed me and my devices. I've had the problem nowhere else. English language TV channels: CNN and BBC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 196John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a very central hotel, right in the middle of everything. Hotel was very nice, staff were lovely. Rooms are nice and clean and there is a shower in the bathroom which for us was good as we were travelling with something who wouldn't have been able to use a bath/shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#218 of 411 in Florence
742 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#51 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#216 of 411 in Florence
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#191 of 411 in Florence
413 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#188 of 411 in Florence
394 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#197 of 411 in Florence
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Florence
#113 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing