We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Haven in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Dimora Johlea
Ranked #32 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Haven in Florence”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Florence is, of course, a most beautiful city but it can also be exhausting. The Antica Dimora Johlea is a most wonderful base from which to explore. It is only a 15 minute walk from the railway station and yet is in a quieter area of the city. It is most tastefully decorated and furnished and the air conditioning keeps rooms nicely cool - much needed as the outside temperature hit 37 degrees during our stay. No hesitation at all in thoroughly recommending it to future travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
we thank you very much for your detailed review.

It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoed your stay in Antica Dimora Johlea and that you have taken time to leave an important feedback to all the travellers.

We are looking forward to having you here again soon and we send you our best regards, Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    113
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
269
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just spent two nights in Florence,our first visit.
An amazing city but crazy full of people so at days end to come back to this lovely spot was most rewarding.
When you walk in off the street you have no idea of the elegant little hotel that awaits you 3 floors up.
We had a large and beautifully decorated room,the staff were lovely,roof top deck for our night cap was very special.
It is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city,but we thought it was great as we were away from the noise and hub bub.
Our stay was certainly enhanced by this little gem of a property!

Room Tip: Room 6 is the largest I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barniemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
First of all thank you very much for writing your review on Tripadvisor!

We are very happy that you spent a so pleasant stay in Antica Dimora Johlea and also that you appreciated the terrace overlooking to the Duomo and its surroundings .

As you mentioned The Residence is situated very close to the center and to the main attarctive places: a perfect location to start the visit of Florence and its wonderful attractions.

Hoping to welcoming you again , we send you our warmest regards! Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staying for 4 nights in a Bed and Breakfast can be no better than with Antica Dimora Johlea. Great room and the most cosy surroundings which especially goes for the terrasse that reveals an astonishing view of "down town" Florence. And I will not tell here which room we stayed in as we hope it will be available we we return to Florence - for sure staying with Antica Dimora Johlea. And I forgot to say: Great internet access that even allows for streaming and covers the terrasse as well. I could keep on and on but this will do. Go there and experience for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-6 are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
we thanks you a lot for the beautiful review for Antica Dimora Johlea and we are delighted for your wonderful comments for the Residence. We are glad you appreciate FREE WiFi high speed Internet connection and the FREE Laptop computer .we alway try our best to improve our services for our guests to spend a pleasant stay in Florence, Looking forward to welcoming you again, Best Regards Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and loved the easy relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff and interesting building, certainly not bland like some. The coffee machine (anytime) was great, as was the cake and biscuits. Liked the self service breakfast, made it feel more relaxed. The roof terrace was superb. Thank-you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
thank you very, very much for your kind comment which cleary explain the life of our Residence Antica Dimora Johlea.
A special thank for your attention regarding the breakfast and for the free coffe and tea available all day for our guests during their visit in Florence.
Hoping to see you here again soon, we send you our best regards, Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in May but it was not long enough! We had a nice size room with canopy bed, loft sitting area and nice size bathroom. Plenty of room for 2 people. Very clean and nice. I loved the roof sitting area, we had a very nice breakfast there each morning. The view was great from the roof. The free coffee, tea and snacks each day was a plus and we enjoyed the honesty bar. Wish every place had such a great selection of drinks. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. We loved our stay and we will be going back in the future. You can't go wrong staying at any of their other properties in Florence, we stayed at one of the other ones 2 years ago. I highly recommend all of their B&B's. Joe and I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickiedga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
we thank you a lot for the fabulous review and we are very pleased that you have appreciated our hospitality .We are delighted for the compliments regarding the honesty bar facilities and for the free tea/coffe during the day that certainly repay us for providing you better service and we are very glad to read that you spent a pleasant stay in all our Residences in Florence. Looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit in Florence, Best Regards Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here two nights in May, which was unusual for me since I usually stay at Marriotts. But we wanted a little more local flavor in Florence and got it here. My wife and I shared a single room with a canopy bed. Room was very clean and though not large, had plenty of space for us and a very roomy closet. Breakfast upstairs on the roof with a beautiful view of the Duomo was outstanding. Staff helped us locate a few things in the city and was very friendly. The property is about a 15-minute walk to the Duomo and is in a quiet part of the city, which we enjoyed. Also very close to the Accademia. Great value for a cozy stay in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
we thanks you a lot for the beautiful review.
We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the breakfast in the morning in the terrace overlooking to the Duomo and the surrounding of Florence.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in Antica Dimorea Johlea and we send you our best regards Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had a lovely stay here in Antica,perfect location all sights easilly accessible and friendly helpful staff.Free tea,coffee and cake all day was a nice touch with a reasonably priced honesty bar.Having to set your own table for breakfast was a bit odd but overall we would highly recommend a stay here,finnegans irish bar do a fine guinness at 6 euro a pint 1 min up the street if you get the urge.Lots of eateries close by so no need to wander too far after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
we thanks you a lot for your review and for the detailed description of the living room area where during the day there is free facilities for tea and coffee with cake for our guests during their visit in Florence .we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially the location just behind the Duomo where you did find a lot of places to visit , we hope to welcoming you again for youx next visit in Italy and we send you our best regards Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#66 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
San Marco
Antica Dimora Firenze
Antica Dimora Firenze
#80 of 675 in Florence
540 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#73 of 675 in Florence
310 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 675 in Florence
911 reviews
San Marco
Alfieri9
Alfieri9
#53 of 675 in Florence
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Johlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Johlea

Property: Antica Dimora Johlea
Address: Via San Gallo 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Dimora Johlea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmonious, elegant, and full of light, this Florentine residence is situated on the top floor of a beautiful 19th-century palazzo. The rooms, all uniquely designed and decorated, have walls in soft hues of natural earth and mineral pigments. The curtains and the canopies of the four-poster beds are made out of precious oriental silk, while pure linen from Florence's renowned, artisan fabric manufacturer, Antica Tessitoria Busatti, is used to decorate the breakfast hall and living rooms. The bathrooms are done in Carrara marble or in hand-painted tiles. Perhaps the nicest surprise, however, is the rooftop terrace, from which you will be able to admire Brunelleschi's dome, Giotto's bell tower, the crenellated silhouette of Palazzo Vecchio, and the magnificent bird's eye view of Florence's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Dimora Johlea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Johlea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing