We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute B&B near the center, okay stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Dimora Johlea
Ranked #45 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute B&B near the center, okay stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a nice, reasonably priced bed and breakfast outside of Florence's busiest center (a good walking distance from the Duomo and a little closer to the Academia Museum). The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. Our group of 7 had half of the rooms in the B&B - two doubles and a triple. Some of us had better AC than others and my triple had a missing screen on the bathroom window which led to a few pesky mosquitos sneaking in. The beds are boutique beautiful, but hard as a rock to sleep on. The showers are relatively small and the water pressure leaves much to be desired. While the Antica has a lift to help with luggage, the rooms are really meant for people traveling very very light (i.e., small suitcases). The staff is friendly and fairly helpful, but didn't offer much in way of dinner recommendations or making reservations. We realized at the end of our stay that if you head opposite of the Duomo, the surrounding street has a cute little fruit store, breakfast cafes, dinner restaurants and a nice laundromat (all within the block closest to the hotel). If you're traveling in small numbers and need a decent play to just shack up (but nothing more), this B&B would definitely work for you.

Room Tip: The corner double room (right when you walk in) is the most spacious with the nicest bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piscatlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests, we remember your group very well and especially your beautiful child.
If we have not succeeded in recommending you well the restaurants, the swimming pools and everything else that you have asked us we do apologise a lot to you .
We wish that your trip to Italy has been pleasant and that the desire to return has remained to you.
We will be glad to welcoming you again with the promise to make you to discover the Florence that you desire, Gordana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    112
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
265
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
European
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Last night in Florence and I wanted something special (with a view). The Antica Dimora is certainly special, on the top floor of the palazzo (with lift). The breakfast and lounge area is below the roof with coffee machine and honesty bar. Very comfortable, air conditioned and well furnished. The roof offers seating area and views of the city at roof top level. The Duomo, Cappelle Medici are clearly visible as well as the surrounding hills. The single room was comfortable with four poster bed, shower and small walk in cupboard. The manager went to every effort to ensure that the all requirements were met as well as offering extra services to ensure the guest's satisfaction, even after checking out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for having given us some of your precious time, we are glad to hear we have managed to create you such a good impression.
We try to do our best in order to make always our guests to have a pleasant stay, and we are very happy when we see this happens...
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we send you our best regards, Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Antica Dimora Johlea is a nice B and B in Florence. My wife and I stayed there for three nights in June.

It's located about 15 minutes walking from the Duomo. The walk is actually pretty interesting, there is some shopping that is fun and off the beaten path. The B and B is located on the upper floors of a nondescript residential and office building. The owners have done a very clever thing to transform this space into a B and B.

Our room was comfortable and clean, with very effective air conditioning. The A/C was very appreciated on a hot Italian afternoon. The room was nicely decorated, with tile floors and an attractive bed spread.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They helped us by securing taxis and museum reservations. The honesty bar is a fun touch that adds an element of homeiness. The roof top deck had a nice view of Florence and the Duomo.

The breakfast is the biggest negative about Antica Dimora Johlea. The items offered where not particularly tasty. Examples include plain yogurt (only, no berry or fruit flavored yogurt), less than 100% juice orange drink and really uninspiring ham and cheese. Antica Dimora Johlea could easily earn and additional star by simply upgrading breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile reception at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest from Colorado,
We thank you for your positive rewiew!
We are happy you have appreciated our Staff , our rooms, our terrace and first of all the atmosphere of Antica Dimora Johlea .
We love our job and our main goal is to make our guests feel like they were at home!
In the mood of good welcoming, we would have been glad to provide you some specific items for breakfast if you had made request to us immediately on the first morning.
Our Staff is always at your disposal .
We hope in your next visit in Florence, ready to satisfy your requests. Please test us!
Warm regards from Florence
Gordana, Sandra and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friend and I just returned from our first trip to Florence. What a delight to have accommodations of such high quality and so charming. We stayed just 2 nights but loved everything about the Residence. The room was perfect for us. The coffee machine, the breakfasts, the honor system wine and water all provided that extra touch. The room was also air conditioned which was much appreciated in the 90 degree weather. Most of all we loved sitting on the roof top terrace taking in the view sipping their very good wine. Couldn't have asked for better service with suggestions, directions, and special assistance when we had a small emergency. Just loved it here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 made up as two twin beds and were very pleased. There was no noise from the comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We're really happy to know that you had a good stay.
We "thank you so much" for the lovely words and we are pleased you appreciated the complimentary coffe and tea facilities during the day and find useful the honesty bar during the day to enjoy the time and the terrace of Antica Dimora Johlea.
We wait for you next time with great pleasure, Best Regards Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Florence is, of course, a most beautiful city but it can also be exhausting. The Antica Dimora Johlea is a most wonderful base from which to explore. It is only a 15 minute walk from the railway station and yet is in a quieter area of the city. It is most tastefully decorated and furnished and the air conditioning keeps rooms nicely cool - much needed as the outside temperature hit 37 degrees during our stay. No hesitation at all in thoroughly recommending it to future travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
we thank you very much for your detailed review.

It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoed your stay in Antica Dimora Johlea and that you have taken time to leave an important feedback to all the travellers.

We are looking forward to having you here again soon and we send you our best regards, Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just spent two nights in Florence,our first visit.
An amazing city but crazy full of people so at days end to come back to this lovely spot was most rewarding.
When you walk in off the street you have no idea of the elegant little hotel that awaits you 3 floors up.
We had a large and beautifully decorated room,the staff were lovely,roof top deck for our night cap was very special.
It is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city,but we thought it was great as we were away from the noise and hub bub.
Our stay was certainly enhanced by this little gem of a property!

Room Tip: Room 6 is the largest I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barniemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
First of all thank you very much for writing your review on Tripadvisor!

We are very happy that you spent a so pleasant stay in Antica Dimora Johlea and also that you appreciated the terrace overlooking to the Duomo and its surroundings .

As you mentioned The Residence is situated very close to the center and to the main attarctive places: a perfect location to start the visit of Florence and its wonderful attractions.

Hoping to welcoming you again , we send you our warmest regards! Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staying for 4 nights in a Bed and Breakfast can be no better than with Antica Dimora Johlea. Great room and the most cosy surroundings which especially goes for the terrasse that reveals an astonishing view of "down town" Florence. And I will not tell here which room we stayed in as we hope it will be available we we return to Florence - for sure staying with Antica Dimora Johlea. And I forgot to say: Great internet access that even allows for streaming and covers the terrasse as well. I could keep on and on but this will do. Go there and experience for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-6 are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica J, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Dimora Johlea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
we thanks you a lot for the beautiful review for Antica Dimora Johlea and we are delighted for your wonderful comments for the Residence. We are glad you appreciate FREE WiFi high speed Internet connection and the FREE Laptop computer .we alway try our best to improve our services for our guests to spend a pleasant stay in Florence, Looking forward to welcoming you again, Best Regards Sandra, Gordana and Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Antica Dimora Firenze
Antica Dimora Firenze
#82 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Duomo
Palazzo Galletti
Palazzo Galletti
#142 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#61 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#17 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Johlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Johlea

Property: Antica Dimora Johlea
Address: Via San Gallo 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Dimora Johlea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmonious, elegant, and full of light, this Florentine residence is situated on the top floor of a beautiful 19th-century palazzo. The rooms, all uniquely designed and decorated, have walls in soft hues of natural earth and mineral pigments. The curtains and the canopies of the four-poster beds are made out of precious oriental silk, while pure linen from Florence's renowned, artisan fabric manufacturer, Antica Tessitoria Busatti, is used to decorate the breakfast hall and living rooms. The bathrooms are done in Carrara marble or in hand-painted tiles. Perhaps the nicest surprise, however, is the rooftop terrace, from which you will be able to admire Brunelleschi's dome, Giotto's bell tower, the crenellated silhouette of Palazzo Vecchio, and the magnificent bird's eye view of Florence's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Dimora Johlea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Johlea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing