We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis and escape from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Ranked #193 of 673 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis and escape from the crowds”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Beautifully renovated and exquisitely designed - such a quiet, sophisticated enclave and a perfect place to unwind after the frenetic crowds in the city center. We walked into town or took the trolley - not at all inconvenient and SO worth the peace and tranquility. Alice is a wonderful host, and we loved hearing the stories of the renovation and design. For anyone who appreciates architecture, both ancient and modern, this is a perfect blend. Beautiful grounds where we relaxed in hammocks, took a dip in the pool and just chilled under the shady trees. Definitely would recommend this lovely property.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    41
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
528 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

what can i say , the perfect place to spend few days in Florence .
Alice the owner is fantastic and the hotel very elegant and chic, a short walk to busy Florence .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

What can I say , a great contemporary hotel just outside the centre of Florence. The setting is amazing. Breakfast is basic but healthy! The rooms have very high ceilings and all have DVD players. Alice who runs the hotel is a wealth of knowledge and booked us into one of the best restaurants in Florence.

One tip - please service your bikes as the breaks don't work on most of them! Also you must have hand rails to hold on to when entering the pool. My friend slipped and hurt his foot because there was nothing to hang on to when he slipped on the the steps.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaseUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed for 3 nights during our honeymoon and were nothing short of delighted by our time at Riva. The 'rooms' are ultra stylish and comfortable and the gardens added that little bit of something different to our stay in Florence. The sun was shining and we were able to relax in the hammock, and sunbathe on the lawn in the afternoon. The bikes were a great touch, since Riva is a little bit out of town it was great to be able to jump on to a bike and ride into town. The bike lanes make this pretty easy (even for someone who hasn't ridden a bike for 10 years!).

The living room is beautiful and we lit ourselves a fire had a glass of wine there one evening, so cozy and it really made us feel at home. The art work and interior style is gorgeous.

The staff were incredibly helpful, booking art galleries, restaurants and providing information on places to go in Florence which are slightly off the main trail (the photography museum and hanging out in Oltrarno were our favs).

When (not if) we return to the beautiful town of Florence we would stay at Riva for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

A sexy hotel. Very modern and cool and at the same time incredibly warm and inviting. A rustic farm building set on the side of the River Arno houses rooms that are imaginatively decorated with mid-century antiques. From the moment you sent foot inside the stainless steel and glass gates into the stone courtyard it feels like home.
You will live in the flowing, open public spaces as much as your room. The breakfast a delight from huge, frothy cappuccini to the most sublime homemade yogurt. Darling Rosa runs the breakfast show in the stone and beam dining room with its convivial communal table.
Stay here. But most of all, make sure you visit with a lover.

Room Tip: Talk to Alice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at Riva Lofts in July 2010 on the day that my boyfriend proposed to me. It was the perfect hotel for such a memorable day with unique rooms, chic furniture, accessories and decoration, and extremely helpful staff.

We parked the car at the hotel but we didn't use the car after we arrived; we took the tram into the centre (tickets available from Riva Lofts) and we walked back (no more than 30 minutes in heels). The hotel can also book taxis, recommend shopping areas, restaurants and bars.

The atmosphere was calm and cool (although almost 40 degrees when we were there!) and pleasantly quiet.

We thought Riva Lofts was incredible and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGlobetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed here twice on a recent trip to Italy. The hotel is about 2km/1.5miles from Ponte Vecchio on the Arno river and easy to get to from the airport (by taxi) or from the train station (taxi, tram or walking).

Each of the 10 rooms is uniquely designed, furnished and decorated. We stayed in three different rooms during our stay and very muched liked the different but always modern decoration and attention to detail in each of them. All rooms had air-conditioning by the way. As the location is on a busy street there is some traffic noise, but we did not find it bothersome.

The staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful with restaurant recommendations and tips for sightseeing. It was also very nice to be able to sit outside in the morning and enjoy breakfast or in the evening with a glass of wine. Riva Lofts has a nice pool in a spacious garden area, and also offers bikes for guest use, which we found to be a great way to explore the city pretending to be locals rather than tourists.

We hope to be back on a future trip to Italy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raoulsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#205 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Il Salviatino
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Villa La Vedetta
Villa La Vedetta
#70 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Property: Riva Lofts Florence
Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 673 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Lofts Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing