We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Ranked #143 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I were in desperate need of a holiday. As I sit on the plane on the way home I realize what an important part of our experience in Florence the Riva Lofts were. We unexpectedly  feel more rested than we ever have felt visiting a city. We stayed there for three nights at the beginning and four nights at the end of our short trip to Italy. Alice, Juliet and Cecila are all very skilled women who never cease to work towards making the stay at their hotel a unique experience. One might expect some level of pretension in a setting like this but that is quite the opposite as there was visibly a genuine friendliness towards all. I would challenge that they are probably in the ranks of the top of their  game in both concierge and cool hunting services. I would not use the term checking in at the Riva but would describe it more as a consultation designed to ensure that you will enjoy their hotel and city to its maximum. I had a moment of remembering the 70's television show Fantasy Island where everyone's experience was individually catered for them. I have never put trust in anyone else to choose restaurants  for me as this is a focal point of travel for us. They were bang on with their    excellent recommendations and able to secure reservations at top spots and knew of places off the beaten path.  We had left the Riva lofts mid trip to go to Bologna to do some eating there, at the train station we were told of the earth quake that had sadly hit a half hour earlier. We decided not to go and called Riva lofts, Alice and Juliet went into action and started looking for a place for us to stay in Luca where we decided to go. An example of the constant going above and beyond attention given to guests.

The grounds, lofts, and rooms are stunning and meticulous.  The location was spectacular and it felt like such an escape to calmness after being in mobs of tourists to return to Riva lofts. The very short walk to the Tram was lovely and we never waited more than a few minutes for it, the tram is clean timely and a short ride. I have an image  in my mind of a vintage flip books when thinking about the lovely view of bicycles cruising along the river path. 
Breakfast at Riva, I expected to skip it and head to cafe's but discovered the great attention given to each item and all the carefully selected items. Home made yogurt made by one of the lovely staff who make perfect coffee is a stand out, sweet fragrant honey and very decent olive oil from the owners country home were delightful as well as coffee cakes that appeared typical but were perfect. During  breakfast time listening to Beatles songs sitting in the beautiful main room or sitting outside drinking  fresh, sweet fragrant orange juice was looked forward to daily.
This review is too long but I really wanted to try and paint a picture of this special place and could go on about other aspects of Riva.
Alice, Juliet, and Cecila thank you so much sincerely, I hope Riva continues for many years and hope that it inspires others to create well designed  service  focused environments. 

Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chefdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Riva Lofts Florence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at Riva Lofts for a week while we were in Florence. I cannot say enough about how amazing the hotel was. The staff was so helpful and provided us with some great suggestions for shopping and restaurants. The beautiful grounds allowed my wife and I to truly relax on our vacation. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

If you enjoy staying in Boutique Hotels as opposed to the typical global chains, then this is the one for you.

Staff are super friendly and would go out of the way to help make your stay more pleasant in any way they can.

Location wise: 10min tram ride from the City Center, and maybe a 5 minute walk to reach the hotel, nothing that will kill you.

Bfast is served in this lounge-like living/dining room which is homely but sophisticated at the same time with dining table, a television and a couch which all can be used at any time of the day if you just feel like chillin instead of rushing out to do some shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tym6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

It may be a bit out of the centre of Florence (half hour pleasant walk along the river or 5 mins on the tram) but well worth it - the transformation from what used to be working buildings into its current form as a peacuful luxurious secluded hideaway makes for a carefree and rather romantic stay.
They have a real attention to detail, lots of delightful free extras (like the jar of biscotti in our room that got magically refilled every day), and the bikes that you can just take out whenever you want are a real plus. Also, being that bit further out we got to enjoy a bit more of non-touristy Florence and were recommended some excellent eateries that were off the beaten track.
My wife and I spent 4 very relaxing days in Florence away from the kids, an afternoon of which was wasted dozing in a hammock in Riva's garden. What more could you want?

Room Tip: There's only 9 to choose from. Pretty sure all are excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chunksahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Me and my fiance had the pleasure to spend a couple of days in Florence during easter. I can easily say that the staff at Riva Lofts made all the difference to our trip. The hotel itself exeded our expectation by far, impeccable arcitecture and design, beautiful location just by the river, fantastic food (they held a traditional Italian easter-picknic for all their friends and guests in the beautiful little garden) but the best thing was the increadably helpful staff. We got tips about where to go to see the "real Florence" and all shops, parks, museeums, bars and restaurants was worth the visit.
We can't wait to go back soon!
Love Nina & Mattias from Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninaelisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

As soon as you step through the glass door you are immediately in a different place. It's as if you just left your busy world behind you. Peace after all! And nevertheless you are only footsteps away from a gorgeous town filled with world heritage Renaissance architecture, statues frozen in time, narrow streets in a medieval maze, local trattorias, fashion shops and the Italian way of life! But now you are here, at Riva Lofts. The modern setting invites you to share with Alice, Juliette, and Alessandra (the Riva girls!) where you have been, what you have seen today. And you immediately get sucked into one of these engaging discussions about art, food, and many other topics – this is family, you think right away. It seems as you know all of them already for a long time; the feeling of being home. And not only that; their knowledge of the city/region, the willingness to reserve tables and/or to help organize almost anything is outstanding!!! Service is Riva Lofts key element.

All of their ten rooms/lofts are unique. It is an exciting mix of old and new, European modern, with great passion for details. If you step into your room you will be amazed how Alice and her father played with the decors and forms, colors, fabric textures and vintage artifacts. All is very tasteful, not overwhelming, but contributes to the overall expression of the space. Very well done.

One should also mention the breakfast – there you’ll get a caffè that sends your taste buds to paradise. This traditional Italian breakfast is rather sweet, so don’t expect some English muffin junk – you are in Italy now! Real food! Enjoy, reflect, remember, and relax!

Some complain that they are too far away from the city, but that is ridiculous. Let’s face it you are only 7 minutes away from the main train station (Santa Maria Novella) if you ride one of their vintage bicycles (also included in your rate). It takes you not more than 10-20 minutes using the bikes to reach all cultural attractions in a city you don’t want to drive a car! If it rains the street car is just in walking distance (5 minutes). In contrary the best part is that Riva Lofts is away from the noisy mass tourism places. In today's world where no one has time to slow down this boutique hotel offers absolute retreat and relaxation. I shall return.

Room Tip: One of the great opportunities this boutique hotel offers is that every single room is different and...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great value. Good breakfasts. Wonderful interiors and modern design. Helpful staff.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank HSC0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#21 of 411 in Florence
226 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 411 in Florence
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Della Robbia
#186 of 411 in Florence
199 reviews
Marignolle Relais & Charme
#114 of 656 in Florence
165 reviews
Ad Astra
#28 of 656 in Florence
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £151 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Lofts Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing