We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, but not amazing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Ranked #187 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but not amazing...”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at Riva Lofts in room 6 for three nights, having booked the trip for my partner's Birthday.

We landed at Pisa Airport and caught a train from Pisa to Florence. This took about 50mins and cost 32Euros for an open return for both of us, regular trains. Pleasant welcome when we arrived, very helpful member of staff who gave the following recommendations for places to eat, which were fab:

-Coquinarius: cosy restaurant, great atmosphere and staff, amazing food, reasonable price - our favourite!!
-Obika: modern, trendy, great food.
(There was a third restaurant, but unfortunately I don't recall the name)!

Back to the hotel, we absolutely loved the use of their bicycles and used them for two of the days we were there. It took about ten minutes to ride in to the centre of the Florence and we cycled all round the city. During the evenings, we walked to and from the centre, which takes about 25 minutes. The only time that we caught the tram was on the way to Florence Train Station to return to Pisa. The tram is very cheap, one Euro twenty and the tickets can be bought from Riva Lofts. The nearest stop is only three stops away from the train station.

Although we enjoyed staying at Riva Lofts, a few things let it down. I had booked a superior deluxe studio loft, but I don't think the extra cost was worth it at all and I felt a bit disappointed by the room.There was also maintenance work in the room next to us on two days, which was noisy. Breakfast was ok, but certainly not great. The heated pool was empty due to maintenance work, but in fairness, we probably would not have used it anyway.

Overall, a pleasant place to stay, but I didn't find it amazing (and to be fair, I'm not one for complaining). Having read the other reviews, I think a lot of it depends on the room you are allocated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice N, Direttore generale at Riva Lofts Florence, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Andrea,
thank you for staying at Riva with our Winter Flash Sale and for your 4 stars rating!
We are glad you decided to spend your partner's birthday with us back in February , and that you liked our welcome and hints to enjoy the city, especially Obikà and Cocquinarius.
Coming to the negative sides, i am sorry you did not like the Superior Deluxe Studio you were assigned, it is a 45 sqm Studio with 6 meters high ceiling, with very characteristic artisanal furniture and design features, and that i personally find really warm and interesting.
I am sorry it did not match your expectations.
The noises in the room next door instead are not something subjective, and i am sincerely sorry about this.
We had a broken water pipe hidden under the floor in Studio n°5 and once we found it it had to be fixed, but the maintenance guy had received precise instructions not to bother guests sleeping next door.
I wish you told me during your stay so we could have told him to be more attentive, or move you to another, quieter room.
I am also sorry our Italian Buffet Breakfast did not match your expectations, in this case i can only say that , as for many other things, we try to take our guests into a real Italian experience, offering freshly baked croissants and breads, cereals and Muesli, jam & butter & nutella, cake, yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, hard boiled eggs, tomatoes and cheese, together with our a go-go cappuccinos and coffees. For those who cannot renounce to ham & cheese we also have an à la carte dish with Italian ham and Grana Cheese.
Coming to the pool, it was unfortunately subjected to the same unpredictable water problem as the room next to you, but with an average 12 centidrades temperature i was hoping this would not cause too much of a trouble!
We invite you to come back anytime with a 15% reduction to enjoy our pool and property without any maintenance around, thank God they are all done now!
I wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you again,
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    42
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
106
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful. Our room was large and designed with considerable taste and thoughtfulness. The hotel has easy access to the trolley that takes you to the train station and the middle of Florence. The concierge gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities, including restaurants that catered mainly to locals. The continental breakfasts were delicious and freshly baked. We had a spectacular stay and I would strongly recommend to anyone visiting Florence. Really can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nangu_pangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Riva is an absolutely fantastic place to stay in Florence. The location is very quiet and relaxing while being only steps from a short tram ride to the heart of the city. The building is filled with amazing architectural features and room designs that you will not find anywhere else making Riva a unique and wonderful destination. The first class staff are extremely personable, very helpful and were a large part of making our stay most enjoyable. A special thanks to Federica for looking after us and making great restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2 different occasions, both rooms were outstanding quality and value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Riva Lofts is a lovely place to stay whilst visiting Florence. It is as the description says on the outskirts which makes extra special because you are staying away from the crowds. It is a easy walk in on a fine day, or a convenient tram ride on a wet one, into the city to see the amazing sights of Florence. The accommodation is extremely comfortable with plenty of space in the rooms with the additional comfort of the lounge nearby, to sit in front of the fire and relax. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and Alice makes you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidnLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Thank you so much to Alice and all the staff at Riva Lofts for an amazing stay during our recent honeymoon. We stayed in Florence for 3 nights and chose Riva Lofts based on other reviews but it certainly exceeded our expectations. The decor and setting is just fab and our room was huge!!!!! The breakfasts were amazing and all helped by the very rustic and quaint style of the dining room. We chose it also for its location as its a little outside city centre but we were more than pleasently surprised to find that a tram line runs into the centre of the city from a stop which is less than a 5 min stroll from the hotel. A ticket is €1.20 and are valid for return journey within 90 minutes and it runs until midnight (if not later?). Journey time is less than 10 mins on the tram. Great to be away from the main hustle & bustle but still be only a stones throw away. Alice and all of the staff were so helpful when it came to tips about sights, restaurants, shopping etc, and couldn't do enough to help. If we ever return to Florence (which I hope we will) we will definitely return to Riva Lofts as we could not fault it on any front, it was just brilliant! Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice setting, architecture and decoration. You are surrounded by highest level of italian, culture and taste. Very small hotel but very confortable. Everything has depth and details. Complimentary Bicycles available to reach center. Rooms are very spacious. Bed and amenities are confortable. Lounge area is very cosy. We even use the fire place. We feel like we own this space. Beautiful garden and pool area. Breakfast in the big square table is nice. You feel a part of big family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Enis-architect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Self contained apartment which has a nice design. Our apartment was quite spacious with the bedroom upstairs and the bathroom and dining area downstairs. Location wise is 30 mins from Firenze city cente (Ponte Vecchio) or about Eur 16 cab ride (around 10 mins).
There are only 3 outdoor non reserved parking spots but you can easily park on a side street.
There are absolutely nothing around the apartment so don't expect to take an evening stroll for a midnight snack.
Recommendations from the apartment is great with non-touristy food, shop, places to see.
For extended stays in Firenze, highly recommend!

Room Tip: Park on a side street. Bring essentials to the apartment from supermarket / convenience store from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#235 of 422 in Florence
591 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#212 of 422 in Florence
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
886 reviews
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#20 of 422 in Florence
761 reviews
Mia Palace
#260 of 675 in Florence
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Property: Riva Lofts Florence
Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Lofts Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing