We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Duca D'Aosta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Duca D'Aosta
Ranked #249 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place was very easy to find in the center of the town. It is about a 5 min walk from the town square which has a great selection of restaurants. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was great and very European. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eshleman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    43
    27
    9
    12
See reviews for
20
47
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
morecambe
Level Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a basic, clean and friendly hotel near to SMN station. We just loved the old lift in this former apartment building, which I was told was 85 years old.The breakfast is nothing special,,but as in many parts of Europe, breakfast is never a big deal.Everything you need is close by. Here's a couple of tips: if you've brought the kids with you then get a 'Family Ticket for 6 Euros from the bus operator's office at the other side of SMN station, and for a nice run out on public transport, Go to saint Marks square and get a Number 7 bus to Fiesole. in the hills.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

First let me say always, always check a third party site, I believe some of the booking sites, screen reviews.
Here are the facts, the good, location; off the train across the street aroud the corner and there you are. Everything you need is within blocks, food, laundry, pharmacy, supermarket, etc.
The staff was excellent five stars. As with Florence all the sites are within walking distance. In room fridge, and safe. Breakfast was optional which is nice since it conited of little. We had a corner room with tall swinging doors, that went from floor to ceiling, and opened to a balcony, lots of european charm.
That is where the charm ended, rember what I said about location, the street had nonstop regional buses that were loud, you could here the street, lobby and the people upstairs constantly dragging furniture. The shower was eratic, it would flow great and then trickle, the bathroom was tight, there was no place to put anything, even toilet paper. TV, not sure it came on but no picture. Heat was off, which was needed because of the unseasonably cool waether, did I mention I am from Alaska.
But the worst part was every night our room was filled with mosquitos, even when we kept the windows closed. Basically the hotel needs some tlc, or updating, mind you if you read my other reviews I am not some uptight picky american travelor. I am a cheapsakte when it comes to hotels, I don't expect alot, but this place missed the mark.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodsthegame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I booked this last minute, and was just looking for something close to the train station. For 50EU/night, I had no complaints. It's pretty basic but unlike other reviews, I found it pretty clean, and the bathroom seemed newly renovated. (Maybe I'm just not that high-maintenance) There's a fridge, tv and a safety box (I saw an air conditioner, but I didn't even ask about the remote to turn it on as I didn't need it. Not sure if it's an extra cost). I was in room #2, right by the reception. There was another door separating the room from that area, but it was a bit noisy in the morning. Everyone I encountered at the reception was pretty nice and helpful. I wouldn't recommend this as top choice for anyone, but for the price, it's a pretty good deal if you don't plan on staying in the room much.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senoritating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araraquara, SP
Level Contributor
242 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

It is very near trains station so this is really an advantage. Although I would recomend other hotels also around, there are many! We found the hotel by chance, because the hotel is inside a building and you have to read the very discret signs at the entrance of the building. Then you can find the hotel on 2nd floor. It is a nice entrance, old elevator, but ok. The room has a high ceiling so a bit scary, nice bed. Breakfast for 3 euro per person was very nice. But the really only critic is that the shower drain was not working properly. This is a terible fault. If not for this I would recomend.

Room Tip: Ask for good shower drain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariliava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

I just came back from a 2 week trip to Italy and this was the worst hotel out of the four I stayed at. This hotel is rated with 2 stars, but it's barely passable as a youth hostel. I stayed in a single - Room 8 for four nights and this is what I found:

PROS
1. Convenient location. It's around the corner from the Santa Maria Novella train station and the local grocery market is only down the street.
2. There is a working elevator.

CONS
1. Cleaning is very poor standard. The hotel policy is to change their sheets only once after every 3 nights (although one staff member agreed to allow my sheets to be cleaned on the second night after I spoke to him). I don't think the cleaning staff did any more than make my bed, clean out the trash and give me new packets of soap and shampoo everyday. Other than that, I didn't notice that the bathroom or floors were cleaned the whole time I was there.
2. The toilet was absolutely disgusting, as half of the seat and rim was covered in a dark yellow URINE STAIN.
3. Extremely noisy. My room was the first one on the right, about 10 feet away from reception and one door away from the breakfast room. You could hear everyone in the hallway and reception area. The room had a small balcony which I never wanted to step out onto because it faced an unpleasant view of other people's decrepit balconies, laundry and huge and ugly air conditioning fans stacked on top of each other that were EXTREMELY LOUD and ON ALL DAY and ALL NIGHT. It was like living with an industrial engine in your room. In addition, there was a constant noise coming from the pipes in the bathroom.
4. The hallway and reception area constantly smelled like cigarette smoke.
5. My bed and pillow had a sour foul smell even after the sheets had been changed. The whole room just smelled like mildew and old furniture.
6. Walls were aged and had yellow water stains all over.
7. You have to pay for the room at the same time you check-in.
8. I think wi-fi is only available in the reception area, so if you have a room along the hallway be prepared for traffic and noise from guests using this as a wifi hotspot.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Exclusive_Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Good location of the hotel (near to Santa Maria Novella train station). Good personnel. Very small bathroom.

Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aklyuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#206 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#184 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#191 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#174 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#290 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duca D'Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duca D'Aosta

Property: Hotel Duca D'Aosta
Address: Via Fiume 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Duca D'Aosta 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duca D'Aosta is a 2 star hotel located in the heart of Florence, in the Santa Maria Novella area. It offers accommodation close to all museums and monuments in Florence and it is walking distance from Fortezza da Basso and Palazzo dei Congressi - The Exhibition and Conference Centre. It is surrounded by cafes, shops, restaurants and bars. The rooms come with flatscreen TVs, free wi-fi access and en-suite bathrooms. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Duca D'Aosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duca d Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing