We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Collodi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Collodi
Ranked #131 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Collodi was just super!!!!! Many thanks to the wonderful staff. They treated us like family and attended to all our needs. Every question was answered - suggested restaurants were great. The location couldn't be better, close to all the markets and sight seeing opportunities. Breakfast was ample in a comfortable separate room where we met other travellers also. Everyone spoke English very well which was helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingmahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Collodi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 days and had a wonderful time. We were in room 404, which was beautiful - and despite the low key exterior, the public areas are also lovely. Free wifi in our room, plus air conditioning, TV and fridge were all very much appreciate - and breakfast was a great. The staff were also very helpful and extremely welcoming. The location is also a winner - 5 minutes from the Termini station and the Duomo.

Overall we were utterly delighted, it was great valur and we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 404, which was beautiful, large and airy - we booked early to get this.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed in room 404, it was fab. It had a mezzanine and ensuite, wifi and air conditioning! Brilliant location, easily accessible from station, easy walk to and from the main attractions. Just around the corner from the central market and many restaurants. The hosts were warm and welcoming and happy to assist. Wouldn't hesitant to recommend this glorious little hotel in the heart of the city. I'll definitely be back next visit.

Stayed: September 2012
3  Thank Milgar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

A much older hotel in the middle of the downtown central area easy walk to David, churches , the bridge so all this overrides an older hotel that is fairly clean.
Not a five star but ok for a reasonable price and a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Perhaps it was because we checked in after an amazing three nights in Venice, but my boyfriend and I were disappointed with Hotel Collodi, especially after reading so many great reviews on TripAdvisor.

Yes, the welcome was warm and friendly, but we were given the room on the ground floor directly opposite the dining room.. I wasn't too disheartened at first, as I read a review from someone who had stayed in the same room with no problems. However, I thought it was noisy- I could hear people talking walking past down the stairs and slamming doors in reception. The only thing to drown out the noise was the ancient air conditioner that made one hell of a noise without actually giving out any cold air!

Also, the shower recess filled up really quickly, meaning we were against the clock and having the quickest showers of our lives so not to flood the place! The shower also came in two temperatures- arctic or scalding.

Breakfast was fine, not a lot of choice but good enough to start the day. The coffee and orange juice are nice.

The location of the hotel is indeed good, and it is value for money, but I was expecting better than this. Perhaps, given the others reviews on here, we were just unlucky with our room allocation.

2  Thank Rachel871
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I first contacted Giovanni and Nadine by email to ask about the hotel, and they responded immediately. Very fast response time each time I would contact them. Paid in advance, which went well, and even though their office was officially closed when we arrived late by train, they made a point to stay there and welcome us. We had two rooms for the four of us, and our room was the one in the picture that shows it has an upstairs loft. We loved this room!!!!! And the air conditioning was great! I was sad we couldn't stay there longer, because it was a delight and the bed was soooo comfortable, and the room is huge! No joke, it's huge - it has the big bed downstairs and 2 twin beds upstairs. No, the breakfast wasn't big and fancy, but we already knew that from the reviews before we went. It is just enough to put something in your stomach before you head out for a busy, hectic day, rather than going out on an empty stomach. We were on the second floor, and our grown kids were on the third floor. But the elevator only goes to the second floor, so the kids had to carry their luggage up one flight, which was no biggy to them, but if you have difficulty with stairs, be sure to request the first or second floor.

Room Tip: Get the room with the loft! It holds 4 people and has more room than you'll need. Nice bathroo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed in a twin room with a friend at the start of August 2012.

The rooms are basic but very clean and provided with all the essentials - TV, wireless, etc. Beds were comfy. We were in the first room on the ground floor - I was worried about noise as it was directly opposite the breakfast room, but it turned out to be very quiet, and nice and dark in the mornings (I can't sleep in a light room!)

Bathroom was small but clean, with complimentary shower gel and shampoo.

Breakfast was lovely - cakes, pastries, bread rolls, DELICIOUS orange juice, coffees, yoghurts, cereal, toasts, jams, etc.

Staff are all extremely friendly and helpful.

Location is excellent - only 5 minutes walk to the Duomo in one direction, the Academia in the other. 10 minutes' walk from SMN train station.

We really enjoyed our time here and through it was a perfect base for a sightseing trip in Florence.

Room Tip: Ground floor twin room is quieter than you might think!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rikster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Botticelli Hotel
Botticelli Hotel
#161 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#150 of 411 in Florence
453 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#98 of 411 in Florence
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#76 of 411 in Florence
1,231 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#118 of 411 in Florence
793 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#95 of 411 in Florence
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collodi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collodi

Address: Via Taddea 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Florence
#96 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £73 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Collodi 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Collodi is a lovely little hotel located in the historical centre of Florence. It is located within walking distance to the most important sights and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Collodi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collodi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing